Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Southfield Christian School

Private | PK-12 | 580 students

Southfield Christian is committed to a Christ-centered & College-Prep education.

 
 

Living in Southfield

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $84,200. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $930.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 4, 2013

We have enrolled our 3 1/2 year old daughter into the preschool program for the fall. Thus far, it has been a great experience! Everyone in my family and church family speak VERY highly about SCS and the SCS experience. I love the way they infuse technology into every aspect of enrollment and learning at all class levels. We pray that this is the right place for our child so that she can stay through the end of high school :-)


Posted January 19, 2012

Parent of 1 Southfield-Lathrup grad ('06); and 2 who have attended SCS from K-12. Youngest will graduate SCS 06/12. As a Southfield resident, I applaud the huge strides that SCS has made to embrace diversity. SCS has always been athletic and competitive in several sports. ACT composite test score average was 25 for class of 2010. Virtually all teachers are excellent and really care about the students -- a couple that were not were let go promptly. Uniforms required. Chapel required. Although SCS is located in a Baptist Church, there are kids and teachers from many denominations attending and no pressure to change beliefs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 5, 2011

We have two children that attend SCS. They have attended for past five years. Every year gets sweeter and sweeter. Th staff love all the children, the administration cares for the overall development of the school. And the community filled with love and support enriches the experience even more. The love of Christ is shown in the excellence ink which things are done. We love SCS!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 14, 2011

As a former attendee and parent of three SCS students, I can honestly say that my families lives are enriched by the staff, faculty and community at Southfield Christian School.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted November 22, 2010

I have 3 children who attend or have attended SCS. As a multiracial family, we were very excited to find a school that has such a wonderfully diverse community. Beyond that, the academic and spiritual instruction is above average and is in fact excellent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 16, 2010

As a parent of three former SCS students, I feel that SCS was the absolute best choice for my children academically, socially, and spiritually. They each received a first-rate, college-prep education, grew tremendously in their faith and witness, enjoyed numerous extra-curricular opportunities (sports, music, community service, and others), and benefitted from a superb faculty and staff. Moreover, they were regularly challenged to live out their Christian values in all arenas of life with conviction and without compromise. As a university educator, I whole-heartedly endorse the curriculum and would place SCS high school graduates on par with those of any of the top-rated public or private high school in the area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 28, 2009

The teachers and staff are very devoted to the students, by making them feel 'their life matters'! I am very grateful my daughter had the opportunity to attend and graduate. It has been over 7 years since she graduated and she still has very good relationships with the same group of friends she met when she began at SCS in 9th grade. As a parent I was able to meet many parents whom I am still friends with. That was a blessing, because I have been a single mom for 14 years and they have been wonderful support throughout the years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 15, 2009

I am a student at SCS and although Ive only been there for a couple years, I think that this is the best school I have ever attended. When I first came to SCS I didnt have a great relationship with God. But SCS helped me rediscover my faith and I am proud to say I am a faithful believer in Christ. SCS main goal, to me, was to not only educate their students academically, but spiritually and emotionally. They also have small class sizes which allows teachers to pay close attention to their students and to make sure they are on the right track. I love SCS and I think that it is the best school in Michigan.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 29, 2009

I have a kindergarten and first grade student and I am very pleased with the school. My oldest attended a Brighton public school last year and it was a horrible experience for him. He's learning so much more at SCS and is confident and happy to go to school. I have watched each of my children flourish and I feel good that they are in a positive learning environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 12, 2008

I graduated from SCS this past spring and I really enjoyed my time there. I grew so much spiritually throughout my 6 years there. The chapels are typically very, very good and most seem to enjoy them and get involved. The size of the school allows you to get to know people very well. However, with any small school everyone knows everyone and that could be a little frustrating at times I suppose. For me that was not an issue though. The teachers really care and are always willing to talk with you about anything. Like any Christian school it gets called a 'bubble' which is true. Everyone gets very involved with extra-curriculars at SCS and so most of the friends that are made are other Christians from SCS. This is honestly the only Christian high school I know of where barely anyone drinks... quite unique!


Posted August 1, 2008

We love SCS. I am parent of 4 children who have each attended since Kindergarten. The staff and teachers are committed and caring. The Love for the truth and relevance of the word of God is insfused in every course. The academics are important and challenging, but the passion is in challenging the children to live out their lives for Christ. I love that we are not only a community but a family in Christ.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 9, 2008

This is our child s 4th year at SCS and unfortunately little has changed in regards to the lack of diversity in the staff and administration. As a Christian school their blatant refusal to address the problem is very disappointing! As a member of ISACS - Independent Schools Association of the Central States - one of their goals is to ensure a deep commitment to multiculturalism and equity, SCS does not adhere to this. Currently a Black man is successfully running for President of the United States and SCS does not have 1 Black teacher in their elementary school. This is shameful! SCS will educate a black child, but they do not see the necessity of the black child being educated by someone who looks like them. Give all children VISION! After 4 years, our family has given up on SCS along with so many other families.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 30, 2008

Oustanding school! Great leadership at the elemetary, middle and high school levels!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 28, 2007

My son loves SCS. I love SCS. I give my positive rating for the spiritual, social, and academic benefits. We came from a private school that is literally double the tuition rate of what I pay at SCS. I wasn't happy with that school and have found that some private schools are to a large degree 'coasting' on the work that the parents do with their children at home. At SCS ... they don't 'coast'. They actually teach.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2006

My son has been a student at SCS since the 5th grade and he simply loves going to school. I love what he is being taught spiritually as well as educationally. SCS educates the whole child and every child is important. The teachers, principle, parents, and overall staff cares about all students. SCS is the best school in Michigan and I feel really bless that I am able to provide my child with this type of education. He has had experiences at SCS that he will remember for the rest of his life. He has been extended opportunities (spiritual, educational, arts, music and sports) that he could not have received at any other school. I only wish that I knew about this school sooner so that my son could have started in pre-school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 5, 2006

This is our child's second year at Southfield Christian School. Overall we are very pleased with the academic program, which is very challenging and competitive. However, the teaching staff is not diverse, which is very disappointing and there is also a lack of parental involvement. I would love to see some diversity with the teaching staff and the administration, considering this is a Christian school and they should make more of an effort to seek diversity. The student body is diverse and the staff should reflect that also.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
African-American 54% 19%
White 40% 69%
Multiracial 4% 2%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hispanic 0% 6%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

College readiness and student pathways

Students typically attend these schools prior to attending this school Public Schools
Homeschooled
Private Schools
Percentage of students going to 4-year college 97% (2013)
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
College counselor(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Reading specialist(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
Security personnel
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff French
Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Mathematics
  • Science
  • Technology
Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Arts (all)
  • Music
  • Performing arts
  • Visual arts
Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Textile design
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Jazz band
  • Theory
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
  • Improv
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Graphics
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production

Language learning

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Foreign languages
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Advanced placement courses
  • Honors track
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Sue Hoffenbacher
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Christian
Associations
  • ACSI
  • NCSA
Fax number
  • (248) 356-2810

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Advanced placement courses
  • College prep
  • Honors track
  • Independent Study
  • Internships
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Arts (all)
  • Business
  • Foreign languages
  • Mathematics
  • Music
  • Performing arts
  • Religious
  • Science
  • Service learning
  • Technology
  • Visual arts
  • Writing
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • Security personnel
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Career/college counseling
  • Counseling
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Mentoring
  • Tutoring
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Transportation options
  • Southfield Bus Transportation
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Auditorium
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Cranbrook Institute of Science Museum
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Flag football
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Gymnastics
  • Soccer
  • Track
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Flag football
  • Gymnastics
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Textile design
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Jazz band
  • Theory
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
  • Improv
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Graphics
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Monitor the playground
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Tutor
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?

Students typically come from these schools
Public Schools
Homeschooled
Private Schools

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2013-2014 school year
$3000 - $8000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid
Outside scholarships

Planning ahead

College preparation / awareness offered
College prep programs/courses during the year
College presentations or information sessions
SAT/ACT prep classes
Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Students' post-graduation plans in 2013
4 year college - 97%
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

28650 Lahser Rd
Southfield, MI 48034
Website: Click here
Phone: (248) 357-3660

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Yeshivas Darchei Torah
Southfield, MI





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT