Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

University High School Academy

Public | 9-12 | 347 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 28, 2014

University High School Academy is the best school in the area by far. My son has always been smart and at the top of his class until he transferred to this school. His grades did drop a bit, but at least I know he is finally learning! The staff and teachers are wonderful and really care about the kids and push them. If you have a child that needs to be challenged, then this is the school for them. The kids must take a test to get into this school, but it is well worth the time and effort. I love this school so much that I sent my daughter to their new 8th grade Preparatory Academy, and we've been just as pleased with that as well. This is one of the best schools in the state!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 16, 2013

Bates Academy. 2013-14 School Year off to a much better start. Jury is still out.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 30, 2013

University High School Academy is one of the best schools in Michigan! My child applied her sophomore year because the school she was attending wasn't challenging enough. She decided to come to UHSA. This school is great. Her grades dropped a bit but I knew she was actually earning them and working hard. My son will attend the 8th grade prep academy in the fall. I am very pleased with the quality education provided. I know my kids will be prepared for college. They not only teach kids to write and do math, they are required to critically think, not memorize information. I love UHSA!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 23, 2012

This school is awesome! As a parent, I could not imagine my child attending any other high school. The administration and teaching staff are wonderful and create an environment that is condusive to learning. Teachers set high expectations which challenge students to work harder. Because of this, my daughter and her peers created a network so they could support each other and do well. Students are learning skills and techniques that will better prepare them for post secondary learning, such as group projects, time-management, and reading/preparing for lessons before coming to class. This is a school where doing well academically is the overall goal for everyone and make being "smart" cool!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2012

I cannot imagine a better place to be going to school. I have been a student at the "U" for four years and have loved it. Our teachers are incredibly dedicated and go above and beyond what I have seen from teachers at any other school. Sure, they challenge us, but I think we are only better off because of it. Going into college next year, I feel extremely prepared because I know that the challenges we have already faced are ones that students new to higher education begin to face. And although we do not have many of the "traditional" elective classes (dance, photography, jewelry making, etc.) we still have a lot of options. The options we have are ones that allow us to do exciting things while still learning important lifelong skills. Overall, University High School Academy is An amazing school where everyone from the Dean to the counselor, even the security guards and lung staff, truly and genuinely want us to succeed. It provides a great environment for anyone serious about getting a phenomenal education.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 26, 2011

The "U" is an awesome school, and my child is getting a great education. The teachers care and are very dedicated.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 9, 2011

This school is terrible. The teachers are terrible & so are the students. The students aren't as smart as they seem. Most people can get in EASILY. I've never met anyone that hasn't got in. I know because I go there now! TRUST ME! Don't send your children there.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 28, 2010

Although this school has only been open for 2 years, it has a really good learning environment. The staff is awesome and the Dean is the best.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 27, 2010

Our teachers go through lessons too fast without allowing us time to learn the material. We don't have any extra-curricular class options and our classes are too long for a bunch of restless teenagers to handle. Also, rumors get spread around alot and smoke is often smelled in the building.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 26, 2010

UHSA is very challenging. I will definitely prepare you child for college
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 26% in 2014.

109 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
15%

2013

 
 
24%

2011

 
 
26%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 29% in 2014.

84 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
24%

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
27%

2011

 
 
47%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 59% in 2014.

84 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
74%

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
71%
Science

The state average for Science was 28% in 2014.

84 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
25%

2013

 
 
33%

2012

 
 
27%

2011

 
 
21%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 44% in 2014.

84 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
57%

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
50%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2014.

84 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
79%

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
74%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Merit Examination (MME) to assess students in grade 11 in reading, writing, math, science and social studies. The MME is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MME test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

All Students24%
Female17%
Male34%
African American24%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged11%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities24%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Homelessn/a

Reading

All Students74%
Female75%
Male72%
African American75%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged63%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities74%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Homelessn/a

Science

All Students25%
Female21%
Male31%
African American25%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged15%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities25%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Homelessn/a

Social Studies

All Students57%
Female52%
Male66%
African American58%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged63%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities58%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Homelessn/a

Writing

All Students79%
Female87%
Male66%
African American80%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged67%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities78%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Homelessn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Merit Examination (MME) to assess students in grade 11 in reading, writing, math, science and social studies. The MME is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MME test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Above average

Test score rating
College readiness rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

19%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Michigan. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

College readiness rating 20132What's this?

College readiness rating combines this high school's graduation rates with data about college entrance exams, both of which are indicators of how well schools are preparing students for success in college and beyond.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

ACT participation

100%

Average ACT score

22

Graduation rate

>95%


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

2 This rating is based on composite ACT scores from 2012-13 and four-year adjusted graduation rates from 2011-12. ACT participation represents the percentage of 11th graders taking the ACT. Because the ACT is mandated in Michigan high schools, ACT participation is NOT included in the GreatSchools rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
African-American 95% 18%
White 4% 69%
Hispanic 1% 6%
American Indian N/A 1%
Asian 0% 3%
Multiracial N/A 2%
Native Hawaiian N/A 0%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 26%N/A48%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students College counselor(s)
Art teacher(s)
Math specialist(s)
PE instructor(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Security personnel
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Textile design
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Technical design and production

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Swimming pool
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Marcia Williams
Fax number
  • (248) 746-4374

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Security personnel
Transportation options
  • School shares bus/van with other schools
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • College/career center
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Performance stage
  • Swimming pool
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Football
  • Swimming
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Textile design
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Dance
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Technical design and production
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Volunteer time after school
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

24815 Lahser Road
Southfield, MI 48033
Website: Click here
Phone: (248) 746-4370

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Southfield High School
Southfield, MI


Bradford Academy
Southfield, MI





Yeshivas Darchei Torah
Southfield, MI


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT