Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
16 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 16 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Swartz Creek High School 3

Posted April 15, 2014
- a parent
Why is nobody posting about Swartz Creek Schools? We are trying to find info about the middle and high schools and there have been no postings in years. Someone please, please post so we have an idea! We need to make a decision soon....there or Durand?

Swartz Creek High School 3

Posted May 10, 2011
- a parent
If you add the intrest it is $18 million and the addition will be used only by a select few students. I just want to 20 houses in my neighborhood and 1/2 the people are saying NO. Theu also want to know WHERE IS MY VOTE. The citizens of Swartz-Creek WANT A VOTE on 18 million. My home number is 810-630-8888 I am working on the petition right now. If you want to stop them call me.


Swartz Creek High School 2

Posted April 22, 2008
- a student
I'm a student at Swartz Creek High School, and I've been learning ever since my Freshman year that the people who should have the most say are the ones who are affected by it. Us students, are lowest on the food chain. Therefore, we are affected the most. I used to enjoy Swartz Creek, throughout my middle school career. But now, I see how far we've fallen in the educational department. Some of our teachers, are the most dedicated people involved in my life. While the rest of them, don't even belong here. They don't want to teach, they have told us this to our faces during class. So why are they here? In brutal honesty, our school is physically and educationally falling to peices. It's awful to be here. Something must be done! And besides, our principal is a tyrant.

Swartz Creek High School 1

Posted March 14, 2008
- a parent
This school has a huge drug problem that does not seem to be addressed. Administrators feel that it is necessaary to send struggling students over to the alternative school rather than supporting them. The student success program does not work for all students, therefore individual needs are not met.

Swartz Creek High School 2

Posted October 28, 2007
- a teacher
As a teacher and parent, I was not impressed with Swartz Creek High School. Only a few teachers seemed to really care about my child's success. The rest acted as if they did not have the time of the day for him or myself. I'm not sure, but this could be due to overcrowding. A bigger school is much needed. There is also a huge problem with drugs that the school refuses to address. My son gave me many names of students that were involved and these names were passed on to school officials, but nothing was done. I think that at least the parents should have been notified to give them an opportunity to handle allegations in their own manner. Pretty much myself and others were not impressed!


Swartz Creek High School 4

Posted April 10, 2006
- a parent
I have had a great experience with the high school. I feel like my concerns are heard and addressed in a timely fashion. Compared to other schools in the county, I'm glad my child attends Swartz Creek.

Swartz Creek High School 2

Posted February 02, 2006
- a parent
Too many kids in such a small old school. This district has overgrown its building. Class room sizes to big with out of date science rooms. Teachers are great! But, it is time for a tremedous update building wise. Sports activities have a hard time competing with surrounding schools! Also needs to change!

Swartz Creek High School 4

Posted September 27, 2005
- a parent
Fine school, but needs to concentrate on our athletics. Terrible coaching is not getting the best out of our athlets thus when a child is seen to be good the parents are moving him or her to another school. I.E. you get what u pay for


Swartz Creek High School 4

Posted December 09, 2004
- a parent
I am a graduate of swartz creek high myself and now have 2 boys in the high school. I think this school is great except for 1 thing. The football program. Both my boys play football; in fact my youngest was on the winning 2004 freshman team this year- but the coaching situation needs to be addressed. There are a lot of parents who do not say anything for fear of their kids not playing. I'm asking..If you have a problem w/ your childs coach...Speak up...It needs to be addressed.

Swartz Creek High School 2

Posted October 01, 2004
- a parent
My child is a Freshman. I have felt nothing but disappointment since he started. The environment is uncaring and very impersonal. Students dress in a crude manner and the lanquage they use is disturbing. It is nearly impossible to get anywhere near the school to drop off or pick up students. There should be some regulations for which way to go or something. I have yet to get any information on extracurricular activities available to students. From the initial meeting with the counselor who told me that 1000s of kids have survived this school and mine would too, I have been very unimpressed. That was certainly not the response I would have expected to my inquiry of how we could make the transition to this school go smoothly.

Nearby schools

Swartz Creek High School
1 Dragon Drive, Swartz Creek, MI  48473
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 16 reviews. (810) 591-1801
Last modified Swartz Creek High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top