Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Heritage Junior High School

Public | 7-9 & ungraded | 563 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

24 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 29, 2014

I'm a heritage student and this school is awesome. Teachers pay attention to students. The school is very clean. The councellers encourage students to talk to them. The school should have more books in the library. Overall this school is absolutely amazing. I'm a ninth grader and I don't want to leave this school. <3 heritage


Posted December 22, 2013

I'm very disappointed with the entire staff with in Heritage Junior High. There is bullying problem with in this school and the principle, vice principle, and staff drag their feet in getting to the bottom of the situation and don't get the 'immediate response" with in the bullying law. From a parent standpoint, be sure you watch for signs of bullying with your child. My child has gotten it so bad that my child doesn't want to return to school or any other school and is currently seeking help to overcome the fear of being bullied. This is a group of kids, not just one or two individuals. It's practically the entire school that is in on it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 22, 2013

This school has a bullying issue and the leadership and counselors don't have a vested interest in the well being of the students. They say all the right things but none of their actions support what they say. Some of the teachers are good but without appropriate leadership and mentoring of the students, this school does not foster a positive environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 22, 2013

Teachers are mean to the students, show incredible favoritism and they label children unfairly. Some teachers are downright rude to any parents that care about their child's progress and all staff including counselors treat parents that ask questions, or voice concerns as if they are such a pain it is disheartening that this jr. high school is part of the UCS district, very poor representation of the district. I have also heard of significant bully issues within the school that go unaddressed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 11, 2013

My son is in his second year at Heritage and I am now looking at home school/online school options. I have found the staff very unprofessional! Many teachers do not respond to emails. There is absolutely NO communication with the parents. I have called the main office to request homework when my son was out for several days due to illness and only get 1 or 2 assignements. I have spoken with the principal and vice principal and several occasions regarding issues we are having only to be treated with disrespect or have my requests ignored. Very unhappy here!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 11, 2013

I am not seeing anything good come out of this school...it is all about numbers and making the staff look good. The kids get lists a mile long to bring to class and then the staff members say they only need the book, paper, pencil, and folder to bring to class. What a joke this school needs to be on the same page....different rules and policies for everyone including the staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 7, 2012

I love the school, there's nothing I can say other than that. I just wish they would update the website. It hasn't been updated since June 2011!


Posted June 14, 2012

Some teachers are great, those are the ones providing what our kid need to successfully learn the course material. They get 4.5 stars even if our kid did poorly on some assignment because it was strictly our kid fault and never had a complaint. One the other hand, our kid complaints were plentiful about a few. A kid question should be treated as deserving of the teacher's attention rather than a pain or waste of their effort. Also, no students should ever overhear teachers talking poorly of students such as calling someone "dumb" or "look what I have to deal with." Some teach assignments as if the students are in college or add tangent material good in the work place but distracts a kid from learning the course material. Some are quick to hand out failing grades (LF) or zero's based on minor things, make negative assumptions, or assumptions on what one student says without getting all the facts. Asking will usually clarify many concerns. Because our kid has lost some of the enjoyment about learning and we want to get the motivation high, we are exploring other schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 12, 2012

Heritage is absolutely amazing. The teachers actually care about us from the deepest of their souls. When they say they're going to help us, they mean it. The counselors actually want us to stop by and ask for help, and my friend does every single day at lunch. We all love Heritage so much, we don't want to leave (yet I'm disappointed in the IB program).


Posted March 24, 2010

My child loves going to Heritage. He is in 7th grade and can't wait to get there everyday. They have great techers, who really listen to the students. KUDOS! Heritage!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2009

We school of choiced our 9th grade student to Henry Ford II. This school lacks professionals who understand dealing with minor special needs students. (i.e 504) I found the staff as a whole lax in it professionalism. (Hard time telling the students from the teachers.)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2009

omg!!! heritage is amazing..i love the school..i wish i can stay longer. the teachers are very nice and they help out with what ever we dont understand, which is impossible because they teach so well. the school is pretty clean, and everyone is soooo nice. the library has a huge veritey of books and even the lunches arent bad. its the best school ever!!!! =]
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 17, 2009

the school is wonderful and its small so it feels like a private school...its awesome.. those were the best 3 years of my life!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 11, 2009

I go to heritage and i am in 7th grade. The school is amazing i would highly recommend it over any other middle school the teachers are awesome and there are around 500 kids
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 13, 2009

I am going to transfer from heritage to goodrich. i dont want to. heritage Juiner hogh is Amazing!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 23, 2008

This school is sooo awesome! I wish that I could stay for another year. The staff and faculty members are the greates that you will ever find in a public school today in our economy!
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 15, 2007

I go there and it is an awesome school. the teachers are the best.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 19, 2007

I am very pleased with Heritage. My son is in his 2nd year there. He is in the special education seed program. Without the program my son would not have grown as an individual. I rate the teacher, Lisa Sanford as the best, top notch special education teacher that I have had the pleasure to work with. Parent involvement is crucial with a child's education. I feel UCS and Heritage are doing the best that they can with the current budget crisis. I cannot speak for the average student in the general education forum, but I know with a smaller class size it allows for more attention to the student. Heritage is the only Jr. High with the smallest enrollment. Some of the other Jr. High's have more. I'm pleased with choosing Heritage.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2007

This school is not a good school at all. My son went there last year and we had many problems with the school staff and students.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted April 12, 2006

Heritage is a small school with a principal and staff second to none. For the past 3 years my son has been at Heritage we have found teachers who make their subject matter interesting as well as teachers who have taken a personal interest in him. The staff has helped to mentor our son by reinforcing respect, personal best, positive communication and honesty -- all things we have been trying to teach him ourselves. The principal at Heritage has strong leadership skills and is interested in hearing from parents. She is continually making changes and improvements when necessary to keep the school's excellent reputation.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 39% in 2014.

168 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
60%

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
68%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

167 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
73%

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
75%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

171 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
67%

2013

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
66%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 35% in 2014.

162 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
49%

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
52%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2014.

162 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
90%

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
77%
Science

The state average for Science was 20% in 2014.

175 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
33%

2013

 
 
15%

2011

 
 
21%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 26% in 2014.

170 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
47%

2013

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
40%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

19%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Michigan. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Above average

Reading growth at this school

Below Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 net growth (significant improvement/improvement - significant decrease/decrease) according to Performance Level Changes from the state of Michigan.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 83% 69%
African-American 9% 18%
Asian 6% 3%
American Indian 1% 1%
Hispanic 1% 6%
Multiracial 0% 2%
Native Hawaiian 0% 0%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 33%N/A48%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr. Scott Waak
Fax number
  • (586) 797-3101

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special education
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

37400 Dodge Park Rd
Sterling Heights, MI 48312
Phone: (586) 797-3100

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Davis Junior High School
Sterling Heights, MI


Bozymowski Center
Sterling Heights, MI


Carleton Middle School
Sterling Heights, MI


Parkway Christian School
Sterling Heights, MI


Parkway Christian School
Sterling Heights, MI



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT