Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Eureka Heights Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 269 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 23, 2012

Great school, I love the principal, she is great, a lot of involvement from her and the teachers! My son is in the 2nd grade and he loves going to school everyday. Small, clean, friendly and they care about my son, the want him to secede!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 15, 2011

Eureka heights is a great school. Especially because it got a new principle Mrs.Hall. She is so good that on half days she calls us to let us know its a half day. She is so nice and caring. The school isnt that strict anymore. The teachers are amazing! They taught me daughter everythig they needs> I defnitly reccomend this school!!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 13, 2011

My son is finishing his first year at Eureka Heights and I've been mostly pleased with his experience there. His teacher, Ms. Misko, was GREAT! As was her assistant, Ms. Barzini, and his resource room teacher, Ms. Beddingfield. The principle, Ms. Kunzi, leaves A LOT to be desired, but, fortunately, I did not have to deal much with her over the school year. Parent involvement, from what I've seen, has been limited to same group of parents. As long as you're involved, and you reach out to the teachers, your child should receive a great education at Eureka Heights.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 13, 2009

Best school ever if your an involved parent. My kids still love going back and visiting. I still have one kid there. I've had 5 kids total going through this school. I think your lucky to have your kids experience this school. Great Teachers, Great parent involved, Great things with kid involvement. My daughter said 'It was an amazing experience... and she will NEVER forget Elementary School. Including Kindergarden and pre-school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2009

I agree, this school is just like a boot camp. Kindergarden students are given detention for pittly incendences. The principal supports silent lunches. If these children are supposed to pay attention and focus all day, they need lunch and recess to unwind, just like adults. The education I feel is great, however they need to work on discipline. A Parent
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 24, 2008

We have had our children in this school for four years. This year we have had enough and can't wait to leave Eureka Heights! It's just like boot camp, and nobody cares about the students. I wouldnt recommend anybody send thier children there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2007

I attended this school as a grade schooler, some of the same teachers are still there after 17 years. While I feel that it is a good school I personally had communication issues,with both teachers my son had in second and third grade. Example; no return calls, no notes home regarding problems and no acknowledgement while standing in the same hallway. The kindergarden teachers were wonderful, let's see what this year brings.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 2, 2006

This school is nice and clean. School seems to be well organized. I love the teachers. They really do care about their students education. Parents think all they have to do is send their kids to school and leave it up to the teachers to teach but if you are a parent that works with the teachers in the learning process, then this school is for you. The teachers are so caring and understanding to the kids needs.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2014.

51 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
29%

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
25%

2011

 
 
25%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

51 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
43%

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
49%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

42 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
31%

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
16%

2011

 
 
16%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2014.

41 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
51%

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
51%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2014.

41 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
46%

2013

 
 
24%

2011

 
 
15%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

47 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
45%

2013

 
 
35%

2012

 
 
37%

2011

 
 
37%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2014.

46 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
61%

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
54%
Science

The state average for Science was 17% in 2014.

50 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
10%

2013

 
 
2%

2011

 
 
5%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

19%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Michigan. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 net growth (significant improvement/improvement - significant decrease/decrease) according to Performance Level Changes from the state of Michigan.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 55% 69%
African-American 23% 18%
Hispanic 15% 6%
Asian 3% 3%
Multiracial 3% 2%
American Indian N/A 1%
Native Hawaiian N/A 0%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 83%N/A48%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Special education
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Stacie Hall
Fax number
  • (734) 946-6591

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special education

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

25125 Eureka Road
Taylor, MI 48180
Phone: (734) 946-6597

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Cornerstone Academy
Riverview, MI




Trillium Academy
Taylor, MI



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT