Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

State Line Christian School

Private | K-12

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

Living in Temperance

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $121,800. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $710.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 13, 2014

The solid foundation of a Christ centered education, practical academics and AMAZING teachers make this school by far an amazing chance and choice for teaching young minds the right path to head down. My son is in 7 the grade and we also attend the church. He has excelled in every area of his life. With the positive influences of Godly men and women there are NO downfalls or regrets!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 6, 2014

This school will be just fine for your child if you want them to lose their sense of humor, lose their personal character and become a zombie drone. My daughter spent 2 years there and has never been the same since. I miss my happy girl. Stateline does not produce many happy children. Their staff is also under taught. It's a shame.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 7, 2010

Stateline is a great school!The academics are rigid, the rules are rigid, and if you have no desire for your child to be challenged then in a few years you will be on this site posting a negative review. I am a graduate and also have enrolled my two young boys. The staff is second to none, tuition is fair, and they are a CHRISTIAN SCHOOL not a school that simply puts christian in their name. As a business owner I can certainly say that there academics, as well character guidelines will strongly prepare your child for the educational and business world.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2009

I am a graduate from State Line. I went there in elementary and high school but I attended a public school a few years in between. Having experienced both aspects of schools I have a very strong opinion. State Line is a great school. I think they have some strong points and other points they need to work on. But doesn't every one? State Lines strongest point academically, in my opinion, would be Bible. Your child will learn so much scripture. It helps me daily in my christian life. Also state Line is very good in English. They are years ahead of public schools! My favorite part about state line was the teachers. No where else will you find such caring people. Even now that I'm graduated I still keep in contact. This is a great school. Yes its not perfect, but neither am I! I'd recommend this school to anyone!
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 16, 2009

my grandchildren are getting an awesome education and are taught manners and kindness and many other things!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 14, 2009

whoever posted on january 8 2008 is right. as a student i know what really goes on. parents can talk all they want about 'postitive peer pressure' or students being hypocritical, but actually being there everyday for 13 straight years changes your opinion. The teachers who have been there for 10+ years are great. As for the ones just hired... well lets just say they need more work, in the mean time their teaching is terrible. Most courses are up to date. Advanced mathematics, and computer courses are lacking in new techniques and information. Science courses could use an update too. The sports are great...if you are a guy. As for the rules, well yes they are strict....very strict, but if you can bend over backwards, you will be fine. every student i know is hypocritical in their morals. Its bound to happen. >everyone< breaks the rules.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 10, 2008

The teachers are great..it is a small school and the kids enjoy a family feeling. I have four children..3rd to 10th grades..and they all love it. Bible and music are important there..The family is very important. We all go out to dinner after special events..not just the teens. Modesty is important here as are obeying the rules. If your child is defiant, he may not fit in here as the peer pressure is to be good and Godly. I was hesitant to send my kids here at first but after I did, God blessed them. Steve Hobbins is awesome. The kids all know each other..from the young grades to the older ones.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 28, 2008

I am a parent of 9 children (of which 8 are currently enrolled at SLCS) and am very please with all aspects of the school. It has structure, bible based learning, and teachers that care very much about their education. I am disturbed with the negative comments made by the other parent's response, because I have never seen any of that in this school. Try sending your child to a public school and see if you can get the same well- rounded education you do at SLCS. I have been there and done that and trust me there is no comparison. SLCS is FANTASTIC and I couldn't have asked more for my kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 3, 2008

MY experience at State Line Christian School has been incredible. As a current student in high school, I have attented this school since kidergarten. Regardless of how other individuals have commented on the negativity of this school, I am here to tell you the exact opposite. This is a Bible and Christ-centered place to be. It is filled with young people who love the Lord and are constantly serving him (at school AND home). Because of this school, I have been able to grow in Christ tremendously and have a great education. The teachers love what they do and are fantastic at it; they care for each and every one of us and are constantly encouraging us to live for the Lord and do his will. We are a small school ,but because of this, we are a family. I wouldn't choose any other school over State Line Christian.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 14, 2008

Our experience at State Line was not a good one. The academics are good, but the rigid, legalistic, joyless type of Christianity practiced here has resulted in an astonishing number of students who live one life at school and a totally different life away from school. In particular, the kids who attend the church that this school is affiliated with seem to be trying to win a contest to see how bad they can be behind their parents' and pastor's backs, and, sadly, these are the kids who are given the most attention, special treatment, and leeway at State Line. Our kids have flourished at a different Christian school nearby that theaches that being a Christian can actually be a joyful experience, not just a bunch of man-made rules.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 22, 2005

This is a nice Christian based school that has mixed traditional 3R's with Christian subject learning. Our K4 child already can read short stories and has several Bible verses memorized. Also note that our child really loves to go to school! The only thing we have reservations on is that the school is not big on parents helping in the classroom, only on field trips.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr. Marc Dalton
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Unaffiliated - Religious

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6320 Lewis Ave
Temperance, MI 48182
Phone: (734) 847-4955

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



New Bedford Academy
Lambertville, MI



Mosque of Imam Ali
Lambertville, MI



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT