Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
25 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 36 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Oakbrook Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted December 07, 2015
- a community member
I’m grateful for Mrs. Hamilton (2nd grade teacher). My son has ADHD and he has been a challenge to all of his teacher’s since pre-school. Mrs. Hamilton is a seasoned teacher that has so many tricks in her bag, that he has done very well with her. I don’t receive nearly as many calls home as I have the past 2 years. He longer comes home complaining about school and saying he does not want to go back. It goes to show we still have dedicated teachers out there and it’s important to show our appreciation and not take them for granted. Mrs. Hamilton...I salute and thank you for being so wonderful.

Oakbrook Elementary School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted December 07, 2015
- a community member
They have a strong teaching staff at Oakbrook. My son is now in the 2nd grade and has been there since kindergarten. I have only great things to say about all of his teachers. Very knowledgeable, sincere, compassionate and they care about their students being successful.


Oakbrook Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted December 07, 2015
- a community member
There's open communication with everyone involved with my son...from the SACC staff to the Principal.

Oakbrook Elementary School 4

Posted December 07, 2015
- a community member
I’m grateful for Mrs. Hamilton (2nd grade teacher). My son has ADHD and he has been a challenge to all of his teacher’s since pre-school. Mrs. Hamilton is a seasoned teacher that has so many tricks in her bag, that he has done very well with her. I don’t receive nearly as many calls home as I have the past 2 years. He longer comes home complaining about school and saying he does not want to go back. It goes to show we still have dedicated teachers out there and it’s important to show our appreciation and not take them for granted. Mrs. Hamilton...I salute and thank you for being so wonderful.

Oakbrook Elementary School 5

Posted July 06, 2014
- a parent
The school has provided a wonderful educational environment for my child. The Mandarin Immersion program is fantastic and gives the children an opportunity to learn a 2nd language as part of their everyday curriculum. The teachers are kind, caring and involved with academic development of the children inside and outside of school. The only complaint I have is that the current principal isn't the friendliest. The children don't find her very warm...more like a drill sergeant. I understand being a principal is a tough job but a good leader in someone that everyone wants to work with...not avoid.


Oakbrook Elementary School 5

Posted June 05, 2014
- a parent
Great school, great teachers. The Family Tree program is top notch. In all honesty, the teachers in the mandarin program are 10 times better than those that are not. The ones that are not are a hit/miss. I hear they are changing the program though, so we'll see what next year brings. New principal is doing a great job though, although the kids are not too fond of her.

Oakbrook Elementary School 3

Posted May 06, 2014
- a parent
All of my children have gone through Oakbrook and I still have the youngest there. My biggest complain is class sizes, every year it has gotten worse. Half of the families in my neigborhood that are zoned for this school takes their kids to private school or other schools and the main reason is class sizes. We are seriously considering putting our youngest in private school since this has been an issue for him too. UCS need to do something about this or this school will continue to go down, it has a pretty bad reputation already. 25 kids on a 2nd grade class is absurd. I feel for the teachers they are doing what they can but the district needs to address this. I believe this schools is one of the worst in the district in term of class sizes because of the large amount of out of district kids they are taking. I have nothing againts school of choice but class sizes is driving in district kids out of this school.

Oakbrook Elementary School 5

Posted October 24, 2013
- a parent
The teachers and principal in this school are very good. My son is Mandarin program, what is great. He is very happy attending to the Oakbrook.


Oakbrook Elementary School 5

Posted September 22, 2010
- a parent
The principal and all the staff are great. I would reccomend this school to anyone. I just recently moved before the school year and enrolled in the school of choice to keep my student here.

Oakbrook Elementary School
no rating

Posted December 11, 2009
- a parent
The principle is amazing! He genuinely cares about the students. As a parent I feel he makes himself available to my cares and concerns. thankyou

Nearby schools

Oakbrook Elementary School
12060 Greenway Drive, Sterling Heights, MI  48312
(586) 797-5900
Last modified Oakbrook Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top