Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Woodland School

Charter | K-8 | 202 students

 
 

Living in Traverse City

Situated in a small town neighborhood. The median home value is $124,600. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $794.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 14, 2011

I cant believe that this site has only given Woodland a 7. This is one of the most inovative schools in the area with amazing arts and academic programing. Kids love learning and become expert creative porblem solvers. They have choice and say in there education. Although the school does not teach to the standardized tests, the school routinely scores ABOVE the surrounding area schools much of the time. Class sizes are smaller than the average public school. Teachers get to know te students well becuase of the multiage structure. Woodland has changed both my daughters lives for the the better. My oldest left here and entered high school doing all junior level academic classes. I can not say enough!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2010

Woodland School has been a wonderful schooling experience for my son. He began going to Woodland (TBCS) when he was in the second grade. He will be entering the 8th grade next year and he has enjoyed every minute of it. Highly motivated teachers, a beautiful atmosphere as well as a unique approach to learning are amongst just a few of the many attributes that Woodland School offers. Academically, my son has gained a tremendous interest in both the sciences as well as the arts. He has become a motovated individual during his years here and I would like to thank each teacher that has played a role in his education. Teachers here really take time for each student both academically as well as personally. Looking back, I am grateful that we chose Woodland School. -Brandy Marvin
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 24, 2008

This school is one of my favorite that I sent two of my three children's too. Teachers are well organized and does spend that quality time with each child. The facility is beautiful the new auditorium they have is so nice and comfortable. I really do miss this school and wish my kids could have continue on schooling here. Out of all the schools in the area this is one of the best. Highly recommended.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 3, 2008

This school is the best. All of the teachers are smart, nice, and helpful. There are 2 ponds on the property and they spend a lot of time outdoors. You can excel as far as you need to, either staying with your age mates or going to a higher class for a few subjects. There is a lot of parent volunteering with is great. I highly recomend it.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 27, 2008

I went to school here for 4 years and am very impressed! Everyone is very friendly. Great teachers and staff! It was unique in many positive ways.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 8, 2006

This is my granddaughter's sixth year at the school, and she has two younger siblings attending, as well. Our family is thrilled with their progress, the innovative curriculum, wonderful opportunities in the arts, dedicated and caring staff and director, and the spectacular setting. High quality education with small classroom settings. Added Cross Country team this year, which was very successful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 1, 2005

My son had addended this school for a couple of years. Though the multi-level classes were a smart choice to begin with, he was being pulled up to do harder work, when he became the top of the mult-level class the work was too easy for him. I saw as he didn't care about school any more, he didn't like it, he was bored. There was no help offered to challange him, even after I asked - many times. I couldn't not sit back and watch as my son's interest in education began to fade. We removed him and he is now thriving in another school. The atmosphere at TBCS is beautiful and the parents are friendly. It is like one big happy family. The Principal was not kind when we left.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2005

ok, i as a student at this school for 9 years, feel that although there is much friendship and family relationship feeling within the class, that it is deceptive and when you meet other real kids your child will be sorely disapointed and may not fit in. we have disregarded so many rules of conduct as a school, not on the individual level. personally i think that the math and science teachers should get more than they do because most of the students are a hinderance to better students learning, and they have to watch it. when a student asks a question above the comprehension of the masses, its not the place of the class to critisize, as is costomary, and even mock the person, although the question in the first place was legitimate. all in all its a good idea for parents, but not for a student.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 13, 2004

My son has attended TBCS since the first year of its existance. He has excelled in the multiage classroom system. Now in the 8th grade is offered algebra and geometry as well as creative language arts classes. The beautiful campus adds to the ambiance but it is the extraordinary staff that makes this school special. The three distinct villages work together to familiarize the youngest students with the oldest, and it is awesome to watch the kindergarteners waving and hugging the pre-teens many of whom have participated as 'reading buddies' during the year. Volunteerism is welcomed and appreciated at TBCS. This school has a unique 'family' feeling. The vocal music department and bands are each lead by extrodinary teachers and the musical productions have been very impressive. I believe that there is a waiting list, but if you can get in you will not leave this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2004

TBCS has a different teaching style which my children learn best from. Everyone is very helpful and friendly. My children have learned so much from this school and they really enjoy being able to choose their classes which makes learning more appealing to them. They also love the week long intensives that the school has 3 times a year which gives them a break from the normal routine. I cannot say enough good things about this school and only wish they continue growing past the 8th grade before my children reach those grade levels. There aren't extra curricular sports at this school which isn't a problem because the YMCA and other various places offer sports. They do have scouting though and the leaders are wonderful and very adventurous.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2003

TBCS is an excellent school. More parents are involved with this school than any I know of. It sits on 400 acres with small lakes & ponds, which are used to study nature and different sciences. The community itself is like no other. The kids receive the very best education. The curriculum is student driven, so children can go as far as their own ability allows. Much more focus is placed on math and science than any other school in our area. I only hope a high school program is in place by the time my kids are to that point.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2014.

24 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
38%

2013

 
 
39%

2012

 
 
33%

2011

 
 
33%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

24 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
58%

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
71%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

25 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
48%

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
24%

2011

 
 
24%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2014.

25 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
76%

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
68%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2014.

25 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
56%

2013

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
68%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

23 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
35%

2013

 
 
36%

2012

 
 
19%

2011

 
 
19%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2014.

24 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
92%

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
67%
Science

The state average for Science was 17% in 2014.

24 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
17%

2013

 
 
8%

2011

 
 
19%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 42% in 2014.

25 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
36%

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
31%

2011

 
 
31%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2014.

25 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
76%

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
88%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 27% in 2014.

25 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
36%

2013

 
 
25%

2011

 
 
31%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 39% in 2014.

19 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
32%

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
42%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

19 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
63%

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
63%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

19 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
53%

2013

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
74%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 35% in 2014.

24 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
58%

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
57%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2014.

24 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
96%

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
76%
Science

The state average for Science was 20% in 2014.

24 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
50%

2013

 
 
33%

2011

 
 
43%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

19%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Michigan. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Above average

Reading growth at this school

Below Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 net growth (significant improvement/improvement - significant decrease/decrease) according to Performance Level Changes from the state of Michigan.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 91% 69%
Multiracial 5% 2%
Hispanic 2% 6%
African-American 1% 18%
American Indian 1% 1%
Asian N/A 3%
Native Hawaiian N/A 0%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 19%N/A48%
Female 247%N/A48%
Male 253%N/A52%
Source: 1 MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Nathan Tarsa
Fax number
  • (231) 947-7667

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special education
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

7224 Supply Road
Traverse City, MI 49696
Website: Click here
Phone: (231) 947-7474

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Courtade Elementary School
Traverse City, MI



Grand Traverse Academy
Traverse City, MI





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT