Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
6 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 13 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Alice M. Birney K-8 School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted November 19, 2015
- a parent
Ms. Popp thank you for educating the students in a way that is challenging but necessary for their futures.

Alice M. Birney K-8 School 5

Posted November 19, 2015
- a parent
I am a parent that enrolled my children in Birney from a Private Christian Education school. At first I had some serious reservations about Birney. However, Birney proved to be an outstanding school. The Teachers are really dedicated to the students. The Counseling Staff are very aware of the goings on of the children. The Principal and Administrative Staff are top notch. Thanks you Birney for easing my reservations.


Alice M. Birney K-8 School 5

Posted September 21, 2015
- a parent
This school exemplifies how a school should be ran. Thank God, the staff just a great group of caring people! The children, yes, children, are well behaved, and very polite.. The education factor is one that is designed strictly to benefit your child. I am satisfied!

Alice M. Birney K-8 School
Develops respect: Agree

Posted September 21, 2015
- a parent
They don't tolerate nonsense...thats important. The staff helps the principal in creating a professional environment for the children to follow.

Alice M. Birney K-8 School
Develops empathy: Agree

Posted September 21, 2015
- a parent
The assistant principal does an awesome job addressing day to day matters in this school. She works hard!


Alice M. Birney K-8 School 5

Posted April 21, 2015
- a parent
I am new here and heard other than Novi and Troy none of the schools near Detroit are good to consider. I see school rating as 3, 4, 5 and yet reviews says excellent. I need to know how to measure the school ratings ? Any parental guidance is appreciated.

Alice M. Birney K-8 School 4

Posted February 28, 2012
- a parent
I have two daughters that attend Birney elementary. They are both doing very well academically. They are both in Advanced Placement as well. The teachers and the staff are working very hard to make Birney a first class educational environment.

Alice M. Birney K-8 School 5

Posted January 28, 2012
- a parent
I have a son who attends Birney Middle School. This school has been very rewarding and challenging for my son. The teachers are outstanding and I am confident my child is in a safe and secure enviornment on a daily basis. I would highly recommend Birney Middle for any student that dare to be challeged.


Alice M. Birney K-8 School 5

Posted June 17, 2011
- a parent
Birney K-8 School is a wonderful school. I am confident my children are receiving a great education.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Alice M. Birney K-8 School
27225 Evergreen Road, Southfield, MI  48076
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 13 reviews. (248) 746-8800
Last modified Alice M. Birney K-8 School is a Public school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top