Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
K-6
Public district
Sterling Heights, MI
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Messmore Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted June 10, 2015
- a parent
The small ratios between teachers and students allow the formation of relationships that emphasis individuality and responsibility. Kids simply do not slip between the cracks at this school. There is also a strong sense of community. Older students helping out with projects of the younger students, good extracurricular activities, and very few behavioral issues.

Messmore Elementary School 5

Posted June 10, 2015
- a parent
My daughter just completed her first year at Messmore. I could not be happier with the experience and her progress this year. The teachers are very caring and devoted. The parents group is very involved with the school and activities for the students. There are a few parents who 'drop and dash' but many volunteer as well. I wish it was a more modern building, but all of the hands on things the students use, media resources, computers, etc. are top notch.


Messmore Elementary School 5

Posted September 04, 2014
- a parent
My daughter is going into her second year at Messmore. So far, this school seems great. She has excelled in all academic areas. She has always been a bright kid, but this school (and the Montessori method) brought out the best in her. The new principal seems like a good fit for the school, too, as he is friendly, understanding, and proactive. Perhaps one negative aspect is the somewhat elitist attitude some parents bring, but that isn't necessarily against the school itself.
2 people found this helpful

Messmore Elementary School 5

Posted July 21, 2014
- a parent
We are currently in the Pre-K program starting Fall 2014 (my son was in the nursery school program for the 2013-14 school year). I was concerned first about sending him to school 5 mornings a week, but he LOVED it and came out of his shell!) He enjoys the autonomy in the classroom and the fact that he has so many choices of what to work on in class. We chose this preschool specifically because it was Montessori AND a public school. We look forward to many more years at this public/montessori school. On a side note, the parking lot situation is a work in progress...with all the children being driven to/from school by parents, it's a bit hectic in the parking lot. I know there is a committee working on this and hope for some improvement this coming Fall.
1 person found this helpful

Messmore Elementary School 5

Posted August 02, 2013
- a community member
I am writing this review on behalf of Messmore Elementary. I have had the pleasure of attending their end of year school event. It was so much fun and family oriented. You can tell the teachers and staff there care about their community. I hope they win the $5000 so they can continue to do great things for their students.


Messmore Elementary School 5

Posted August 01, 2013
- a parent
Great place for kids to enjoy a Montessori program and public school environment. Program is very detailed and gives the child to learn at her/ his own pace

Messmore Elementary School 5

Posted July 19, 2013
- a parent
The secretary is polite with students and that's the main point. If you think the secretary is rude, then maybe you are not being well-mannered towards her, and you need to work on your people skills. You can not boss schools' personnel. As for bullying, they do punish kids when it happens. If you know how to handle bullying, please give your ideas to the new principle, sincr you have high hopes on him. I agree with you, he is a great addition to the team.

Messmore Elementary School 5

Posted July 18, 2013
- a parent
I also feel that the staff is not properly trained or effectively handles bullying. I have high hopes for the new Principle who seems to be on top of things. As for the office staff, I can only say that yes, the secretary is rude and needs to retire.


Messmore Elementary School 5

Posted January 18, 2012
- a community member
Messmore Mavericks Rock!!! Academics are Great. The science and Math olympiad teams to 1st place last year (2010-2-11)

Messmore Elementary School 5

Posted October 25, 2011
- a parent
Best school in Michigan. We left MI and came to east coast, public school not even close to Messmore. Had to pull her out after 1 month of boredom due to really low curriculum (in a highly rated school and town!) compared to Messmore. She was YEARS ahead of the local school. Had her tested, and, yes, YEARS. Found a small private school willing to work with her at her advanced level. Explained that all Messmore kids are like this, they were IMPRESSED. What a treasure you guys have in Messmore, don't bash it.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Messmore Elementary School
8742 Dill Drive, Sterling Heights, MI  48312
(586) 797-5600
Last modified Messmore Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Messmore Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 51 reviews. Top