Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Tcaps Montessori School

Public | PK-6 & ungraded | 344 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars


Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 11, 2010

My children attend TCAPS Montessori and I am blown away by the amount of respect, empathy and responsibility the children there show. The academics are amazing: hands on, challenging and focused on our environment and being good citizens. I am so so happy with our decision. I am also a teacher and have taught in several districts and this is one great school!!! I would highly recommend it!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

I am a parent of two TCAPS Montesorri students. My kids LOVE school and we couldn't be happier. The staff get to know each child and family, and they clearly care about our kids. We feel so luck to have a public program like this available to us!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 24, 2009

I am very happy and impressed with the staff and program curriculum that TCAPS Montessori offers for my children. The staff to student ratios are smaller than traditional public school settings. The parents are VERY involved and the PTO is very, very active in raising funds for special programs and offerrings for the kids/families. I love it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 24, 2009

I am a parent as well as an employee of the TCAPS Montessori program. My children attended even before I worked here and whene the opportunity arose to work in my kids' school building, I hopped at the chance. The staff is the best I've ever worked with. They are connected to one another professionally and in many cases socially. It is a big family atmosphere which is hard to accomplish with a large staff. I know that each teacher is extremely committed to their kids and, because of the three year cycle the children have with a single teacher, the kids all become 'family' to the staff very quickly. I will never work anywhere else. I love the kids and staff- together it's a creative, loving, learning environment- comprised of adults and children who think globally. Fantastic!! :)


Posted April 1, 2009

I pull my kids out of westwoods school because of an inept principal. TCAPS montessori has brought me kids back to there grade standards after losing a year of time at Westwoods.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 23, 2008

As a parent of two children coming from a privately-run Montessori school, I had very high expectations. TCAPS' Montessori has surpassed those expectations on all accounts. The staff is incredible and the parent community is active and supports the needs of both the children and the staff. My children are receiving a fantastic education and we're not paying thousands of dollars a year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2007

The quality of this Montessori progrram is out of this world! Our family has been a part of the program since it began 6 yrs ago. We couldn't be more happy. The teachers are great, they work individually and get to know each child. That mean so much to us. My children have thrived and they are very different with different needs. With this program being in the public schools we have access to what the public school children usually do, like extracurriculars, music, sports, art. For the most part parents are very involved in this program as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 16, 2007

I absolutely love this program. It is a public run Montessori program in the Traverse City Public School district. It is an excellent program.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2014.

53 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
32%

2013

 
 
36%

2012

 
 
22%

2011

 
 
22%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

53 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
70%

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
76%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

56 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
39%

2013

 
 
23%

2012

 
 
27%

2011

 
 
27%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2014.

56 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
79%

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
71%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2014.

56 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
55%

2013

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
39%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

45 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
31%

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
22%

2011

 
 
22%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2014.

45 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
82%

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
78%
Science

The state average for Science was 17% in 2014.

45 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
9%

2013

 
 
22%

2011

 
 
12%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 42% in 2014.

27 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
56%

2013

 
 
35%

2012

 
 
14%

2011

 
 
14%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2014.

27 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
85%

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
90%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 27% in 2014.

27 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
44%

2013

 
 
39%

2011

 
 
19%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

19%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Michigan. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Below Average

Reading growth at this school

Above average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 net growth (significant improvement/improvement - significant decrease/decrease) according to Performance Level Changes from the state of Michigan.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 89% 69%
Hispanic 4% 6%
Multiracial 3% 2%
American Indian 2% 1%
Asian 1% 3%
African-American N/A 18%
Native Hawaiian N/A 0%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 26%N/A48%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Librarian/media specialist(s)
Art teacher(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Special education

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Garden/Greenhouse

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Ms. Lisa Vanloo
Fax number
  • (231) 933-3655

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special education
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Library
  • Playground
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Monitor the playground
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Tutor
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1009 South Oak St
Traverse City, MI 49684
Website: Click here
Phone: (231) 933-5608

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Trinity Lutheran School
Traverse City, MI




Central Grade School
Traverse City, MI


New Campus Center
Traverse City, MI



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT