Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

West Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 1169 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 1, 2014

I've tried out many different schools and WMS has to be the worst one I've ever been to. Everyone is a bully with few excellent teachers. If your child is an outcast or anything else that's perceived negatively they will probably not enjoy it here. If you ever try to get your kid justice for being bullied by students or/and teachers it probably won't happen. The school boasts about its anti bullying pride but does jack about it. That aside some of the teachers use great learning techniques that really grasp peoples attention. I also agree with what a previous commenter said about kids with ADD. All in all, if your kid is rich and popular they will do just fine here.


Posted April 28, 2014

TC West is a great middle school. The teachers and all staff are very involved with the kids. They go the extra way to make sure everyone is taken care of. The counselors are always helpful. T C West is more like a community than a school. There are always options that fit in with your child. Everyone just wants the students to excel and be happy and fit in.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2011

West is the best and better then all the rest. East is the least and can't even compete.


Posted September 16, 2009

The caring atmosphere for our students and staff. We are one big family.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 23, 2008

The elementary and Middle School has been a wonderful school experience for both of my children. I am so impressed by the quality of educators working in this district. My children are not the easiest to deal with and I could not be happier with their progress.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 12, 2008

This is a very good school for the average to excellent student. ADD/ADHD may 'fall through the cracks' here. The school has a strategy the seems good but it isn't as thorough as it could be.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 16, 2008

As a new family to this school district, we did a lot of research prior to moving to this district. We chose this district based on comments on these type of sites as well as testing scores. I have to say I feel we were mislead by the wonderful reviews we read. I'm not saying this school is all that bad, but it is not as good as the ratings made it look. The 9th graders were not treated like high school students with them being housed in the junior high building, although that will change next year. A major concern I have is that the school spends money on buying game tables and other fun stuff for the kids to do during lunch, yet not all classes have enough books for everyone, so no one is allowed to take the books home for those classes.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 22, 2005

I am in girls basketball, volleyball and on the track team. I am an honor student and I am a member of the notional honors society. All of which are great school programs. I am also a member of the women's symphonic choir and was a previous member in orchestra. Which travese public schools are known for their music prgrams. From personal experience I enjoy this school and believe it has a great quality for educational and extra circular activities.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 42% in 2014.

376 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
36%

2013

 
 
28%

2012

 
 
21%

2011

 
 
21%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2014.

375 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
78%

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
73%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 27% in 2014.

377 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
33%

2013

 
 
37%

2011

 
 
33%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 39% in 2014.

389 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
26%

2013

 
 
16%

2012

 
 
21%

2011

 
 
21%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

389 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
67%

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
69%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

389 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
52%

2013

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
47%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 35% in 2014.

391 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
23%

2013

 
 
31%

2012

 
 
31%

2011

 
 
31%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2014.

391 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
77%

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
68%
Science

The state average for Science was 20% in 2014.

392 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
26%

2013

 
 
23%

2011

 
 
19%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

19%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Michigan. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Above average

Reading growth at this school

Below Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 net growth (significant improvement/improvement - significant decrease/decrease) according to Performance Level Changes from the state of Michigan.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 91% 69%
Hispanic 3% 6%
American Indian 2% 1%
Multiracial 2% 2%
African-American 1% 18%
Asian 1% 3%
Native Hawaiian N/A 0%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 40%N/A48%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Special education
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Pam Alfieri
Fax number
  • (231) 933-8205

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special education

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3950 Silver Lake Road
Traverse City, MI 49684
Website: Click here
Phone: (231) 933-8200

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

The Greenspire School
Traverse City, MI


New Campus Center
Traverse City, MI


Montessori Children's House
Traverse City, MI


Trinity Lutheran School
Traverse City, MI


Tcaps Montessori School
Traverse City, MI



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT