Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Grogan Elementary School

Public | K-5 & ungraded | 334 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars


Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

39 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 15, 2010

Has alot of programs for children and helping the community
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 28, 2009

6 star - Very impressed with the entire staff
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 26, 2009

At Grogan all students are given the same opportunities to grow and learn. We take pride in our students, staff, and parents.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 21, 2009

both my kids went to grogan-the staff was fantastic!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2009

The school has innovative programs to help let children become successful in school.


Posted October 18, 2009

My child enjoys it and is getting a great education
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 15, 2009

Great teachers and staff, always freindly and helpful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2009

Teachers are top knotch, always willing to go that extra mile.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2009

My kids had attended Grogan and 2 of my grandchildren had attended. Saddly they have moved and are attending a new school district. Grogan has been a wonderful school. There is so much spirit and pride between staff, parents and students. GO GRIZZLIES!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2009

Grandma is made to feel welcome, the best teachers & principal


Posted October 11, 2009

I've had three kids go to Grogan and they all loved the school and the teachers. I think the teachers and staff are all so wonderfull!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 10, 2009

The staff is wonderful and really care about the children. The PTO has alot of great after school activities for the kids, too!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 10, 2009

They have the best teaching staff and wonderful principal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 9, 2009

First time at Grogan. My daughter just started Kindergarden, one month in to the school and we love it there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2009

Grogan is a very caring school.... they truly love the children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 7, 2009

Grogan Elementary really cares about its students. I have never met more a more caring staff. All the parents are so involved and our PTO is the best in the district. I am so glad my daughter attends Grogan.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2009

We have great students and an excellent staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2009

Grogan is a great school because of the staff of course! My daughter is in 3rd grade and we have loved all of her teachers. The office staff is also very nice and informative.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2009

It is a GREAT school, with great staff & wonderful teachers. The interaction with the students family is great too and they host tons of family fun activites.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2009

The faculty is amazing, from the principal/secretary, to the teachers and helpers and even the janitors! Theykeep the parents well informed and involved in everything. I have 4 children and this is an EXCELLENT school!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2014.

85 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
38%

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
41%

2011

 
 
41%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

85 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
51%

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
61%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

75 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
56%

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
21%

2011

 
 
21%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2014.

75 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
67%

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
68%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2014.

75 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
63%

2013

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
30%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

82 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
29%

2013

 
 
32%

2012

 
 
13%

2011

 
 
13%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2014.

83 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
71%

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
67%
Science

The state average for Science was 17% in 2014.

84 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
7%

2013

 
 
21%

2011

 
 
14%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

19%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Michigan. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Below Average

Reading growth at this school

Above average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 net growth (significant improvement/improvement - significant decrease/decrease) according to Performance Level Changes from the state of Michigan.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 87% 69%
Hispanic 10% 6%
Multiracial 2% 2%
African-American 1% 18%
American Indian N/A 1%
Asian N/A 3%
Native Hawaiian N/A 0%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 52%N/A48%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Special education
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr. Rob Wolsek
Fax number
  • (734) 246-7269

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special education

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

13300 Burns St
Southgate, MI 48195
Website: Click here
Phone: (734) 246-4642

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


St Pius School
Southgate, MI






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT