Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
K-5
Public district
Sterling Heights, MI
Students enrolled: 322
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Black Elementary School
Amount of homework: Don't know

Posted May 30, 2015
- a parent
Black isnt as great as I expected. I know people that live in the district. That makes it easier, but once again the principal doesn't like to do any extra work, so if you need the school to work with you on something - its a great challenge to get the school to work with you. The school likes to just blame the parents on matters when that's just not always the case. And principal backs the teachers no matter what - even if CLEARLY the teacher made some big mistakes. Almost a mob mentality within the district with faculty and staff.

Black Elementary School
Develops grit: Neutral

Posted May 30, 2015
- a parent
School doesnt really detour bullying from one child to another so I guess you can say your child have to buck up.


Black Elementary School
Develops empathy: Neutral

Posted May 30, 2015
- a parent
First year and not seeing any compassion from the teacher toward the kids. Seems like they are just getting there job done.

Black Elementary School
Develops honesty: Neutral

Posted May 30, 2015
- a parent
Principal was very difficult to work with. School didnt tell me of important things about my child getting injured at school. they tend to cover up things that are not great.

Black Elementary School 2

Posted May 30, 2015
- a parent
Sticking it out to see if it gets better. Not overly fond of principal but if the teacher this year was very new to the district. Things will get shifted around next year hoping there will be some improvments.


Black Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted May 30, 2015
- a parent
Not impressed by teachers yet. Maybe next year. Sticking it out one more year to see how it goes. I heard the teachers in higher grades are better then the kindegarden teachers. Was not impressed by kindegarden.

Black Elementary School
Develops respect: Disagree

Posted May 30, 2015
- a parent
Black Elementary looks like a top performing school, but it will change next year. Its merging with Filmore and next year double the amount of kids will be in the school which is pretty small. Alot of the "Good" reviews are from the people that live in the district or work in the district. The school "favors" kids that live in the sub vs. kids that are school of choice. Principal is VERY difficult to work with - I agree with the posts below. She trys to do as little as possible and I have caught her not telling me the truth. This disctrict wont stay at 8 after the schools merge because right now black has a very small town mentality and that will have to change after the merger. The reason its a 8 is from the parents - parents very involved with there kids in the district.

Black Elementary School 5

Posted May 03, 2015
- a teacher
Black Elementary is an outstanding school. It is one of the top performing schools in the district and has been for more than ten years. The staff is highly motivated and maintains high expectations for all students. They work together across grade levels to make sure that students are prepared for what's ahead. Teachers differentiate instruction to meet the needs of individual students and work with intervention teachers to help struggling students. The administrator believes in the teachers making curriculum decisions and encourages them to drive the school improvement process. She supports both teachers and students and also maintains high expectations for all. I will be bringing my child to this school when he is school aged because I believe in this school's ability to not only prepare children for the future, but they make it a truly enjoyable place to learn. The relationships that are built here last far longer than just from grades K-5.


Black Elementary School 5

Posted April 23, 2015
- a parent
Great school! Wonderful and hardworking staff! They helped meet my child's needs. Great teachers and support staff! Principal is helpful!
2 people found this helpful

Black Elementary School 3

Posted March 29, 2013
- a parent
Here's the thing... It could be SO MUCH BETTER. Principal doesn't outright lie about stuff, but she sort of tells only the amount of truth needed to get things to go easily for her. There is excellent parent involvement. I feel like the kids are graded "easily" sometimes to avoid confrontation. Look into latchkey if you are considering Warren Consolidated Schools (some kids are bused to other schools for latchkey). All in all, we're going to hang in there, but I hate that I find myself wondering if I am selling my kids short. A lot of kids transferred out last year, and some of those parents tell me they are so happy they did.
1 person found this helpful

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Black Elementary School
14100 Heritage Road, Sterling Heights, MI  48312
(586) 825-2840
Last modified Black Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Black Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 23 reviews. Top