Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Fillmore Elementary School

Public | K-5 & ungraded | 340 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 21, 2014

My child has attended Fillmore since kindergarden & in 5th grade now. The school was a blue ribbon school, and it has definitely declined. Mrs. Shubnell was an awesome principal & when this year round school year was implemented there has definitely been a decline in the school enviroment. There is less parental involvement, the principal isn't as attentive as Mrs. Shubnell, and there arent any incentives for the kids offered like there were with the previous faculty. Dr. Livernois can scrap the whole year round idea.It was a great idea in the beginning, but the kids barely went to school this year, with the excessive snow days, and intercession weeks the kids go back to school getting lessons crammed down their throat. I love the teachers here past & present, but prior to this year round idea Fillmore was a family/neighborhood school, now its just a "school". I'm all for year round schooling but this idea needs to be redone because the calendar year is redundant. Prior to the yr round idea there was after school tutoring, band practice, spring concerts, more behavioral & academic incentives for the kids now there is nothing. I'm sad to see the decline..
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 26, 2011

I love Fillmore. I have heard rumors from other parents in the district that Fillmore is the best school in Warren Con. They have the best teachers, a positive working and learning environment. I feel that some parents do not do enough to help out. I volunteer my time, but always see the same faces. The teacher is with my son for a long time. They need our help to support the theory of "it takes a village."
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 21, 2011

We have been at Fillmore for many years. I truly love this school! The teachers try to go above and beyond for the students, whether they need to be challenged or need extra attention. The teachers not only care about academics, but the well-being of their students. I am knowledgable about the current economic situation of the school district, and unfortunately have seen how this has affected the teachers' ability to provide materials and additional extra curricular activities for the children. However, the teachers show they care in many other ways. I would recommend this school to anyone!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2010

I have two children that attend Fillmore. We all love this school! Sadly we will be moving out of state before the 2010-11 school year... we will miss Fillmore. If you are considering this elementary school, I highly recommend it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 4, 2010

I have two children that have attended Fillmore since kindergarten. I definitely feel since Mr. Walmsley left it has gone WAY down hill. The principal now is more like a friend than a boss and she is not equal with her discipline to all students. The violence that is tolerated is beyond belief and I was told by a parent that most disciplinary problems that go to Carlton come from Fillmore, can totally see that. My kids get good grades and for the most part have liked their teachers. Teachers need to stop yelling and whining, u chose the profession ur in, now do your JOB!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 21, 2009

Fillmore Elementary is absolutely blessed to have Ms. Shubnell for Principal. She cares about kids and she cares most about their achievement in school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 5, 2007

The school has defintely gone down hill since the last principal retired. Now with the new principal the teachers are less flexible, you don't see many at after school activities (unless being paid)and the activities cost the parents much more.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 13, 2007

I had 2 children who attended Fillmore. When my son first started there in Kindergarten, it was a good school with a principal, John Iras, who really cared about the kids. Everything at the school was about the children. My daughter started in kindergarten also and is 2 years behind my son. The school has steadily gone down hill. We moved out of the district after my son completed 3 rd grade because the district and this school had gotten so bad. I was an involved parent, who volunteered regularly. I tried to discuss problems with the principal, the parent advocate, the school board and the superintendent and got no where. I would not recommend this school or this district to anyone. The PTO is politically charged. Student privacy is ignored by the office staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 15, 2006

My daughter only went to kindergarten at Fillmore because we moved out of the district, but her experience was wonderful. Her teacher loved the art of teaching and the children she taught. The principal made himself available to many of the kindergarteners 'special days' -- including reading to them in pajamas on their Pajama Day, and becoming a human sundae when they met their reading goal! The staff was kind and helpful, and I felt comfortable with the security that is such a necessity in today's world.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 27, 2005

Fillmore is an average elementary school with about 40 very active families who work to enhance the children's educational experience. Fillmore has a high ESL rate. There is no program of note for the gifted like there was several years ago. Fillmore has lost many of its experienced teachers this year to buy outs. It lost the full day kindergarten and its high quality teacher. It is a shame that these staff losses have occurred and the rate in English Language Learners has increased to, I believe, over 40%, which refocuses teacher efforts on test scores. There is no room to differentiate the students and the things that drew students to this building no longer exist. Art, music & library programs are very average. ID of special ed and/or gifted not a priority. Too many changes, too fast. Need strong in building models for positive growth.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 14, 2004

I orignally put my children in a charter school because I was told how much better these schools were for our children. Well I have to admit I was wrong. We had our daughters in the charter school for one year. We have since had our girls at Fillmore this is there 2nd year, and I have to say I couldn't be happier. The staff at Fillmore looks at each child as an individual and supports and encourages there strengths and works very hard on there weaknesses in the most gentle, caring, way. And this may not be important to most but it is to me. Fillmore staff knew our children's names within 2 days the charter still still didn't get them right at the end of the year. Made me feel bad for our children, they couldn't understand how they could mix them up. Yes they are twins but do not look anything alike. I would reccomend Fillmore to everyone who asks! Great Job Mr. Iris and staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2014.

27 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
37%

2013

 
 
39%

2012

 
 
38%

2011

 
 
38%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

26 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
54%

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
55%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

29 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
21%

2013

 
 
28%

2012

 
 
41%

2011

 
 
41%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2014.

29 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
45%

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
64%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2014.

29 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
28%

2013

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
43%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

32 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
22%

2013

 
 
34%

2012

 
 
22%

2011

 
 
22%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2014.

32 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
50%

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
54%
Science

The state average for Science was 17% in 2014.

36 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
6%

2013

 
 
12%

2011

 
 
12%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Below average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

19%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Michigan. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Below Average

Reading growth at this school

Below Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 net growth (significant improvement/improvement - significant decrease/decrease) according to Performance Level Changes from the state of Michigan.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 72% 69%
African-American 11% 18%
Asian 10% 3%
Multiracial 4% 2%
Hispanic 3% 6%
American Indian 0% 1%
Native Hawaiian N/A 0%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 54%N/A48%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Ms. Deana Tuczek
Fax number
  • (586) 698-4336

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

8655 Irving Rd
Sterling Heights, MI 48312
Website: Click here
Phone: (586) 825-2860

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Maple Lane School
Sterling Heights, MI


Willow Woods Elementary School
Sterling Heights, MI


Bozymowski Center
Sterling Heights, MI



Huron Academy
Sterling Heights, MI



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT