Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Quest Charter Academy

Charter | K-7 & ungraded | 705 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Taylor

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $62,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $770.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 6 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 23, 2014

My daughter graduated from Quest. When she entered High School, she was prepared to succeed academically, morally, and socially. The teachers at Quest give their all to provide students with excellent education. Great K-8 school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 6, 2013

I have four children that attend Quest 8th,7th,6th,2nd by far it is this best school they have ever been in I love the teachers and how envoled every one is in each child my kids are doing well and I have no dbout that their futures will be bright because of the education that they recived at Quest
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 18, 2013

My daughter has been at Quest for 3 years and we absolutely love it. The teachers are all very nice and seem to know not just their students but all the kids. They care about the kids and you can tell they love their school. I love how there are so many parents volunteering every time I am there. I like how they focus on morals throughout the year and honor the kids good behavior and hard work. We love this school and would recommend it to anyone!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2013

MY DAUGHTER HAS BEEN AT THIS SCHOOL SINCE THE DOORS OPENED AND SHE HAS DONE AN EXCEPTIONAL JOB AT HER SCHOOL WORK AND ALL THE CLUB/ACTIVITIES THEY OFFER IS GREAT FOR WORKING PARENTS TODAY. IF SAD THAT I HAVE TO TAKE HER OUT THE NEXT SCHOOL YEAR BECAUSE ITS JUST TOO FAR FROM MY HOUSE. I WILL TRY DETROIT PREMIER ACADEMY AND SEE IF THEY CARE ABOUT THE STUDENTS THE SAME WAY. THANKS QUEST FOR BEING A GREAT SCHOOL
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2013

We have two children at Quest and have been there since the day the school opened. Both my children have loved all their teachers thus far. When we had a specific concern last fall, one of the deans quickly made time in her schedule to meet with us and make note of our issues and worked with us and the teachers involved to remedy the situation. My husband and I like the new approach of having "proficient classrooms" where our children are challenged and work toward goals at a pace that moves more quickly, eliminating boredom.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2013

great school. very adaptive to the students. teachers who care and parents who care a lot.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 11, 2013

My son started K this year, with no confidence and scared to try anything new. 2 years of pre-K and he wouldn't try to do anything, by christmas break at quest this year he was writing the whole alphabet, reading fluently, counting to 100 by 1's, 5's, and 10's, adding, subtracting, counting money, problem solving, putting things in alphabetical order, reading comprehension, and so much more that I can't list. I could not be happier with his progress. And he is full of confidence now! That's the best part
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 28, 2012

My son started here in 5th grade last year, after a very bad year in our local school. His teacher was wonderful and his grades shot up. His teacher called me with good news not just the bad news I was to hearing. My younger son also started K here last year and I believe his education was a lot better than he would has gotten at my local school. I am very glad I made the decision to switch to Quest.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 14, 2012

My son is in young5 and he loves it as do I. He started off not knowing his abc, count past 10, or to write his name but now only 2 weeks into the school year he knows how to do all 3 and more. I hate that we are moving out of state or else I would deffenitly keep him in this school until high school. They deffenitly give each student attention they deserve and from what I've seen irst hand, they are also teaching them manors ontop of academic. My son loves this school and his teachers to the point he begs to go back and to do his homework the second he gets home.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2011

As a mother of 5, my Quest student being my youngest child and my other children in college and high school, I have had many experiences with schools. Quest is by far the best yet. They strictly enforce their no bullying policy. There is a ZERO tolerance!!! Their teachers also take a lot of time giving the students individual attention. This is not easy but they make it happen. In my son's 3rd grade class there are 5 reading groups and 5 math groups. Everyone is reached on his or her level to help them reach their academic goals. Last but not least, they have a structured program for moral character. It's the icing on the cake.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 29, 2011

My son is in 1st grade. I'm so happy withhow my son is doing. The teachers are wonderful and the prinicpal is so dedicated to the students and provide wonderful support to all the staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 8, 2011

My son has attented this school since 2009 when it opened its doors. The rating do not tell the story of this school. We are so pleased with the education and moral focus our son has received from this school. I have recommended this school to numerous people and will continue to. The teachers are WONDERFUL. They go the extra mile to help every child individually so they can learn at their own pace.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2014.

79 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
42%

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
24%

2011

 
 
24%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

79 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
54%

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
44%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

77 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
44%

2013

 
 
30%

2012

 
 
15%

2011

 
 
15%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2014.

74 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
66%

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
52%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2014.

75 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
45%

2013

 
 
18%

2011

 
 
38%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

76 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
30%

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
18%

2011

 
 
18%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2014.

76 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
58%

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
53%
Science

The state average for Science was 17% in 2014.

78 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
17%

2013

 
 
3%

2011

 
 
6%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 42% in 2014.

76 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
51%

2013

 
 
25%

2012

 
 
14%

2011

 
 
14%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2014.

75 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
73%

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
46%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 27% in 2014.

79 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
17%

2013

 
 
17%

2011

 
 
2%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 39% in 2014.

70 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
32%

2013

 
 
27%

2012

 
 
16%

2011

 
 
16%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

69 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
45%

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
38%

2011

 
 
38%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

69 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
39%

2013

 
 
39%

2011

 
 
16%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Below average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

19%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Michigan. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Below Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 net growth (significant improvement/improvement - significant decrease/decrease) according to Performance Level Changes from the state of Michigan.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 49% 69%
African-American 40% 18%
Hispanic 6% 6%
Multiracial 5% 2%
Asian 1% 3%
American Indian 0% 1%
Native Hawaiian 0% 0%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 171%N/A48%
Female 248%N/A48%
Male 252%N/A52%
Source: 1 MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Reading specialist(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
  • Vocal lessons / coaching

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Arabic languages
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr. Ralph Garza
Fax number
  • (313) 299-0577

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • Arabic languages
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Accessible via public transportation
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Football
  • Track
  • Wrestling

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

24745 Van Born Rd
Taylor, MI 48180
Phone: (313) 299-0534

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Thorne Elementary School
Dearborn Heights, MI




Pardee School
Dearborn Heights, MI




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT