Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

John F. Kennedy High School

Public | 9-12 | 1155 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

26 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 5, 2013

My child is in the honors and advanced classes and we are pleased with the education he is receiving. The teachers are wonderful and care about the kids. Certainly, there are problems but they are the same problems other schools face. My son is in band, roboticsn quiz bowl and a host of other activities. High school is what you make of it and the people you surround yourself with.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 23, 2013

Kennedy is not as bad as everyone says it is....It depends on who you hangout with. And the work isn't that hard. its common sense.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 2, 2012

I was a student at John F. Kennedy and if I could use one word for it it would stressful. The classes were severely over sized and it made it very difficult for teachers to give students the individual attention they deserved. Classes were often loud and disruptive, often it feels like the teachers were on their last line and had just given up, and I do not blame them because of what they're going through. That is not to say that there weren't any good teachers, there were plenty of amazing teachers, but they tended to be on the higher up classes (such as AP and advanced.) The school tended to focus on things that did not matter, such as rules with hats and skirt lengths, rather than the real issues of bullying and disruptive behavior. They also had it in place where only one bathroom was open for most of the day while having a rule if you were tardy to class once (the first time, even) you risked a detention, while limiting passes to the restroom. This not only made students feel untrusted and looked down upon by getting the basic right of using a public restroom taken away, it made us feel more stressed than ever. I do not suggest this school at all.


Posted May 23, 2012

I wish to stay anonymous but I would like to express my concern with the secretary, Barb I believe her name is who works in the main office. She is really rude, and does not make a first good impression for the school. Common courtesy for visitors of the school whether, parents, family members, students, sub teachers is key. Next time I will be more than happy to report her to the principal.


Posted September 5, 2011

I am a staff member (I intend to stay anonymous) I must agree with the other post....Why hasn't the state taken this school? If a student gets in trouble its automatic suspension...the students tested at Kennedy compare to that of Detroit public school students.While taylor is becoming the city on the grow, Kennedy is becoming why our children are graduating with a ninth grade education, if they graduate at all...very sad.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted March 19, 2011

While Kennedy comes with all the drama of your average high school, it's the staff and their additude that set it a part. If you are respectful and are willing to work for what you want, they will do everything in their power to lift you up as high as you can go and give you as many opportunities as possible.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 30, 2010

i went there from 09-10 and it was the worse school ive ever seen i dont know why the state hasn't taken over the school yet
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 3, 2010

Kennedy was a good school when my kids were there.All of my kids went to college and two graduated from college and have good jobs. The third child has just completed her sophmore year at Wayne State making the dean`s list every semester. The kids have to have some motivation to do things theirselves along with their parents giving a dam about them. Parents need to be parents not their kids friend. Proud graduate of 1979
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 26, 2010

I am a former student at JFK and am currently attending Thornapple Kellog High in Middleville. I personaly hated the school. It had a bad grading system, too big of classes and funding for the school was unexceptable for other standards. There had been some great teachers in the process such as Mr.Sommerville, Mrs.Stoddard, Mr.Jasue and many other satff members. Overall the school needs great improvement


Posted December 12, 2009

the school has too much disipline to me...most of the teachers really dont care about these kids at all....they dont give them thst attention that the students need but i will say those classes are way too big.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 3, 2009

This school shows us to be a big disappointment. No discipline, Class size are to big. Not enough teaching. We will not be back next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 28, 2009

I'm a former student of JFK; I passed four AP tests, know many of the teachers, and am currently at WSU, looking at graduate schools. I think a few teachers are remiss in their duties, especially those near retirement who just want to sit at home and nap rather than teach. However, to counter that, there are many more teachers that truly love their students and respect their job. I think the biggest problem in this IS parents. And unfortunately, it's something that no one BUT those parents can resolve. Even though I had one or two terrible teachers that only required cross words and chapter definitions to be written, my father demanded I read until I learned that information. Parents, YOU instill the importance of knowledge in your children. Not teachers. You can make the best of ANY situation. Teachers should be thought of as 'facilitators' of information not educators.


Posted May 29, 2009

The school is very unsatisfactory in comparison to other schools. The classes are way too long, and the students do not seem to be learning. In addition, class difficulty is nonexistent. Extra credit is offered merely doing homework or showing up for tests. Furthermore, classes are overcrowded, and discipline is minimal. All in all, this school needs great improvement.


Posted June 25, 2008

I am a mother of a Jr. I want to Thank all His teachers for noticing my son had a learning disability he went from all E's to Straight A's in two semesters. Thanks to Major and Sgt. without you two my son wouldn't have made it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 4, 2008

Im currently a freshman at Jfk. I absolutely love it! I feel much safer here than I would've at Truman. We are never locked down or being searched for weeks at a time by the police. Friends of mine at Truman are thinking of switching just for there safety! I high recommend Kennedy.!
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 27, 2008

It is not necessarily all the faculties fault that the school does meet standards. The students do not have any respect for properties such as books and desks nor do they have any respect towards the teachers as well. Most students do not put forth an effort towards their schoolwork and yet they still blame the teachers.I understand that all the teachers are not perfect,but it's time for students to take responsibility for their own actions, and they must want to learn. I'm not saying that all students are lazy, and I'm not saying that it is all the teachers' fault that students do not learn, but everyone is responsible for striving for his/her own excellence.


Posted December 13, 2007

I do not like the block scheduling, because it offers too few classes per day, with each class being too long. There are some excellent faculty members, including counselors Mr. Straub and Ms. Rush. The discipline in some classes is terrible. Overall, I am impressed with the care and expertise of the faculty and staff, as observed during conferences and other personal contact.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2007

No wrestling team and teachers that do not care about the students ability to continue education.


Posted October 4, 2007

There is no support for the arts / drama programs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 8, 2007

Parent involvement is low and thats the way they want it. The ROTC is all bureaucratic politics and personally I would keep a good eye on any child of mine in that program.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 26% in 2014.

322 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
14%

2013

 
 
15%

2011

 
 
21%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 29% in 2014.

246 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
20%

2013

 
 
14%

2012

 
 
25%

2011

 
 
13%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 59% in 2014.

247 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
52%

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
33%
Science

The state average for Science was 28% in 2014.

246 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
17%

2013

 
 
18%

2012

 
 
22%

2011

 
 
10%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 44% in 2014.

246 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
30%

2013

 
 
30%

2012

 
 
34%

2011

 
 
19%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2014.

247 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
50%

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
41%

2011

 
 
31%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Merit Examination (MME) to assess students in grade 11 in reading, writing, math, science and social studies. The MME is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MME test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

All Students20%
Female15%
Male24%
African American3%
Asiann/a
Hispanic18%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White22%
Economically disadvantaged17%
Students with disabilities4%
Students without disabilities21%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Homelessn/a

Reading

All Students52%
Female54%
Male50%
African American23%
Asiann/a
Hispanic55%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White57%
Economically disadvantaged47%
Students with disabilities20%
Students without disabilities55%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Homelessn/a

Science

All Students17%
Female10%
Male23%
African American0%
Asiann/a
Hispanic9%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White20%
Economically disadvantaged12%
Students with disabilities8%
Students without disabilities18%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Homelessn/a

Social Studies

All Students30%
Female26%
Male35%
African American3%
Asiann/a
Hispanic36%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White35%
Economically disadvantaged25%
Students with disabilities12%
Students without disabilities32%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Homelessn/a

Writing

All Students50%
Female53%
Male47%
African American25%
Asiann/a
Hispanic55%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White53%
Economically disadvantaged48%
Students with disabilities12%
Students without disabilities54%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Homelessn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Merit Examination (MME) to assess students in grade 11 in reading, writing, math, science and social studies. The MME is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MME test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
College readiness rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

19%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Michigan. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

College readiness rating 20132What's this?

College readiness rating combines this high school's graduation rates with data about college entrance exams, both of which are indicators of how well schools are preparing students for success in college and beyond.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

ACT participation

92%

Average ACT score

18

Graduation rate

75%


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

2 This rating is based on composite ACT scores from 2012-13 and four-year adjusted graduation rates from 2011-12. ACT participation represents the percentage of 11th graders taking the ACT. Because the ACT is mandated in Michigan high schools, ACT participation is NOT included in the GreatSchools rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 69% 69%
African-American 22% 18%
Hispanic 6% 6%
Asian 2% 3%
Multiracial 1% 2%
American Indian 0% 1%
Native Hawaiian N/A 0%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 61%N/A48%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Special education
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Tommie Saylor
Fax number
  • (734) 374-1676

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special education

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

13505 J F Kennedy Dr
Taylor, MI 48180
Phone: (734) 374-1229

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Trillium Academy
Taylor, MI




Cornerstone Academy
Riverview, MI



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT