Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Robert J. West Middle School

Public | 7-8 | 617 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 25, 2012

I attended west 7th & 8th grade and I thought it was really awesome ! Some of the teachers were really nice and cared about you , & would help with anything , even if it wasn't school related. There's sports , groups like student council, drama, etc. The principals are very nice, yet still discipline well( when needed). Whenever theres a problem there on it. West provides a fun, culturally diverse learning experience. I think not only this school but the hole district dosnt treat there teachers well enough , which may cause them to lose intrest in teaching, but besides that , Great school.


Posted November 27, 2011

The teachers are cool and everything!Mr. Wegher is awesome and so is Mrs. Kaechele! I love west so much that I don't want to leave but unfortunetly next year I have to.That is if I pass!


Posted May 7, 2010

I would not recommend this school. The kids get in trouble for every little thing. It is not a good learning environment. My daughter had a note from the dr so she could use the bathroom still they would not let her use the bathroom.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 22, 2010

Theres not much to say about my school other than its a wonderful school. The principal mr.Wiltse leaves messages regarding snow days half days picture day and everything so you always know whats going on. The teachers there are very good and i learn something every day! i have made so many friends and i feel comfortable at school. West is in a nice area (unlike hoover) and i would recommend for anyones child to go to west. I would stay at west forever if i could
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 24, 2009

Well all i have to say about this school is they have alot of patiences with teenagers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 13, 2009

I attended 7th and part of 8th at West. Coming from another school district I learned more in Taylor schools then I did all of my years of school. The classwork was challenging but not overwhelming. The teachers cared and when I was struggling both personally and educationally they were there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 16, 2007

LAst year when my daughter first attended she had a great experience with teachers, the principals and counselor. this year I regret to say she has had a very emotional time with some of the teachers and the way she is treated. I am very disappointed in what I have seen so far. I have also asked for help from the school to look into 'certain' things
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 28, 2007

i went to this school four years ago it has some of the best teachers you will ever find they will help with anything they can to make sure your child has the best education.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 1, 2004

My school quality is pretty good. My school has an excellent teaching staff. I also have a great principal. But one not so good thing about my school is the environment. If you could look at the ceiling you would know what I'm talking about. Some of the tiles are falling. My school is also very hot in the summer, but this could all change if the bond would pass. Please if there is any way you could help. Please do so!
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Math

The state average for Math was 39% in 2014.

269 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
24%

2013

 
 
28%

2012

 
 
33%

2011

 
 
33%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

261 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
48%

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
51%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

259 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
39%

2013

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
38%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 35% in 2014.

262 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
23%

2013

 
 
21%

2012

 
 
17%

2011

 
 
17%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2014.

264 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
68%

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
52%
Science

The state average for Science was 20% in 2014.

271 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
11%

2013

 
 
9%

2011

 
 
9%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

19%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Michigan. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Above average

Reading growth at this school

Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 net growth (significant improvement/improvement - significant decrease/decrease) according to Performance Level Changes from the state of Michigan.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 66% 69%
African-American 24% 18%
Hispanic 5% 6%
Asian 2% 3%
Multiracial 2% 2%
American Indian 1% 1%
Native Hawaiian N/A 0%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 73%N/A48%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Nurse(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Special education

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
School facilities
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Patricia Kaechel
Fax number
  • (313) 291-2203

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special education

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Gym
  • Internet access
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Girls sports
  • Cheerleading
  • Swimming
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

10575 William Street
Taylor, MI 48180
Phone: (313) 295-5783

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT