Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Huron Academy

Charter | K-6 & ungraded | 532 students

We are best known for learning community.

 
 

Living in Sterling Heights

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $116,300. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $730.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

47 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 2, 2004

I have had my children at Huron for the past 3 years. This year I have finally taken them out. Mrs. Fillipi is a qualified Administrator, however, her skills with children and parents are very poor. I found that when 2 of my 3 children were picked on the administration was not open to disciplining the children involved. Also, it's always the same parents volunteering. Mrs. Fillipi will not even discuss getting paid lunch moms so the teachers are very overworked since they are with the kids almost all day with one 30 min break. Other charter schools have paid lunch mom's so the teachers can get a lunch together. I would not recommend this school to anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 2, 2004

I did not like this school at all! The work was too easy for my kids, (compared to public schools) and there is no after school activities. The teachers were very good people but not strict at all . The Kids were friendly and nice to my daughter. One good thing about this school was Mr.Chap, the social studies teacher, my daughter hated that subject untill she met him.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 6, 2004

Academically, we have been extremely satisfied for the past 3 years. Our 2nd child starts in the fall. Concerns arise with the possibility of several outstanding teachers not returning in the fall. Also, the loss of great, active families due to inconsistencies in the middle school and addition of 9th grade, causes disturbing thoughts as to the long-term plans of the principal. We hope the good experiences continue and the administration realizes that the education of our kids is what is most important.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 6, 2003

The education your child will get is excellent.I wish there were extracurricular activities for the children, I believe that would help keep the older children there. The teaching staff is excellent, there are a few stand outs, but all in all the children really do well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2003

I think that the principal and teachers are very in tune with their students. Academically speaking, my children are doing much better there than in the public schools. I would like to see afterschool activities, and I'm sure that will happen as the school continues to grow and improve. I will always recommend this school to anyone who asks. Personally, I found the principal to be very interested in helping my son. The teachers work very hard with students that are in need of extra attention, but not to the neglect of other students. I could not find anyone in the public schools to work with the children like that. And lastly, I like that there are smaller class sizes to help the children get personal attention.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 24, 2003

This school has great academic achievement. The Arts and Gym class leave little to be desired. The teaching staff great!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2003

Academic wise this school is wonderful. I question the motivation behind the principal if the children are her real concern; or is she more motivated in counting heads.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2014.

80 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
20%

2013

 
 
33%

2012

 
 
23%

2011

 
 
23%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

79 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
54%

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
51%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

78 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
55%

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
46%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2014.

75 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
79%

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
68%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2014.

77 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
55%

2013

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
42%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

71 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
51%

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
42%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2014.

70 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
54%

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
70%
Science

The state average for Science was 17% in 2014.

72 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
17%

2013

 
 
4%

2011

 
 
14%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 42% in 2014.

44 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
36%

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
16%

2011

 
 
16%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2014.

45 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
51%

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
69%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 27% in 2014.

45 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
13%

2013

 
 
28%

2011

 
 
24%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

19%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Michigan. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Above average

Reading growth at this school

Above average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 net growth (significant improvement/improvement - significant decrease/decrease) according to Performance Level Changes from the state of Michigan.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 60% 69%
African-American 19% 18%
Asian 12% 3%
Hispanic 5% 6%
Multiracial 4% 2%
American Indian N/A 1%
Native Hawaiian N/A 0%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 150%N/A48%
Female 250%N/A48%
Male 250%N/A52%
Source: 1 MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • Top 25 Charter Schools in Michigan (2010)
  • Ranked Number ONE Charter School in Ferris State's Authorized Charter Schools (2010)

Special education / special needs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Special education

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Latin

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Gym
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Mr. Mark Talbot
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Fax number
  • (586) 446-9173

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special education
Foreign languages taught
  • Latin

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Remediation
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School facilities
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer
  • Gym
  • Library
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

11401 Metropolitan Pkwy
Sterling Heights, MI 48312
Website: Click here
Phone: (586) 446-9170

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Oakbrook Elementary School
Sterling Heights, MI


Bozymowski Center
Sterling Heights, MI


Bruce Collins Elementary School
Sterling Heights, MI


Willow Woods Elementary School
Sterling Heights, MI


Messmore Elementary School
Sterling Heights, MI


Maple Lane School
Sterling Heights, MI


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT