Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Trillium Academy

Charter | K-12 & ungraded | 693 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Taylor

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $62,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $770.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

52 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 29, 2005

First - Great School. Now the facts. A brand new building, exciting teachers, terrific administration. My experience to date is K thru grade 2. The elementary grades allow the kids to learn reading, writing and arithmatic at their own pace based on their individual motivations. This REQUIRES constant parental involvment. If you don't want to be involved in what your children are learning from week to week then perhaps Trillium is not for you. But realize the flip-side. If you take an active role - not just 2 or 3 times a year at parent teacher conferences, then your children's potential will explode. The principal Mrs. Romanowski is a fantastic communicator and has always been available to me with little notice. A final thought...read to your child everyday and you will open the world to them and keep them sitting close to you...at least once a day. Set your expectations higher!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 22, 2005

If you feel that your kid is socially retarted or cannot make good grades or friends in a 'real' school, then Trillium Academy is for you. I am currently enrolled at Trillium in 9th grade, and I'm leaving for Truman next week. Basically, in all of my classes, I'm learning what I did in 6th and 7th grade. I'm supposed to be in 10th, so this puts me back behind even more. There is a severe lack of sports/extra curricular activities at this school. I am grateful that I am leaving. Think before sending your kids here.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted June 16, 2005

I withdrew my son this spring. Unfortunately, the school did not live up to its promises. It promised small classes - my son had almost 30 kids in his class that is not small by any means. They promised that he would be moved up to higher grades for reading - never happened. Also...the new location is next to the Taylor dump and a very large landfill. These children will be inflicted with an awful smell once spring starts. I told this to the administration and they dismissed it. Most of te educators live outside of the area and have no clue how awful the stench is once March or April rolls around.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2005

As a parent I find Trillium an excellent choice for parents who actually care about their child's education. My son loves to go to school everyday just to get the chance to learn something new and exciting, and he's only 5! The teacher/administrators are wonderful and stress the importance of parent involvement, I love that! The activities they offer give children an early jump on doing positive things, they have soccer, basketball, cheerleading, and show choir not to forget they offer Spanish in Kindergarden..My son comes home with a new phrase every week and I am so proud to be an actual part of this wonderful educational establishment. I encourage anyone who wants success for their child to look into Trillium as their school of choice.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 24, 2005

With the new administration that was implemented in late fall, the schools has made dramatic changes. The school is now focusing on why it was created, with the addition to band, touring show choir, competing cheerleading and an advanced curriculum, I am thrilled that we decided to wait to see what the new principal could do. What is even more awesome is the new developments for a brand new facility and that my child will be able to stay at Trillium for 9th grade! Everyone on staff is so supportive of my children and with each other. Trillium has truly become a community! We would recommend Trillium to any family especially if they want their children to learn in small environment, have sports, great recognition programs and a caring staff!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2005

This school has an awesome curriculum. I knew that spanish was included, but when my child came home singing a song while incorporating sign language, I was thrilled. My child's knowledge base increases dramatically almost daily. They have awesome after school activities, including show choir. It is true that there is some disorganization, but I see improvement as time passes..(after all it is a newer school...they need time to work out the bugs) I was discouraged in the beginning, but as time passes, I know my child is getting an awesome education, and the faculty is open to suggestions/ideas.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2005

I recently pulled my children from this school. While it had an incredible vision, my belief is that it will not and cannot ever be implemented. While the school touts small class sizes, that isn't the case. There is no or little structure. Adminstration is constantly changing and there is no stability. It was not unusual to come to school for the day and find your child's teacher had quit. This is traumatic on younger children and unfortunately this patterned repeated itself many times. I believed so strongly in the vision, so I kept my children in the school 2 1/2 years. The best decision my husband and I made was to pull our children. They are now adjusted and doing well in their new school. And their new schools offers much more than Trillium was able to provide despite their intentions.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 22, 2004

I feel that this is a wonderful learning environment. The teachers work very hard. The staff is very supportive of innovative strategies to improve student achievement. Every teacher, I feel, deserves a positive mention as well as a thank you from other parents. The students are dedicated, the parents are dedicated, and the school is growing. Although there are some building problems, the problems are solvable and normal for any charter school. The fact that parents are more informed about problems does not mean that they have more than other schools. We should be glad that they are so upfront and honest about future plans. I love this school and the teachers that make the magic happen.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 9, 2004

I am very concerned about my son. He attends kindergarten at this school. The art and gym teacher - Mrs. Teer is exceptional and wonderful. The spanish teacher is great. What is lacking is everything else. They advertise small classes but have jammed 27 chidren in my son's class--there are no small classes. My son was placed in a class that has 21 girls and 5 boys so his learning environment is very 'girl-friendly' and very 'boy-unfriendly'. There is very little structure and the children don't have to do anything they don't want to do. Children are constantly running around and goofing off. A child got the tip of their finger severed by a door to a bathroom between the two kindergarten classes. The school administration did not address this issue - the teachers painted a line on the floor to keep the children back but the children still play there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 15, 2004

I currently go to this school. I'm in eigth grade here and i love it! My class size is very small (there are seventeen people in my grade) and I get all of the individual help I need. The only thing I don't like is the uniforms because we have to tuck in our shirts, but thats not a big problem. My mom and I both would recommend this school to anyone.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 31, 2004

Kindergarten and pre- school is wonderful here. There is one educator per ten children. My daughter was reading very well upon entering first grade, but also upon entering the first grade she was put in a classroom of 28 kids- and growing with on educator. She wasn't allowed to have her own text books due to the class size. The teacher was unable to handle the class size and was constantly calling parents to come pick their kids up because she was severly lacking classroom management stratagies. The rules and regulations change on a weekly basis. They actually tried to change the dress code and require different, more expensive uniforms midway through the school year. This is a great place for very young kids but after kindergarten it becomes a joke. The staff lies frequently to cover their inadaquencies.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 28, 2004

There is no stability here at all you never know from one year to the next if this school will be open, and to get answers from these people is like pulling teeth. I am as many other parents are now in the process of looking for another school because we were informed that this school will no longer be here next year.They did say that there will be one next but from day one in 2002 we have been fed [many] lies.I don't even feel this is a safe place to leave our children.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2014.

47 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
49%

2013

 
 
35%

2012

 
 
13%

2011

 
 
13%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

46 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
57%

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
36%

2011

 
 
36%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

51 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
33%

2013

 
 
24%

2012

 
 
16%

2011

 
 
16%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2014.

51 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
49%

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
63%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2014.

51 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
37%

2013

 
 
20%

2011

 
 
42%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

53 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
32%

2013

 
 
21%

2012

 
 
26%

2011

 
 
26%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2014.

53 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
55%

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
70%
Science

The state average for Science was 17% in 2014.

53 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
6%

2013

 
 
7%

2011

 
 
6%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 42% in 2014.

49 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
29%

2013

 
 
33%

2012

 
 
22%

2011

 
 
22%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2014.

50 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
66%

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
54%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 27% in 2014.

52 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
6%

2013

 
 
26%

2011

 
 
7%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 39% in 2014.

54 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
24%

2013

 
 
31%

2012

 
 
29%

2011

 
 
29%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

53 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
51%

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
50%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

54 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
46%

2013

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
43%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 35% in 2014.

53 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
19%

2013

 
 
14%

2012

 
 
12%

2011

 
 
12%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2014.

52 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
65%

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
44%
Science

The state average for Science was 20% in 2014.

53 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
6%

2013

 
 
4%

2011

 
 
10%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 26% in 2014.

48 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
15%

2013

 
 
12%

2011

 
 
11%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 29% in 2014.

44 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
18%

2013

 
 
12%

2012

 
 
11%

2011

 
 
8%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 59% in 2014.

44 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
48%

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
52%
Science

The state average for Science was 28% in 2014.

44 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
18%

2013

 
 
12%

2012

 
 
10%

2011

 
 
12%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 44% in 2014.

44 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
32%

2013

 
 
36%

2012

 
 
18%

2011

 
 
37%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2014.

44 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
41%

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
41%

2011

 
 
44%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Merit Examination (MME) to assess students in grade 11 in reading, writing, math, science and social studies. The MME is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MME test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

All Students18%
Female17%
Male20%
African American0%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White21%
Economically disadvantaged20%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities19%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Homelessn/a

Reading

All Students48%
Female54%
Male40%
African American25%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White57%
Economically disadvantaged45%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities53%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Homelessn/a

Science

All Students18%
Female21%
Male15%
African American0%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White21%
Economically disadvantaged15%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities19%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Homelessn/a

Social Studies

All Students32%
Female38%
Male25%
African American8%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White39%
Economically disadvantaged35%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities36%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Homelessn/a

Writing

All Students41%
Female54%
Male25%
African American8%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White54%
Economically disadvantaged40%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities47%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Homelessn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Merit Examination (MME) to assess students in grade 11 in reading, writing, math, science and social studies. The MME is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MME test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating
College readiness rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

19%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Michigan. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Above average

Reading growth at this school

Average


College readiness rating 20133What's this?

College readiness rating combines this high school's graduation rates with data about college entrance exams, both of which are indicators of how well schools are preparing students for success in college and beyond.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

ACT participation

100%

Average ACT score

19

Graduation rate

92%


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 net growth (significant improvement/improvement - significant decrease/decrease) according to Performance Level Changes from the state of Michigan.

3 This rating is based on composite ACT scores from 2012-13 and four-year adjusted graduation rates from 2011-12. ACT participation represents the percentage of 11th graders taking the ACT. Because the ACT is mandated in Michigan high schools, ACT participation is NOT included in the GreatSchools rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 62% 69%
African-American 30% 18%
Hispanic 4% 6%
Multiracial 2% 2%
Asian 1% 3%
Native Hawaiian 1% 0%
American Indian 0% 1%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 162%N/A48%
Female 255%N/A48%
Male 245%N/A52%
Source: 1 MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Special education
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Ms. Angela Romanowski
Fax number
  • (734) 374-5025

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special education

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

15740 Racho Blvd
Taylor, MI 48180
Website: Click here
Phone: (734) 374-8222

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT