Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Dekeyser Elementary School

Public | PK-6 & ungraded | 523 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

34 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 1, 2011

We transfered to this school last year, and are VERY happy with the school, programs, classroom teachers, principal and families. Parents are very involved. There is a great multicultural feel about the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 18, 2010

I did an extensive research of schools in Utica District before enrolling our daughter in K, my husband and I simply wanted to give her the best we could! We chose DeKeyser ultimately because of their full day K program (not that many schools have it anymore!), and also the school ratings (we checked out greatschools.com and also the report cards on michigan.org). We simply couldn't have made a better choice! Our daughter just graduated from Kindergarten, we are very pleased with her progress throughout the year, all experiences with all teachers (including latch-key teachers), parents, principal have been positive, it's been a wonderful, blessed year! Special thanks from Anna, my husband and I to Mrs. Farr (the best teacher on Earth!), Miss Dawn from Latch Key, and also million thanks to Mr O'Connor and Mrs Marsha from Pupil Services who gave our daughter the chance to start at Dekeyser!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 16, 2010

I completed my teaching internship at Dekeyser a couple years back and must say that the students are very lucky to have such caring teachers and staff. The Dekeyser family is 'unique' and very supportive. Now that I am in a full time teaching position, I see my school striving to put measures and strategies in place that Dekeyser has been successfully doing for years. I truly recommend this school!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 20, 2009

The staff in this building is AMAZING! I cannot say enough about the programs that they run, the parental support, the teachers, and the amazing administration! This school has inspired my child to be a life long learner.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 24, 2009

My daughter is not currently attending classes at Dekeyser, but she is enrolled in the IEP program. We have received excellent information and good tools. At times I felt as if my daughter was the only child that the school needed to work with. My family is truly grateful for the help we have received. A special thanks needs to be extended to Ruth Billings.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 12, 2009

I don't understand why UCS is spending money on the on-line blackboard when it is hardly being used. I believe my child's teacher posted things on it 5 times this year, I expected it to be used AT LEAST once a week.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 11, 2009

Yea to DeKeyser! Best elementary school in UCS! The students, parents and staff make it be the most amazing place where education takes place on so many different levels. Thank you to everyone that helps to make DeKeyser the place where'adventures never end!'
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2009

I agree with the parents who commented on this schools inability to help children with special needs. There is a lack of understanding of disabilities at DeKeyser. Very negative approach to education. Where is the positive reinforcement? Discipline methods are ridiculous. Double jeopardy- get in trouble and serve detention and then not allowed to participate in activity later in the year for the same incident...how is this justice? Staff unprofessional in front of students and parents. Overall, this school has been a very disappointing experience. And as for the statement from one of the teachers reviews regarding parent suggestions and advocating for your child...we tried this it doesn't work!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 17, 2009

As someone who is very close to the DeKeyser community, I have to say that I am shocked by the last comment posted. I have never seen any of the behaviors listed in that post happen at DeKeyser. In fact, I have never seen anything but positive, caring interactions between students and staff. Since DeKeyser doesn t have walls, it would be really difficult to hide anyone who belittles or embarrasses students. The teachers in that building are wonderful. They are passionate about what they do and make extra efforts to meet the needs of all students and create a positive learning experience. They often go above and beyond the call of duty to make sure their students and families are happy. I don t think some people realize the efforts the staff puts in to make DeKeyser great. To say that the teachers are only there for their summer vacations is inaccurate. Many people don t know that most of the teachers work all summer on their own time attending workshops and planning in order to better themselves and their classrooms. Mrs. Klatt has always been consistent. She deals with issues quickly and fairly. As a school of choice, there are families bringing their children to DeKeyser because of its reputation of academic success and caring. Families who are registered at DeKeyser are recruiting their friends and family. I don t think there s any higher compliment. If you are truly concerned about students being embarrassed and belittled, my suggestion would be to check in the main office and ask to observe the school for a day. I think you will be pleasantly surprised by the great things you see.


Posted January 14, 2009

I have been a DeKeKeyser parent for 15 years, and I can't say anything negative about the first 13 of those years. The last two years, however, have been absolutely awful. Some of the teachers seem as though they are in this profession simply to have their summers off. They are not patient or understanding with the children, and embarrass them regularly in front of others. It is my opinion that children should be taught with encouragement; not belittlement. There are some wonderful teachers at DeKeyser but there are definitely those who could use some further education. Unfortunately, the principal seems to 'blow off' the concerns we have brought forward. It's time for Mrs. Klatt to start holding some review workshops for those teachers who have forgotten why they went into this profession.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 14, 2008

The curriculum is good, but I find some of the teachers to be rather snobby. They also seem to have some cliques within the faculty. That is not the example I want set for my children, especially my daughter.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 14, 2008

I have found some of the teachers to be a bit snobbish. They seem to have their own cliques within the staff. This is not the example I want set for my children, especially my daughter. I want them to learn to accept everyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 12, 2008

As a former Special Services TA at the school. I know first hand the difficulties of a special needs student. This staff has bent over backwards with each of the students in my care to accomodate the needs of a special ed student without forgetting the needs of the other students in their classrooms. Again, perhaps a GOOD look at other area schools and how they handle the same situations would give a clearer view on the agenda of the staff at DeKeyser. Imagine that, wanting to do what best suits the needs of YOUR child as well as what is best for ALL of the children that attend the school.


Posted May 27, 2008

I feel really bad for any parent that can honestly say the principal and teachers are cold at DeKeyser. My child has been at Dekeyser for 4 years and we absolutely love it. Dekeyser is her school but everyone treat us like family. I have to agree with one of the previous reviews....the principal and teachers know each child by including the ones that aren't your typical 'problem child'. I know this to be true because they know my child by name and my child hasn't spent any time in the office for any negative reason. Dekeyser Staff Rock!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2008

As a teacher at DeKeyser I am surprised by the posting regarding special needs children. DeKeyser has been praised time and time again by both district representatives as well as consultants from the MISD for their extensive interventions and accommodations for students with special needs. Both the principal and staff regularly go out of their way to meet the needs of our students. We have been told many times by both parents and educators that we do more than many schools around for our special needs population. Our team is compassionate and always puts the needs of our students first. If parents are unhappy I feel it is their job to advocate for their children, meet with the special education team to voice their concerns, and come up with a solution. Our staff would be more than happy to work together.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 13, 2008

I personally have had not so great experience with this school. If you have a special needs child, they have absolutely no clue as to what to do. They will try their hardest to ship your child somewhere else just so they dont have to deal with him/her. I guess it is a good school if ur child doesnt have any special needs. But they are lost when it comes to accomodating to special needs kids. I also thought the principal to be very rigid and cold. Doesnt understand the needs of children. And the staff just follow her lead, and are afraid to speak up. This is my own personal experience and my opinion.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2008

I personally did not care for Dekeyser, I felt the staff was rather cold. However, I am glad to see that other parents have had a positive experience despite my misgivings toward the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 7, 2008

We have been at this school for about five years and have had nothing but a great experience from the whole staff, from the teachers right on up to the principal. When ever there has been a concern we have been able to address it and it has gotten immediate attention.We feel that the whole staff works together as a family for the benefit of your child. We also have noticed that children with special needs have flourished there. How many schools can you mention where the principal knows the childrens' names on a daily basis (not just the ones that stand out)? and where the teachers still take an interest in your child even after they have left their classroom? We feel that this is a great school to be associated with and have our children attend as their second home.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 6, 2008

I am shocked by the negative remarks from march 31st. I have been involved with dekeyser for over nine years. My oldest has moved onto junior high and is doing quite well due to the fine education and care he recevied here. My youngest -- a fifth grader - is also flourishing . As long as i have been here, i have never seen the militaristic attitude stated below. If a child has a need, it is not overlooked. And as for the attitude that this is not a family oriented community, this individual needs to take a closer look. We have had quite a few hardships fall upon families this year...And this entire community has rallied together for those students and families. Education is obviously important but this staff proves over and over again that family and community are a vital part of that education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 4, 2008

I would like to start by saying if you gave this school a negatrive remark you have obviously never spent much time there.I'am a proud parent and volunteer. This school is ultimatly the most unique. Where else could you go where all the teachers know your children, science olympia, lap tops, art, music, ccccccomputer
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2014.

68 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
35%

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
54%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

67 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
75%

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
77%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

62 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
45%

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
65%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2014.

62 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
71%

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
75%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2014.

62 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
47%

2013

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
56%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

77 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
65%

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
48%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2014.

76 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
80%

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
68%
Science

The state average for Science was 17% in 2014.

80 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
25%

2013

 
 
17%

2011

 
 
19%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 42% in 2014.

80 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
75%

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
71%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2014.

82 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
88%

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
82%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 27% in 2014.

88 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
26%

2013

 
 
41%

2011

 
 
38%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Above average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

19%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Michigan. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Above average

Reading growth at this school

Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 net growth (significant improvement/improvement - significant decrease/decrease) according to Performance Level Changes from the state of Michigan.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 88% 69%
African-American 5% 18%
Asian 4% 3%
Hispanic 3% 6%
American Indian N/A 1%
Multiracial 0% 2%
Native Hawaiian 0% 0%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 37%N/A48%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Ms. Mary Beth Merlo
Fax number
  • (586) 797-4401

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special education
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

39600 Atkinson Dr
Sterling Heights, MI 48313
Phone: (586) 797-4400

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Plumbrook Elementary School
Sterling Heights, MI


Messmore Elementary School
Sterling Heights, MI


Oakbrook Elementary School
Sterling Heights, MI


Schwarzkoff Elementary School
Sterling Heights, MI


Jack Harvey Elementary School
Sterling Heights, MI


Huron Academy
Sterling Heights, MI


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT