Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Grissom Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 748 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 5, 2013

This school is amazing. I love this school, it is just epic. The tutoring and help they offer here is very cool. I could not get this type of education anywhere else. Because of the helpful teachers and other staff , My grades have gone from D's to A's. This school really needs $5000 . They are already one of the best schools in the world but they could improve BIG TIME with $5000.


Posted February 14, 2013

This is a pretty good school. The band program is great. The sports offered are Track, Basketball, Football, and Volleyball. The new principal motivates the students to "be the best you can be." The electives are more opened up in 8th grade. The school is really starting to incorporate more technology/engineering and is boosting the language arts programs for 6th and 7th graders. A good amount of new teachers are usually mixed in every year. Vocabulary is also being enhanced daily with DAVE(Daily Academic Vocabulary Exploration). One of the only down sides to the school and the entire district is the foreign language program. I only say this because students only have the choice of Spanish. So whether the student is interested or not in Spanish, they must take at least 2 high school credits of Spanish, and 1 is offered in the 8th grade. Maybe WCS will soon be able to add more languages to the foreign language program such as French, Arabic, German, and Chinese. 8th grade students are allowed to earn up to 3 high school credits ( Science, Spanish, and Algebra) Some electives offered are engineering, computers, band, gym, health, and art. Student Council and Ecology Club are clubs.


Posted February 10, 2012

This school is one of the best schools my daughter and son has ever been to. They also went to Flynn but they got pressured into drugs
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 7, 2010

This school is worse than its dismal rating, avoid horrible teachers like David Luedtke if you can. Strongly advise using schools of choice to get out of Grissom
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2009

The school really isn't that bad. I'm moving into the eigth grade this year. Of course not everyone is going to have a good time in any school, but that doesn't mean the school is 'horrific'. You can only do so much about the bullies, only so much. They'll keep coming back, no matter what you do. Aha, kids these days. I actually like the school, disappointed with the lack of activities and clubs. And not much motivation, but other than that it's a pretty good school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 22, 2009

As a parent of a sixth grader, I experienced a horrific year with some staff members at Grissom. Some were biased, unpleasant, and highly unprofessional.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2009

I think it's a very great school Mr.Lupe and Mrs.Beebee are probably the best principals you could ask for. Out of all the programs the band program is the best. Mrs.Zachary, the current band instruction is amazing. [ Yes, I am in band and play the oboe.] Without her our band would not be where it is. And most of the students that are in the highest band in warren mott have come from Grissom bands.We could probably use a few new teachers [ and a few students replaced...not possible but dreams sometimes do come true.] But other than that It's a fun school to be in and i'm very happy to be attending it.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 15, 2008

it is exelent i get the help i need i liked how everyone gretted us 6th graders last year.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 8, 2008

Out of the 12 years I have been sending my children to school. We finally went to Grissom and Mrs. Beebee and the rest of the teachers and staff made this last year the best and easiest year I have ever had. I was starting to hate school more than when I went to school. Know my last is starting High school and I am very sad that we had to leave Grissom. keep up the good work and I hope to stop by and see all of you soon. Have a great year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 16, 2007

The quality of academic programs could be better. It is not the best school to go to. The availability of extracurricular activities is really excellent. The level of parent involvement is really beneficial. numerous parents love to help out. I think that really helps the school. The school needs a lot of work. There are is a lot of bullying going on at this school. They have to work on getting the bullying under control. If you want your child to go to this school I think that you should think twice. Would you want your child to go to this school?; because I know that I would not That is why I am not letting my child go to this school any more.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2006

well, i believe that this school isn't good, the band is an excellent program, and since my son and i talk about this stuff, i can get an understanding of the school, there are bullys and the school and distractions to the student's education, and if you want your kids to go to a collage then they will have to work really hard, it is better off if you send your kids to a different district or a private school, my son is out of grissom and has moved onto a private school and he likes that much better so think hard before you choose this school, think about the future, from concerened parent
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 8, 2006

I think this school is great. The Band program is wonderful and my child is getting help in their subject by joining the after school Homework Study Group. They are also meeting privtly with their teachers after school. There are many extra programs too, such as independant study, yearbook club, ski club, and a ton more. And last but not least, they have an assistant principal who was a former military leader, so he really knows how to dicipline them!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted January 21, 2005

The school overall is very nice. Very good classes and they give your child the attention he/she needs. They have many after school programs, such as Ski Club, Spirit Club, Library Club, Yearbook Club, and many sports teams. The lunch menus are wonderful. They have a wonderful band program, and also a choir. The bands are very advanced for their ages. Great School!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 10, 2005

This school is amazing! The best school my child has been to! The teachers are amazing, and Warren Consolidated in general is great. The Grissom Bands are great, and their director, is wonderful! The Assistant Principal is great at discipline,he's harsh, but he get's the point across! The teachers are so nice, and very helpful, and understanding. I give this school a 5!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 42% in 2014.

217 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
25%

2013

 
 
21%

2012

 
 
30%

2011

 
 
30%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2014.

216 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
60%

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
57%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 27% in 2014.

225 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
17%

2013

 
 
17%

2011

 
 
20%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 39% in 2014.

217 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
20%

2013

 
 
30%

2012

 
 
31%

2011

 
 
31%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

217 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
44%

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
49%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

216 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
47%

2013

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
40%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 35% in 2014.

197 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
26%

2013

 
 
20%

2012

 
 
21%

2011

 
 
21%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2014.

199 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
58%

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
48%
Science

The state average for Science was 20% in 2014.

207 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
16%

2013

 
 
12%

2011

 
 
11%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

19%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Michigan. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 net growth (significant improvement/improvement - significant decrease/decrease) according to Performance Level Changes from the state of Michigan.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 75% 69%
African-American 10% 18%
Asian 10% 3%
Hispanic 2% 6%
Multiracial 2% 2%
Native Hawaiian 1% 0%
American Indian 0% 1%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 68%N/A48%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr. Joseph Konal
Fax number
  • (586) 698-4313

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

35701 Ryan Rd
Sterling Heights, MI 48310
Website: Click here
Phone: (586) 698-4310

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Flynn Middle School
Sterling Heights, MI





Frank Jeannette Jr. High School
Sterling Heights, MI


Carleton Middle School
Sterling Heights, MI


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT