Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Graebner Elementary School

Public | K-6 | 615 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars


Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 26, 2008

My daughter just started the preschool program this year at Graebner and she loves it. Her teacher is Ms. Sandy Jewell she is a awesome teacher we like her alot. She is a caring , thoughtful and patient teacher and my daughter has a lot of fun and has learned alot as well. I look forward for many years to come at Graebner .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 14, 2008

We have been a part of Graebner since 2001 and its been absolutely wonderful! The teachers are all awesome! We have not had a bad teacher yet and my son is in 6th grade. He's been on the honor roll since the fourth grade. And trust me the teachers are very patient and kind and caring. They really do want the best for your kids. The parent support is great. It's a wonderful school and we also thought about buying a bigger house but we will not move from Graebner. The kids are great, the teachers are great, the academics are great. There are no sport teams but it is an ELEMENTARY. What Elementary has sport teams yet. Also the school is clean maybe parents should teach their kids to wash their hands more often. Also there are walls up now have been for a couple of years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2006

My first grade son started attending Graebner this year. We are very pleased with the Utica School System and specifically with Graebner. His first grade teacher, Mrs. Paladino, has done a great job with the kids and she is very accomodating in working with any struggles that he might have. He has excelled throughout the year and really enjoys going to school. Parent involvement seems adequate. The school is kept clean and the pricipal is very involved.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 23, 2005

Graebner is overall a really good school but they always have the same old fundraisers year after year. They do have lots of activities to be involved in such as The Blue Ribbon Press (School newspaper)Mornin gAnnouncements, Service squad, Student government, strings, band and many more. They have lots of parents involved in the school that help out at parties and things like that. They don't have any sport teams though. Graebner is a really great school and my children love it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 9, 2005

My son is in ist grade. I am extremely happy with his teacher, classroom, the office staff. We have had a wonderful experience at Graebner. I have been able to volunteer, as much as I would like, inside the classroom.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 5, 2005

it's not that i don't like graebner but the teachers seem to need to learn some patience. they are high strung and expect our children to be perfect little students and that is just not possible when you're dealing with 20+ children per classroom. i also do not like the 'open classrooms' my daughter has difficulty concentrating sometimes and this doesn't help
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 29, 2004

My child currently is enrolled at Graebner. I am shocked to think that anybody would have anything to say about this school. The only complaint that I have is that any event you wish to attend in the evening is very difficult to find a good parking place because of the parent involvement. Blue Ribbon accreditation is not an easy task. I have a sister-in-law who is a kindergarten teacher in Grosse Pointe and she cannot believe how wonderful the curriculum is and uses some of it in her own classroom. My husband and I have thought about moving into a bigger house, but I have to tell you one very big reason that we don't want to move is because we want our son to continue at Graebner. By the way, knock on wood, but my son rarely gets sick.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 28, 2004

My child currently attends Graebner. I can attest to the fact that when I pick up my child from latchkey every evening that the school is in the process of being cleaned. The only issue we have ever had with a sanitary condition has been the boys bathroom floor within the classroom. When you have 13 boys in a classroom it's hard to keep the floor around the toilet clean, even at home. Any time I have had a concern, it has always been corrected. Every school in the Utica School District has carpet to buffer the noise. We moved from a christian school to Graebner because they couldn't keep good teachers because of the low pay, they didn't have the manpower to keep the school clean, or a nurse to monitor my son's medical needs and my son was continuously being injured on the playground because of lack of supervision.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2004

Graebner was a great school. I volunteered much of my time at the school and beg to differ about the schools sanitary issues. The school was great. Some of the classrooms do not have walls but with the bond passing that will change. It certainly made no difference to the kids. The classes were all well behaved. My son was never sick while he attended Graebner. The teaching staff was amazing and the extra activities for the children were great. The principal was very friendly and helpful. She made all the kids feel special. Unfortunately due to a move we cannot go to Graebner anymore and are really going to miss it!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2004

We live in the Graebner area. Two years ago we switched our children to a private school because Graebner is a dirty, unclean school and the classrooms do not have walls, it's all open, very noisy and hard for kids to concentrate. The school is carpeted all over, which is nasty and unsanitary. My children have hardly been sick since they left Graebner, my neighbor also pulled her children out and she has noticed the same thing, even though her children are in another public school. We are not the only ones who feel this school is not clean. Tina
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2014.

83 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
46%

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
45%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

81 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
62%

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
74%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

81 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
61%

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
57%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2014.

79 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
84%

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
86%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2014.

78 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
56%

2013

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
63%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

87 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
66%

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
51%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2014.

87 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
82%

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
73%
Science

The state average for Science was 17% in 2014.

99 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
12%

2013

 
 
22%

2011

 
 
13%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 42% in 2014.

81 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
61%

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
58%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2014.

80 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
80%

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
74%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 27% in 2014.

87 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
41%

2013

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
40%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Above average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

19%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Michigan. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Above average

Reading growth at this school

Above average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 net growth (significant improvement/improvement - significant decrease/decrease) according to Performance Level Changes from the state of Michigan.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 78% 69%
African-American 10% 18%
Asian 6% 3%
Hispanic 4% 6%
Multiracial 2% 2%
American Indian N/A 1%
Native Hawaiian 0% 0%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 35%N/A48%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Special education
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Gregory Church
Fax number
  • (586) 797-5001

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special education

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

41875 Saal Road
Sterling Heights, MI 48313
Phone: (586) 797-5000

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Havel Elementary School
Sterling Heights, MI



Jack Harvey Elementary School
Sterling Heights, MI


Browning Elementary School
Sterling Heights, MI


Miami Elementary School
Charter Township of Clinton, MI


Huron Elementary School
Clinton Township, MI


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT