Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Brace-Lederle K-8 School

Public | K-8 & ungraded | 744 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

20 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 23, 2013

I love this school. Ive went to this school for about 2 years. I went here in kindegarten and half of 1st grade. The school uniforms were awesome for me. I might even be going back to this school for the rest of my 7th and 8th grade years.... My sister thinks that she wont like it, i say itll be cool...... P.S. This is like the best school you could ever go to.. I PROMISE!!!!! Your Reviewer, J'Niya Liburd


Posted November 8, 2012

this school is horrible.. my son is not learning anythine he is in the 8th grade Ms.Lewis is horrible she do not need to work there... the staff is horrible Ms.Elliott is horrible all the 8th grade teachers are his report card is horrible but when he come home everything he does is coorect the teachers there do not know how to grade and yall need to do something about that before i do. i will be coming up to that school...to talk to them teachers because they are doing a horrblie job...and i will not let none of my kids attend there and i will tell all my friends and family that this school is horrible thank you if you read this.!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 10, 2012

This school is horrrible i hate when my child went the pricinle is not helpful aand only cares for her teachers and middle school is horrible they baare smoking weed and vandlism
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 4, 2012

I have two daughter's at Brace 1st an 2nd graders. This is their first yr attending and it has been great. As far as their teachers Ms molner an Ms boatman are concerned.they offer tutoring an my girls love the after school dance classes. They are eager to go to school each day.eager to get homework done.any concerns I have had their teachers have giving me the upmost attention an solution on what we can do together to help them excel in their studies. And am proud to say I have 2 distinguished honor students at Brace-lederle!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 22, 2011

My children both attend BL I took my daughter out for one semester and that was the worst thing I could have done. I have read the reviews of the other parents about BL and I can see their point of view, but I had some of the same issues with my son in the past but I am a letter writer. Whenever I had an issue i went sent emails to the principal and had meetings and came to great solutions, even two years back ! i think as parents we tend to get upset which is our GOD given right regarding our children. But put your self in the shoes of the teachers/staff members, they have to deal with numerous personal issues concerning the students, abuse, add, other mental illness of parents as well. So try and turn the negative feelings into a positive solution with the teacher that will benefit your child(ren). I have built so many relationships with so many teachers and other staff members which give me that family atmosphere. By the way my daughter went from straight "F's" to a 3.2, Brace is a great school over all, yeah they have flaws,but you have to work them out.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 22, 2011

This school is okay, there are some really good teachers in the 3rd and 4th grade. However, overall the school is lacking in the grades K-2 and 6-8th. My child attended for a while, but we removed him due to a lack of challenge academically. There also was some inappropriate incidents involving other students that was poorly handled by the supervisory staff that ultimately turned us off from returning to the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 21, 2011

My children have been a part of Brace-Lederle for 6 years. Within these 6 years they now have their 4th principal. The bully situation has gone out of control. The principal, Ms. Lewis, lacks urgency when you complain about the teachers or any situations that occur within the school. They are suppose to have a "no bullying policy" but they don't take it seriously when students are bullied by the older children. I have talked to SEVERAL parents who are pulling their children out of the school this year. THANK GOD my children were accepted at another school. I am an educator myself and believe in the public system but Brace-Lederle has really disappointed me and continues to get worse.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 4, 2010

If you are a substitute teacher I would advise you against subbing for this school, especially for the kindergarten teachers. I usually enjoy the younger kids, but the kids in the kindergarten classes at Brace-Lederle are disrespectful and they do not listen to anything that you say. I felt like I was in the room with a bunch of mental patients. Kids were crawling around the room,screaming and falling out of their chairs on purpose. One parent showed me a bump that her bad son got, and expected me to show simpathy. I don't think so. That little boy was all over the place, he was hitting kids, falling out of chair and he did not falling any directions that I gave him. My experience at this school is a good arguement of why we should make corporal punishment legal in michigan.


Posted December 3, 2009

I would like to commend the 1st and 4th grade team of Brace Lederle. I especially like that the 4th graders change classes ( receiving their core subjects from different teachers instead of receiving increments of their core subjects from one teacher). Also, I like how the 1st grade team initiated parents involvement by hosting regular 'parent teas' that allowed the parents, and 1st grade teachers to discuss the different events that are/were taking place in the children classroom. The BIG problem with Brace is the leadership. It is ineffective and their is no cohesiveness between the principal and the assistant principal. This lack of leadership is seen in a lot of the students (esp. the middle school students). Effective leadership is one of the things that is badly needed at Brace.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 28, 2009

I have 2 kids that attend Brace Lederle. My son started there first, (they are a year apart). When he started there, the Principal and teachers were beautiful. There truly was concern and genuine care for the kids. Punishment was explained to kids, not yelled throughout the hallways and in the office, as it was the 2008 -2009 school year. My second child started attending and that is when all the mess started. Some teachers act like they are scared of the kids, Principal loves to call you when she has an issue with your child, but when you leave messages with the Secretaries to have her to call you back with issues you may have, there is no response or care. Let's be fair and make the school a place for the kids to want to go to school and the teachers want the kids to come. No boot camp!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 27, 2009

The school has went down in the past several years. Not all, but most of the staff are condescending, rude and not professional when addressing parents and students. The principal this year pretends to listen to your concerns and is very shallow. The assistant principal, on on the other hand, seems genuine. The students are unruly and out of control. The atmosphere has changed over time and is not that where you want your child to be subjected to a negative learning environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 20, 2008

this is the best school ever!.I used to go here and i loved it!.I can't believe that anyone would rate this under a three.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 23, 2008

I belive that brace is excellant.It teaches great leadership and is full of great people.If you ask me i would perfer brace over any school.We have great fun activites,like fashion shows,carnevel,and talent shows.Fun fieldtrips like roller skating,going to the show,and even for the eithgraders ceder point.Brace is the place the family place!
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 14, 2008

im a sixth grader at this school and i love it the teachers really help me and they take time to help me learn for tests and stuff.i learn all kinds of languages and education there and our principal is great she's really nice.well thanks for reading
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 1, 2007

I have two children that attend Brace-Lederle, now going on 3 years. I can say that this school has challenged them mentally and physically. The IS program that they have is wonderful. My children will be entering 5th grade and 8th grade this year and they can't wait until school starts. The summer reading and math along with study island keep their minds busy during the summer, and helps to better prepare them for the upcoming school year. So I give Brace-Lederle 5 stars keep up the good work.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 12, 2007

My daughter attends this school and has for yrs. Now my daughter is in the third grade and I must say educational wise they are superb. BUT as far as activities, they are few and far in between and they cater to the older students. My daughter has talent in a lot of areas and even the teachers say to find a school that will nourish that. Like I said educational they are great but on a social level they are horrible, just horrible. Improvement must be made or my daughter will be leaving. I have kept her this long ONLY because of the education and even that is wavering.The new principal is not doing anything new!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 7, 2005

I am a new parent at Brace having transferred my 5th grade daughter based on their 'Blue Ribbon' status and previous MEAP scores. Unfortunately, status and good test scores do not reflect the administration at Brace. The principal is not open to suggestions for improvement and the PTA follows his lead. In his attempts to appear current with the times, the principal's style of communication lacks professionalism. The administration assigned to Brace is a reflection of what the SPS school board and superintendant think of the make-up of the student body and their families. If there are no improvments with the administration and PTA at Brace, I will take my daughter out next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 13, 2005

Brace is now using gender-based classrooms for 7th and 8th graders. I have a 19 year old that attended Brace, now I have a 7th grader. I was skeptical of the current administration, however they have shown innovation in their decision to implement gender based classes. Their standardized test scores are still good.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 10, 2005

I have a 2nd grader at Brace and i am concerned about the academic material being taught and the leadership staff. The material is not challenging enough. The class is given material that was taught in kindergarten and 1st grade (coloring,identify ABC's). The leadership staff is not diverse enough in their experience, and the atmoshphere is too busy. Brace will not maintain its 'exmplary' status if their leadership staff continues to have an closed-minded attitude.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 18, 2004

I find that the staf of this school is more concerned with their personal image than the proper discimination of the learning materials. I have a 1st and 2nd grader that I am very concerned about their acedemic development in the current environment at Brace, which extends to a greater concern for the entire school district.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2014.

63 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
16%

2013

 
 
25%

2012

 
 
15%

2011

 
 
15%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

62 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
44%

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
42%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

73 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
18%

2013

 
 
9%

2012

 
 
7%

2011

 
 
6%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2014.

70 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
60%

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
47%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2014.

70 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
36%

2013

 
 
37%

2011

 
 
21%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

70 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
9%

2013

 
 
12%

2012

 
 
10%

2011

 
 
10%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2014.

69 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
65%

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
45%
Science

The state average for Science was 17% in 2014.

74 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
4%

2013

 
 
1%

2011

 
 
4%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 42% in 2014.

82 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
10%

2013

 
 
4%

2012

 
 
10%

2011

 
 
10%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2014.

83 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
61%

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
54%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 27% in 2014.

86 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
2%

2013

 
 
4%

2011

 
 
13%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 39% in 2014.

56 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
9%

2013

 
 
22%

2012

 
 
16%

2011

 
 
16%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

59 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
41%

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
32%

2011

 
 
32%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

61 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
49%

2013

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
32%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 35% in 2014.

82 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
16%

2013

 
 
11%

2012

 
 
3%

2011

 
 
3%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2014.

83 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
64%

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
36%

2011

 
 
36%
Science

The state average for Science was 20% in 2014.

86 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
5%

2013

 
 
3%

2011

 
 
1%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

19%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Michigan. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Above average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 net growth (significant improvement/improvement - significant decrease/decrease) according to Performance Level Changes from the state of Michigan.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
African-American 99% 18%
White 1% 69%
American Indian N/A 1%
Asian N/A 3%
Hispanic 0% 6%
Multiracial 0% 2%
Native Hawaiian N/A 0%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 75%N/A48%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Ms. Sharon Lewis
Fax number
  • (248) 746-8854

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

18575 W 9 Mile Rd
Southfield, MI 48075
Website: Click here
Phone: (248) 746-8730

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Academy Of Southfield
Southfield, MI




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT