Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
6-8
Public
Sterling Heights, MI
Students enrolled: 748

4 stars
Based on 16 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


19 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Grissom Middle School 5

Posted October 05, 2013
- a community member
This school is amazing. I love this school, it is just epic. The tutoring and help they offer here is very cool. I could not get this type of education anywhere else. Because of the helpful teachers and other staff , My grades have gone from D's to A's. This school really needs $5000 . They are already one of the best schools in the world but they could improve BIG TIME with $5000.

Grissom Middle School 5

Posted February 14, 2013
- a community member
This is a pretty good school. The band program is great. The sports offered are Track, Basketball, Football, and Volleyball. The new principal motivates the students to "be the best you can be." The electives are more opened up in 8th grade. The school is really starting to incorporate more technology/engineering and is boosting the language arts programs for 6th and 7th graders. A good amount of new teachers are usually mixed in every year. Vocabulary is also being enhanced daily with DAVE(Daily Academic Vocabulary Exploration). One of the only down sides to the school and the entire district is the foreign language program. I only say this because students only have the choice of Spanish. So whether the student is interested or not in Spanish, they must take at least 2 high school credits of Spanish, and 1 is offered in the 8th grade. Maybe WCS will soon be able to add more languages to the foreign language program such as French, Arabic, German, and Chinese. 8th grade students are allowed to earn up to 3 high school credits ( Science, Spanish, and Algebra) Some electives offered are engineering, computers, band, gym, health, and art. Student Council and Ecology Club are clubs.


Grissom Middle School 5

Posted February 10, 2012
- a parent
This school is one of the best schools my daughter and son has ever been to. They also went to Flynn but they got pressured into drugs

Grissom Middle School 1

Posted September 07, 2010
- a parent
This school is worse than its dismal rating, avoid horrible teachers like David Luedtke if you can. Strongly advise using schools of choice to get out of Grissom

Grissom Middle School 4

Posted August 05, 2009
- a student
The school really isn't that bad. I'm moving into the eigth grade this year. Of course not everyone is going to have a good time in any school, but that doesn't mean the school is 'horrific'. You can only do so much about the bullies, only so much. They'll keep coming back, no matter what you do. Aha, kids these days. I actually like the school, disappointed with the lack of activities and clubs. And not much motivation, but other than that it's a pretty good school.


Grissom Middle School 0
no rating

Posted July 22, 2009
- a parent
As a parent of a sixth grader, I experienced a horrific year with some staff members at Grissom. Some were biased, unpleasant, and highly unprofessional.

Grissom Middle School 0
no rating

Posted April 25, 2009
- a student
I think it's a very great school Mr.Lupe and Mrs.Beebee are probably the best principals you could ask for. Out of all the programs the band program is the best. Mrs.Zachary, the current band instruction is amazing. [ Yes, I am in band and play the oboe.] Without her our band would not be where it is. And most of the students that are in the highest band in warren mott have come from Grissom bands.We could probably use a few new teachers [ and a few students replaced...not possible but dreams sometimes do come true.] But other than that It's a fun school to be in and i'm very happy to be attending it.

Grissom Middle School 5

Posted February 20, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.


Grissom Middle School 5

Posted January 30, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Grissom Middle School 3

Posted January 18, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Grissom Middle School
35701 Ryan Road, Sterling Heights, MI  48310
(586) 698-4310
Last modified Grissom Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Grissom Middle School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 19 reviews. Top