Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Havel Elementary School

Public | PK-6 & ungraded | 617 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 10, 2013

Havel Elementary is the only school after preschool that my daughter has attended and her kindergarten school year was tough because the teacher was just really demanding and over bearing but this year she has Mrs. Dolenga and she is doing GREAT!! This teacher is really making a difference in her. The school is really helpful and on top of things. If I didn't have to move I would keep her there. :(
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2012

im sorry to say this but havel has really gone downhill inthe last two years. i had 1 child go through k-6 and it was wonderfull. now my 2nd child is in the 6 grade,and i can not wait for him to be out. the last two years have been awefull. some of the old staff is still there and they are not thrilled either. its to bad that this wonderfull school is now a joke. some of the new teachers are just plain rude. i feel they are there for a paycheck and thats about it. i feel the same way about the principal.they just donot care and it shows!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 9, 2009

My child attends Havel. The teachers are great. I just wish they would have more diversity, where minority children don't feel left out.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2009

I have two children who attend or have attended Havel. I also have a child in a different school. The teachers, students and staff are the best compared to any of the schools we have been at.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 30, 2009

What a great community of parents and teachers at Havel. The nursery/preschool teacher was sent straight from Heaven. She is a tough act to follow but all of the teachers are great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 4, 2008

My son just finished sixth grade at Havel.He started there in preschool .It is an absolutely wonderful school to attend starting with the office,Mrs. Chuminatto (principal) and teachers. There is a great volunteer league & parents who make a difference!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 25, 2008

Both of my children attend this school. One is in 1st grade and the other is in Pre-School. (I absolutely love the pre-school teacher. She sets the bar pretty high for the other teachers!) The teachers, office staff, and other parents are great! And for the other review that said they didn't have latchkey, they do now. This is a wonderful school and I would recommend it to anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2007

i love havel, starting with the staff of office workers ,teachers, volunteers,and the reading programs are tops, they really care about the children the principal is the best she treats the children and parents like we are her family
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 16, 2004

I have 2 children at Havel and next year will have 3. It is a wonderful school. I couldn't imagine being anywhere else. Lots of parent involvement. The teachers and principal truly care about each child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 10, 2004

This is our homeschool, but due to no Latchkey, we have to transfer our children in Walsh. I think Latchkey is very important for working parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 23, 2003

very pleased with the way the school is run, my compliments to the principal, staff and all the parents who volunteer and are involved.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2014.

69 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
59%

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
39%

2011

 
 
39%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

66 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
70%

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
66%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

87 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
55%

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
24%

2011

 
 
24%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2014.

87 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
72%

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
72%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2014.

87 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
59%

2013

 
 
40%

2011

 
 
63%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

97 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
43%

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
36%

2011

 
 
36%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2014.

95 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
61%

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
73%
Science

The state average for Science was 17% in 2014.

99 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
19%

2013

 
 
13%

2011

 
 
12%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 42% in 2014.

76 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
45%

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
43%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2014.

76 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
82%

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
82%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 27% in 2014.

86 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
34%

2013

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
37%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Above average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

19%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Michigan. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Above average

Reading growth at this school

Above average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 net growth (significant improvement/improvement - significant decrease/decrease) according to Performance Level Changes from the state of Michigan.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 87% 69%
African-American 7% 18%
Multiracial 3% 2%
Asian 1% 3%
Hispanic 1% 6%
American Indian 0% 1%
Native Hawaiian 0% 0%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 42%N/A48%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Special education
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr. Steve Slancik
Fax number
  • (586) 797-5201

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special education

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

41855 Schoenherr Rd
Sterling Heights, MI 48313
Phone: (586) 797-5200

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Graebner Elementary School
Sterling Heights, MI


Jack Harvey Elementary School
Sterling Heights, MI


Browning Elementary School
Sterling Heights, MI



Dekeyser Elementary School
Sterling Heights, MI


Dresden Elementary School
Sterling Heights, MI


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT