Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Eastern Elementary School

Public | PK-5 & ungraded | 271 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

26 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 26, 2013

Eastern is an excellent school. The teachers are dedicated and care about our children's education. Eastern also does a school-wide service program, called Heroes and every child gets involved in helping a cause. I have had 3 children attend school here and all have excelled at the Middle School. There are lots of different ways for parents to be involved if they want to, but no pressure if they can't be.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 15, 2013

I love Eastern! This school has given our kids a great educational foundation and prepared them well for middle school and high school. Not only have the teachers been wonderful but also the extras that parents do really create a great community. I think it's pretty telling that when I attend functions at the middle school and high school I look around and see mostly Eastern parents. No way would I have picked another school for my kids!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 15, 2013

I have had children at Eastern for 10 years now. My oldest two have moved on to middle school and high school, and are excelling. The teaching staff is very strong, and the office staff are helpful and friendly. Our family loves Eastern!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 4, 2013

Eastern is a very disappointing school. The kids are bullies. The teachers are uncaring. The principal lacks leadership. Neverrrrrrr again would I place my children at Eastern.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 25, 2013

i wanted to send my children to traverse heights but because of boundary lines they had to attend eastern it wasn't our 1st choice. the 3 years my kids have been there they both were recommended to be seen for add and special education because of their reading levels fell behind, the class size increased and you have split grade class rooms no wonder why they children cant stay focused. plus they create this vibe if your not involved in school activities and don't have the time to volunteer then you don't care. all they care about is test scores and cliques, and when test scores aren't perfect they blame parents for lack of involvement, why not ever point finger at teacher wasn't their job to teach my child( duh). of course a kids going to feel stupid and give up if they know their teacher doesn't believe in them, they just want more funding and grants for special education there, were the teacher is a special ed teacher half day and second grade teacher the other half of the day.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 17, 2012

I love eastern because i have best friends and I love the teachers. I've had 4 teachers there.


Posted April 26, 2011

This is supposed to be one of the best schools in the district. If that is true, I would hate to see what the other schools are like. We have been here for 3 years. The classrooms have 30+ kids in them, the kids get virtually no individual attention unless they cause trouble. Kids are purely a number. The teachers know nothing about my child's true academic abilities beyond what a standardized test tells them. No language courses, no creative thinking processes. Just read it in a book or listen to the teacher and regurgitate it for a test. They are very big on field trips which is fine if they involved something more educational than going to plays at the high school next door or to the beach or sand dunes to play for the day. Communication is horrible. The second grade teacher never told us that our daughter had been having to move to the front of the class everytime there was board work to be done because she couldn't see the board from the back of the classroom. We only found out that our daughter needed glasses 2 months into the school year when she went to the doctor for a regular check up. Think twice before enrolling your child here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2010

The teachers at Eastern are second to none! We've been at this school for 8 years now, and would highly recommend it to anyone considering moving into the area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 27, 2009

people think this school is one of the tops in the district, however, that is no longer true. there are some definite deficiencies with this school - math, language arts are lacking in many cases. Many of the parents are kind but it tends to be 'clique-y'. The class sizes are large which is true through the district and the district continually faces budget issues. the principal is friendly up front but does not excel at returning calls or dealing with problems. the support staff is great and many of the teachers are great as well. sometimes communication home is lacking especially with lack of textbooks and copies of work coming home and it tends to lean towards little to no homework. parent involvement is above average for social things
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2009

Fantastic teachers and staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2009

I Love Eastern Elementary because all of the staff there are friendly and always call each child by their name. Mrs. Zell, The principal(princess pal) is very involved in the school and greets all the children and parents every morning and each evening when school is getting out you will see her outside making sure each child is getting on the right bus. It's a very friendly atmosphere and my children also love their school!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2009

We love Eastern! We couldn't ask for better staff, parents or students. Eastern's are the best!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2009

Our school is the best! We are like one big happy family! Awesome Staff and Fantastic kids! My Daughter Loves her school! and she loves to learn! Thanks Eastern!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2009

Close-knit community, high academic standards
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2009

Outstanding staff and families - all with our childrens' best interest in mind at all times!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2009

Great environment for learning from top to bottom. My kids love going to Eastern. The Latch Key staff is great too.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2009

My daughter loves going to Eastern. They do so many cool things and the family functions are by far the best.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2009

What a great neighborhood school. Wonderful staff, kids and community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2009

Michigan is a state with one of the worst economies in the country. Northern Michigan gets some of the lowest school funding in the state. Despite this, Eastern Elementary is one of the highest performing schools in the state with amazing teachers, staff, and, of course, students! We love Eastern Elementary School!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2009

Great family involvement. Really fun activities for all, kids and parents. Excellent teaching and administrative staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2014.

41 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
51%

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
40%

2011

 
 
40%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

42 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
60%

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
74%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

43 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
58%

2013

 
 
30%

2012

 
 
41%

2011

 
 
41%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2014.

43 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
86%

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
81%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2014.

43 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
65%

2013

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
43%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

43 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
28%

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
36%

2011

 
 
36%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2014.

44 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
77%

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
89%
Science

The state average for Science was 17% in 2014.

43 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
21%

2013

 
 
24%

2011

 
 
18%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

19%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Michigan. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 net growth (significant improvement/improvement - significant decrease/decrease) according to Performance Level Changes from the state of Michigan.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 91% 69%
Multiracial 3% 2%
Hispanic 2% 6%
African-American 1% 18%
American Indian 1% 1%
Asian 1% 3%
Native Hawaiian N/A 0%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 29%N/A48%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Ms. Angela Sides-Mckay
Fax number
  • (231) 933-1682

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special education
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1600 Eastern Ave
Traverse City, MI 49686
Website: Click here
Phone: (231) 933-1660

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Tba Isd Traverse Heights
Traverse City, MI





Central Grade School
Traverse City, MI


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT