Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Browning Elementary School

Public | K-6 | 481 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

21 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 30, 2013

Browning - My son will be going into 5th grade this fall. Every one of his teachers have been the greatest and matched his personality. They have been supportive, motivating but challanging for him to do his personal best. The current principle has been there for most of the time my son has been there so I hadn't really gotten to know the prior one. All I can say is that she is very motivating, energetic and the kids love her. I think most of the parents who have negative things to say aren't as involved as they maybe should be. She is driven and gets things done, yes - but from my experience she has always been awesome with the kids and helps them solve their own issues. Kids need to start being accountable early and parents need to relax and help them learn this and support them. We have loved ALL his teachers, but Ms. Westman (now Mrs. Scerske) has been our favorite. I only hope my other son and daughter are fortunate to have her as well. She teaches sign language, compassion and is wonderful. Mrs. Aiello is another one that is challanging but in the most rewarding way where my son needs it. The Elementary National Honor Society and its teachers are awesome too!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 17, 2013

Our family started at this school in 2001. We now have a Junior at UAIS, Freshman at Ford II, & a 6th Grader at Browning. We have been very fortunate to have had the friendship & support of the Browning community over the years (this includes, families, students, staff, & administration.) So proud of the effort members of the staff put in to improve & provide a well-rounded educational experience (media center/literacy programs, National Junior Honor Society, Science Olympiad, Student Council, Physical Education initiatives & Fun Run, Recycling Club, etc.) Not to mention all the time, effort, & compassion that goes into ensuring all our 6th graders over the years leave Browning academically, socially, & emotionally ready for Junior High! I could go on & on. It wouldn't be possible without the collaboration between home & school. It takes a village! So, thanks to all the families, students, staff, etc. who've done so much to make "Browning the Best!"
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2012

I am extremely disappointed by principal & office staff's lack of effort to truly listen to students and parents. More importantly, their refusal to incorporate feedback into school initiatives, learning communities, etc. It's her way or the highway. School atmosphere has suffered as a result. Parents must feel welcome to volunteer, ask questions, and critical part of their child's education without feeling looked down upon, judged, and unappreciated. It's sad. Browning doesn't have the cohesive partnership it once had between parents, staff, & administrations. Very unfortunate parents don't feel welcome or that it's worth the effort to try.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 14, 2011

I am not as happy with the new principal at our school. Our school used to be a great place for children. The staff was adored and the principal cherished. Not so much anymore! She has a very distanct way of doing things and if your not on board she will twist and turn to fit her needs. Support staff is hard to keep at browning now a days. The teaching staff is split which is never good. I feel as though she is a puppet with not much real concern for our children. She is a master in manipuation if your not careful. Becasue we now have a choice i would not choose browning. Be careful of her words
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 21, 2010

Browning is truely the best!! We transferred to Browning after a disaterous experience at another UCS elementary. The Principal was wonderful- she went out of her way to make our child feel special and welcome. She energectially greets the children every morning, knowing most by thier fist names. The teacher was respectful of my child and truely cared for her well being. The students and their families were warm and welcoming. The PTA is very active and creates opportuites for the students. It is very easy to get involved in the PTA-no political nonsense so often plagued by small groups. I cannot say enough about Browning!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 10, 2008

My family is new to Browning Elementary. My children have transferred from a private school, and I cannot explain how much happier my children have been. They enjoy going on the bus, they love their teachers! My husband and I feel much more comfortable at the school. I have been reading about the new principal and all I can say is that she and her staff have been the most welcoming people ever. For example, she welcomed the children one by one this morning as the buses were late (due to ice and snow conditions )and she put the children at ease about being late, I am certain that she is a truly caring and well certified principal! Academically, my children are right at the level they should be and socially, they are so much better off! The parents @ Browning have also made my family feel very welcomed!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 9, 2008

I am a former student of Browning and currently a Future Educator student as well. (My placement is in the Learning Center.) I think Browning is a wonderful school for children. The staff is welcoming and always put the students first. The new principal is trying her best to make eveyone feel welcome, including during conference week, in which she came around to each classroom with a cart of baked goods (pie, cake, brownies, ect) and served each teacher herself, which shocked me, in a good way. The teachers work together as a team, using each other as resources. I have nothing to say but good things about this school!


Posted October 15, 2008

I disagree with the below post the changes being implemented are there to protect our children and school, they are the same policies UCS has always had our school just was very casual about them. Give the principal a chance she has been there for what 3 months and people are already asking what the school board was thinking. this school has needed change for a long time, out with the old in with the new. I have been a Browning parent for many years now and welcome the change the I see.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 14, 2008

While there are many, many positive things about Browning, I have to disagree with a lot of the review posted 10/13/08. I find it upsetting that the new principal & apparently the staff are implementing changes that set up barriers & restrict parental participation. If we lose the support of the community, where will this 'Great School' & its teachers be in a few years?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 14, 2008

The teachers love what they do and they put the success of our kids FIRST. It is nice to see the principal greeting the students with enthusiasm each morning. The kids share this excitement and look forward to school. It is obvious everyone has a passion for working with children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2008

Browning says they are the best, and I agree! I am happy with the school and the new principal. We heard lots of great things about the peace assembly for the kids. With all the negativity in the world, it is great to see the staff working together to make this world a happier place. The principal helps kids solve their problems with one another. I feel good knowing my kids are at Browning!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 7, 2008

I have been a parent in this school for about 4 years , in the begining i was very happy, now i wish i could send my kids to another school i am so disapointed in the new principal. She is not principal material shame on the board of ed they should have known that she was not a good choise god help our kids
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2008

The teachers, PTA, students, & support of the Browning community are outstanding! I hope that the new principal will strive to ensure: 1)everyone feels welcome, 2)volunteerism is valued & appreciated, & 3) feedback (both positive & negative) is respected & when necessary acted upon. If we all work together, Browning will continue to thrive & be the best.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 1, 2008

Browning is a wonderful school! It has a lot of positive energy, where the staff is very energetic and highly motivated. This school allows students to be challenged to meet their full potential. I have never been in a warmer, more caring learning environment.


Posted October 1, 2008

Browning has exceeded our expectations! The sense of community between the school and the parents is wonderful. The PTA is very supportive, the school is very clean and you can tell that the staff loves working with children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 29, 2008

This is a new school for us this year and feel that there is a lack of genuine warmth in how things are handled from the principal and especially the office personnel. Didn't expect that from an elementary school that is in one of the best school districts in the area. The teachers at the school seem to be very good and it's too bad that you have to deal with the others to get to them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 29, 2007

Our daughter is in kindergarten and she absolutely loves it! I think the staff, principal, and PTA are doing a fantastic job. Thanks for caring. We look forward to our son entering the pre-school program next fall, based on the wonderful things we have heard.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2007

my daughter is in preschool, and she love's it. I like it and so does my 3 year old. I like the security checks from employee's. But the number 1 reason is the Teacher. She has a great way of teaching.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 24, 2007

Great school. The teachers are all fantastic. Also, the Principal is wonderful. MEAP scores are very high as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 10, 2006

I like Browning Elementary. I have not had the experience to deal with any other schools, but I like what I see at Browning. My daughter attends Kindergarten and I have no problem with anything. Everybody is very friendly and nice. I receive notes on every extra-curricular. My daughter is learning and comes home every day excited. She likes school. I have had the experience with Browning - thru my stepchildren) and I have liked every teacher and been very happy with the academics. I would recommend Browning Elementary, highly recommend. We are very happy - my daughter attends weekly - the research center, music, art, gym and every other week German. Parents are asked to volunteer for parties and field trips. I am very happy with the Kidergarten program.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2014.

58 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
50%

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
29%

2011

 
 
29%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

58 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
67%

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
65%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

65 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
54%

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
62%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2014.

60 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
72%

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
87%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2014.

59 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
66%

2013

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
63%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

79 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
48%

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
54%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2014.

80 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
69%

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
84%
Science

The state average for Science was 17% in 2014.

81 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
6%

2013

 
 
6%

2011

 
 
13%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 42% in 2014.

72 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
46%

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
58%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2014.

71 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
76%

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
80%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 27% in 2014.

74 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
30%

2013

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
44%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Above average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

19%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Michigan. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Above average

Reading growth at this school

Above average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 net growth (significant improvement/improvement - significant decrease/decrease) according to Performance Level Changes from the state of Michigan.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 90% 69%
African-American 5% 18%
Asian 3% 3%
Native Hawaiian 1% 0%
American Indian N/A 1%
Hispanic 0% 6%
Multiracial 0% 2%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 18%N/A48%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Nina Carver-Hardiewich
Fax number
  • (586) 797-4001

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special education
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

12400 19 Mile Road
Sterling Heights, MI 48313
Phone: (586) 797-4000

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Jack Harvey Elementary School
Sterling Heights, MI


Dresden Elementary School
Sterling Heights, MI


Havel Elementary School
Sterling Heights, MI


Graebner Elementary School
Sterling Heights, MI


Schwarzkoff Elementary School
Sterling Heights, MI



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT