Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
44 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 59 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


John F. Kennedy High School 4

Posted December 11, 2015
- a community member
This school has come a long way over the years. Its now top 25% in the nation and keeps getting better. Class of 2015 had over 20 students with a 4.0 and higher.

John F. Kennedy High School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted December 09, 2015
- a parent
This school helps all students try and succeed. It also makes sure that ALL seniors apply to college every year.


John F. Kennedy High School 4

Posted December 09, 2015
- a parent
My son just graduated from this school. This school has a lot to offer. They now offer duel enrollment with Wayne County Community College and the credits all transfer. They have AP and honors classes along with a Tech center that offers free Nursing, Medical Assistant, EMT, Welding, Robotics, and much more. They also have a lot of sports and are one of the few schools that offer JROTC.

John F. Kennedy High School 4

Posted October 05, 2013
- a parent
My child is in the honors and advanced classes and we are pleased with the education he is receiving. The teachers are wonderful and care about the kids. Certainly, there are problems but they are the same problems other schools face. My son is in band, roboticsn quiz bowl and a host of other activities. High school is what you make of it and the people you surround yourself with.

John F. Kennedy High School 4

Posted August 23, 2013
- a student
Kennedy is not as bad as everyone says it is....It depends on who you hangout with. And the work isn't that hard. its common sense.


John F. Kennedy High School 2

Posted August 02, 2012
- a community member
I was a student at John F. Kennedy and if I could use one word for it it would stressful. The classes were severely over sized and it made it very difficult for teachers to give students the individual attention they deserved. Classes were often loud and disruptive, often it feels like the teachers were on their last line and had just given up, and I do not blame them because of what they're going through. That is not to say that there weren't any good teachers, there were plenty of amazing teachers, but they tended to be on the higher up classes (such as AP and advanced.) The school tended to focus on things that did not matter, such as rules with hats and skirt lengths, rather than the real issues of bullying and disruptive behavior. They also had it in place where only one bathroom was open for most of the day while having a rule if you were tardy to class once (the first time, even) you risked a detention, while limiting passes to the restroom. This not only made students feel untrusted and looked down upon by getting the basic right of using a public restroom taken away, it made us feel more stressed than ever. I do not suggest this school at all.

John F. Kennedy High School 3

Posted May 23, 2012
- a community member
I wish to stay anonymous but I would like to express my concern with the secretary, Barb I believe her name is who works in the main office. She is really rude, and does not make a first good impression for the school. Common courtesy for visitors of the school whether, parents, family members, students, sub teachers is key. Next time I will be more than happy to report her to the principal.

John F. Kennedy High School 1

Posted September 05, 2011
- a teacher
I am a staff member (I intend to stay anonymous) I must agree with the other post....Why hasn't the state taken this school? If a student gets in trouble its automatic suspension...the students tested at Kennedy compare to that of Detroit public school students.While taylor is becoming the city on the grow, Kennedy is becoming why our children are graduating with a ninth grade education, if they graduate at all...very sad.


John F. Kennedy High School 4

Posted March 19, 2011
- a student
While Kennedy comes with all the drama of your average high school, it's the staff and their additude that set it a part. If you are respectful and are willing to work for what you want, they will do everything in their power to lift you up as high as you can go and give you as many opportunities as possible.

John F. Kennedy High School 1

Posted July 30, 2010
- a student
i went there from 09-10 and it was the worse school ive ever seen i dont know why the state hasn't taken over the school yet

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

John F. Kennedy High School
13505 J F Kennedy Dr, Taylor, MI  48180
(734) 374-1229
Last modified John F. Kennedy High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
John F. Kennedy High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 59 reviews. Top