Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Long Lake Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 279 students

Our school is best known for our expert and nurturing staff.

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

17 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 13, 2014

Great school!! Very happy with my decision to have my daughter go here especially since we don't live in the Long Lake district. Teachers and staff are wonderful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 29, 2014

I have three children at Long Lake and we love it!! The teachers are so wonderful and dedicated and the new facility is beautiful! I am on the PTO at Long Lake and love working so closely with this fabulous staff and new principal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 8, 2013

We are just completing our first year here at Long Lake Elementary. We have had happiness and success and have no intention of moving our children from this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 1, 2011

Great NEW BUILDING!!! Lots of natural lighting! Love the teachers and principal at Long Lake!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2010

I appreciate my grandson's pre-K teacher and her concern for his development. The field trips were fun and educational. We had a great time!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2009

excellent teachers and curriculum--many activities for the students


Posted September 28, 2009

Long Lake is a smaller school, but it has a big heart!!! I have just transfered froma nother school and everyone is so nice. The children are all so sweet! The principal is amazingly kind hearted! I hope to work many years at Long Lake Elementary!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 25, 2009

Long Lake is an outstanding school with a fantastic staff, that really cares for the children...Long Lake is our school of choice!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2009

I love Long Lake because we have the most collaborative teachers and parents that are so supportive in their childrens education. Long Lake participates in Harvard Project Zero and are building a community of deep thinkers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2009

Best staff, teachers and families! A small school where everyone knows everyone!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2009

We are a caring close-knit community. We take care of each other! It is a great place to work and learn.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 23, 2009

Long Lake EL. is the best! It has it all: friendly families, respectful kids, involved parents, teachers who listen to the kids and each other, staff that is kind and courteous and a PTO that rocks!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2009

Long Lake is a fabulous school that supports our children and has an extreme amount of parent participation which I feel is hard to find in this day and age.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2007

I believe that the success of a school is greatly based on parent involvement. All parents are encouraged to get involved at Long Lake school. This was our first year at the school and it couldn't have gone any better. My daughter is in the first grade and her teacher has gone above and beyond the call of duty. She encourages the kids to do their best in all there work, and make sure that all the kids are where they need to be academically. The communication between the school and parents is outstanding. The PTO, staff and the parents do a wonderful job of making each student experience the best it can be. The teachers and office gals are some of the most caring and patient people I have met in the school system.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 9, 2006

The principal at Long Lake is not very involved at all. She does not return phone calls, and seems very disinterested. Parental involvement is supposedly very important, yet there are several teachers who do not want parents around, and they make that fact very clear!!! Medical issues are not taken seriously, and meds not well monitored. Playground is poorly staffed-sometimes no adults there at all.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 3, 2006

I have had four children go through Long Lake Elementary and we have found it to be a wonderful experience with knowledgable and caring staff. I would highly recommend this school to any family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 4, 2005

While there is only a very few good teachers left at Long Lake, I would not recommend this school to any parent. The principal has very bad administor skills and is never around. She skates around the issues at hand and never returns phone calls in a timly manner. Safety is an issue at this school. Bullies are a MAJOR problem at this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2014.

37 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
38%

2013

 
 
35%

2012

 
 
4%

2011

 
 
4%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

37 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
54%

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
65%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

45 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
40%

2013

 
 
20%

2012

 
 
10%

2011

 
 
10%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2014.

45 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
80%

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
63%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2014.

46 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
39%

2013

 
 
41%

2011

 
 
24%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

49 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
23%

2013

 
 
22%

2012

 
 
19%

2011

 
 
19%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2014.

50 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
74%

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
66%
Science

The state average for Science was 17% in 2014.

53 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
10%

2013

 
 
8%

2011

 
 
9%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

19%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Michigan. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Above average

Reading growth at this school

Below Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 net growth (significant improvement/improvement - significant decrease/decrease) according to Performance Level Changes from the state of Michigan.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 90% 69%
Hispanic 5% 6%
African-American 2% 18%
American Indian 1% 1%
Multiracial 1% 2%
Asian 0% 3%
Native Hawaiian N/A 0%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 46%N/A48%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Music teacher(s)
Math specialist(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Art teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Reading specialist(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by school staff None
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Special education
Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs
Languages supported by ESL/ELL programs
  • Other
  • Spanish
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
Clubs
  • Girls on the run

Gifted & talented

Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 9:00 am
School end time
  • 4:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
  • Before school: starts at 7:00 a.m.
School Leader's name
  • Ms. Stephanie Long
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Fax number
  • (231) 933-7822

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Core knowledge
  • Standards-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special education
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs
Languages supported by ESL/ELL programs
  • Other
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • None
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Remediation
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
  • School shares bus/van with other schools
  • Transportation provided for special education students only
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Cafeteria
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Track
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • None
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Book/reading club
  • Boy scouts
  • Girl scouts
  • Girls on the run
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Neither uniforms nor dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
More from this school
  • We are the only certified LEED (green) elementary in TCAPS. Our building is three years old, sits on acres of beautiful woods and gardens, has an extensive walking trail that extends into the woods for hiking, and several open fields. Our staff has been extensively trained in Harvard's Project Zero Thinking for Understanding and values thinking and deep understand over rote memorization and recall. They are dedicated, nurturing, and highly qualified educators. Our students love school!
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


10 out of 10students were accepted for the 2013-2014 school year.


Students accepted for the 2013-2014 school year
50
Applications received for the 2013-2014 school year
50

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Traverse City West Middle School
Traverse City West Senior High School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

7600 N Long Lake Rd
Traverse City, MI 49685
Website: Click here
Phone: (231) 933-7800

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Montessori Children's House
Traverse City, MI


Westwoods Elementary School
Traverse City, MI




New Campus Center
Traverse City, MI



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT