Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
30 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 47 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Macarthur K-8 University Academy 4

Posted March 28, 2016
- a parent
This school is awesome but it's to overcrowded I'm glad they are moving into another building

Macarthur K-8 University Academy
Teacher effectiveness: Very ineffective

Posted November 28, 2015
- a parent
The teachers in this school are more concerned about their jobs than the needs of the students....especially if the student needs more.


Macarthur K-8 University Academy
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted November 28, 2015
- a parent
My daughter is in the 1st grade and receives a 16 page packet at the beginning of the week. She can barely finish it by Friday.

Macarthur K-8 University Academy 1

Posted November 28, 2015
- a parent
Grossly overcrowded, communication to parents from leadership and teacher is way below substandard. If you think your child is struggling, this is the not the place. They are only concerned about their budgets.

Macarthur K-8 University Academy 3

Posted April 29, 2015
- a community member
Nice school but , a lot of student leave because of bullying ,teachers perfect.good job


Macarthur K-8 University Academy 5

Posted September 17, 2013
- a parent
MacArthur is a great School! My daughter has been attending MacArthur since Kindergarten. She is currently in the third grade and I must say I am very pleased with the administrators and the staff members! The teachers work very hard to ensure students success! I would highly recommend this school to future parents/students!

Macarthur K-8 University Academy 5

Posted August 11, 2013
- a community member
my school is great great awesome no profanity and all that stuff yeah awesome bored

Macarthur K-8 University Academy 5

Posted March 28, 2013
- a teacher
MacArthur is a great school! As a staff member, I enjoy working with techers who really care about kids. I also enjoy working with a principal that is dedicated and who trulys understands the dynamics within the classroom. Our principal supports the staff, students, parents and the community. She is always looking for new experiences for the students and allows us to grow professionally. No school is perfect, but in regards to how much the staff cares about the quality of education students receive, MacArthur comes pretty close.


Macarthur K-8 University Academy 1

Posted March 26, 2013
- a parent
MacArthur looks like an excellent school to the public. Unfortunately, that is NOT the case. The leadership at the school is substandard. The pupil/teacher ratio is poor. The school is severely overcrowded. The principal is unprofessional and lacks tact necessary for proper and efficient leadership. Parents do participate but all events come with a price. Many of the teachers have good intent but leadership stifles the teachers ability to effectively develop the student populous. This school would be great if they were ethnically diverse, hired a TRUE LEADER at the school to allow the teachers to be more productive, had a larger location and better supervision of children. DO NOT ENROLL YOUR CHILDREN TO THIS SCHOOL! SAVE YOURSELF THE DISAPPOINTMENT AND GRIEF! They are NOT SERIOUS about EDUCATION at this school! If The university of Michigan is partnering with this school, they should reconsider their stance!

Macarthur K-8 University Academy 5

Posted March 01, 2013
- a parent
I really love this school. I feel like my children are part of a family. Very well structured and organized school. Teachers are great and they love to teach. The principal Ms. Perry is awesome and an amazing leader. Great academic programs and classes.

Nearby schools

Macarthur K-8 University Academy
24501 Fredrick Street, Southfield, MI  48033
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 47 reviews. (248) 746-8590
Last modified Macarthur K-8 University Academy is a Public school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top