Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Parkway Christian School

Private | PK-12

 

Be sure to visit

 

Living in Sterling Heights

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $116,300. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $730.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 12, 2014

This is a school where your kids can be educated and they can be safe. But, do not choose this school in the hope that it will be the primary example of Christian character, leadership, or values. At best, the individuals that you will look to are just as flawed as you and sometimes more. You know that you are a work in progress, they may not. People are people. And, people run Christian schools. If you can respect Parkway for what it is, and be blessed by some prayer or act of kindness In the interim, then you are ahead of the game. Realize one thing when choosing Parkway Christian School, and then choose Parkway Christian School. It is business first. If I am wrong, then it is a matter of the wheat and the tare growing together, and the Lord will separate it all. In which case, I pray that the Lord hurry. Amen. Or, dear Lord provide a richer, more rounded, truly Christian educational opportunity for our family. Amen.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 30, 2012

This school revolves around sports, and the budget is drained by sports. People who are great at sports get let off easy. Needless to say, all three of my children will now be attending cranbrook or country day. All the trouble for the money isn't worth it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 26, 2009

This is a wonderful school my daughter is at peace in this school, which in turn her grades are great, this is my daugher senior year and I'm proud to be a parent of a student at Parkview Chistian High School wish I would of discover the school when my child was in elementary school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 5, 2006

The school is very dirty. The elementary is wonderful, but the middle school and high school all revolve around one's athletic achievements. And its only a class D school! Moreover, there is an emphasis placed on male sports. The baseball field recently recieeve brand new dugouts, while the girl's softball diamond has old wooden benches. As a former student of this school, I can state that the teachers do their best to make it a good experience, but they are underpaid (since the football team drains the budget) and often have large classes. My recommendation? Good for elementary, but not for grades 7-12.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted January 27, 2006

WOW, is all i have to say because zoe is a a school that is all about sports. The teachers do not give enough homework.(no offense dawg) well im out, PEACE.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 2, 2005

A truly wonderful elementary school. The staff is friendly and helpful. My child's teachers have gone out of their way to make themselves available to me with any concerns I've had. However, there is an over-emphasis on sports. Kids who are athletically inclined seem to fit in better than the non-athlete.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 19, 2005

I think Zoe is a wonderful school for the cost. I love the teachers, I love the cirriculum and the staff. I couldn't ask for a better school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 18, 2005

My son started kindergarten this year and we could not be happier. The curicullum is wonderful (Abeka)! We are only 6 months into the school year and my son is reading! It is amazing how quickly and effiently the children are taught. The teachers are very helpful and attentive to the children. My son is also being taught about Jesus in many aspects of the school day. Very pleased with this school and would recommend it to anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 3, 2005

Sports players are favored. Rules aren't enforced and students who are favored are always let off easy.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 21, 2004

elementary school is great, middle and high schools are suffering. Too much emphasis on sports, and they don't seem willing to replace problem teachers despite numerous complaints. Administration isn't usually willing to work out problems with parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Christian
Associations
  • ACSI

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

14500 Metropolitan Pkwy
Sterling Heights, MI 48312
Phone: (586) 446-9900

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Parkway Christian School
Sterling Heights, MI


Bruce Collins Elementary School
Sterling Heights, MI


Sterling Heights Senior H.S.
Sterling Heights, MI


Black Elementary School
Sterling Heights, MI


Bozymowski Center
Sterling Heights, MI


Oakbrook Elementary School
Sterling Heights, MI


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT