Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Temperance Road Elementary School

Public | K-5 & ungraded

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 6 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 14, 2012

Temperance Road Elementary School has caring and professional staff that go the "extra mile!" My child has had a terrific experience!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 23, 2011

TRE is an exceptional school. The teachers go above and beyond to make sure their students succeed academically, socially, and emotionally, and the principal is a great support to students, parents, teachers and the PTA. There are always teachers working after school or on the weekends which shows the dedication they have to our children. Also, there is an excellent PTA that is truly a partnership between the parents, teachers, and principal. And TRE has excellent MEAP scores.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 23, 2011

This school is amazing. I can't believe what my child is learning in elementary school. I never remember learning the stuff he is learning until I was WAY older. Most importantly- he loves to go to school, loves to learn, and loves all the teachers he has had. His feelings about school and learning developed from the excellent teachers at TRE. They go out of their way to get kids to learn and to actually want to learn.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 23, 2011

A great school! Excellent teachers and principal, few behavior problems, great test scores. I have a child who struggles academically and a child who excels with ease. In my experience, the teachers at T.R.E. have treated my children as individuals. They support struggling students, but they also try to challenge the students who need it. Above all, it is apparent that the teachers care about the kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 23, 2011

Awesome school!!! Excellent principal and teachers that seem to work as a team. Many of the teachers are parents so they relate well to students and parents. There is an excellent PTA with many involved parents and teachers. This is not a "popularity club", but rather an organization that is really all about making the school a better place for all. There are many parent and grandparent volunteers that come in. I volunteer weekly and am always impressed by the learning activities I see. This is not school like I remember from my childhood. It's no wonder they have high state test scores.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 23, 2011

GREAT SCHOOL! excellent academics, effective & caring staff, involved parents, high test scores, few behavior problems. You couldn't ask for more in a school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 14, 2011

This school is amazing. The teachers and other staff members are the best you will come across. This school really love children and wants them all to succeed!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 15, 2009

This is a very nice school for the area. After moving here from another state, I don't feel they are 'ahead of the game' by any means, though. The teachers and staff members are wonderful; however, they need a new, young and energetic all day kindergarten teacher. I think that program is a little behind. The parent involvement is terrific. If you are moving to this area, this is the elementary school district to be in.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 28, 2008

This school is amazing!!their faith alone is incredible. The teachers and staff go above and beyound to accomidate parents. We feel that the most important thing to remember, when choosing a school, is the principal. The principal is what makes the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 6, 2008

I didn't realize schools like this still existed, until my 2 sons began their school careers at TRE. They have wonderful teachers, a wonderful art and music program, a fabulous computer lab, and they also teach responsibility, community awareness, and a the importance of values. The staff are always willing to answer questions and encourage parents to volunteer. They have an active PTA. We had thought about moving late last year, but I just couldn't bear the thought of taking my children out of such a great place and have to transfer them to a new school that might not meet TRE's standards. 5 stars for TRE and then some!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 4, 2006

This is a wonderful school. The principal and teachers CARE about their students. There is an intense desire for the parents and the staff at the school to work together to enhance our children's education. The teamwork is truly benefiting our child's education. There are many activities done throughout the year to provide the children with much information such as current events and science, based on the child's grade level.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
49%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
74%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
61%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
86%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
54%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
41%

2011

 
 
41%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
74%
Science

The state average for Science was 17% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
33%

2011

 
 
27%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

19%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Michigan. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Below Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 net growth (significant improvement/improvement - significant decrease/decrease) according to Performance Level Changes from the state of Michigan.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 93% 69%
Hispanic 5% 6%
Multiracial 2% 2%
African-American 0% 18%
American Indian N/A 1%
Asian N/A 3%
Native Hawaiian N/A 0%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 26%N/A48%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Special education
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr. Ken Graf
Fax number
  • (734) 850-6599

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special education

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1575 West Temperance Rd
Temperance, MI 48182
Website: Click here
Phone: (734) 850-6500

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare

Add this school to compare
ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT