Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Troy Union Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 446 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted Thursday, April 17, 2014

Our family has been attending Troy Union Elementary for the past 7 years. We have been very happy with the level of education received, and the caring attitudes of teachers and staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2011

I moved to Troy in 1987. All four of my children attended Troy Union. Having been a teacher myself, I was very pleased with the compassion and quality of the staff. Our oldest child's name appears on the "Wall of Fame" and went on to receive a PhD in Biomedical Engineering. Many of her classmates are MD's. I thank God that all four of our children have degrees and excellent jobs. Now I have grandchildren at Troy Union.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2010

Above average teaching staff and support staff, excellent communication from teachers, active parents, caring safe environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 28, 2008

My daughter loved the school and teachers. The staff were really friendly and warm. I would recommend this school to anybody.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 27, 2008

We have been very happy with Troy Union Elementary School and the overall education of our children. The teachers and staff are receptive and have an open-door policy. Parent involvement is almost 100% at most events, conferences, etc... We're proud of Troy Union Elementary.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 14, 2008

This is a really wonderful school. I really appreciated the curriculum and the teachers. The teachers are very warm and caring. They work well with the parents to keep you informed of your childs progress. I would recommend this school to anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 21, 2007

We are extremely pleased with the teachers that my daugher has had at Troy Union. They stay involved with the families and truly want to see every child succeed. We won't move this area because of the school. We have at least 10 parents volunteer for every event in my daughter's class, even those that work fulltime.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 10, 2006

I worked at Troy Union Elementary as a Special Education teacher for 16 years. All staff members are dedicated to making Troy Union a safe and caring environment for the children. You can be sure that your child will feel safe and cared for both emotionally and academically. The office staff will welcome you with a smile. The principal, Dr. Ronald O'Hara, will meet with you personally if you have questions or concerns about your child's success. There are many services available within the building to meet your child's needs.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted January 13, 2005

Troy Union Elem. is a wonderful school with an outstanding staff of educators and administrators. I would highly recommend Troy Union to anyone who is seeking a school that will love and educate your child.
—Submitted by an administrator


Posted January 8, 2005

This school is outstanding. my kids did very well in the Detroit public school system. they are doing even better here. more activities for them to participate and the school really appriciates parent participation.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2014.

79 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
62%

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
64%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

76 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
82%

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
81%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

76 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
67%

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
77%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2014.

73 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
77%

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
83%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2014.

72 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
75%

2013

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
69%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

67 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
61%

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
71%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2014.

66 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
83%

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
75%
Science

The state average for Science was 17% in 2014.

69 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
19%

2013

 
 
14%

2011

 
 
24%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

19%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Michigan. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Below Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 net growth (significant improvement/improvement - significant decrease/decrease) according to Performance Level Changes from the state of Michigan.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 64% 69%
Asian 19% 3%
African-American 10% 18%
Hispanic 4% 6%
Multiracial 3% 2%
American Indian N/A 1%
Native Hawaiian N/A 0%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 25%N/A48%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Special education
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr. David Pass
Fax number
  • (248) 823-3113

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special education

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1340 East Square Lake Rd
Troy, MI 48085
Website: Click here
Phone: (248) 823-3100

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Oakland Steiner School
Rochester Hills, MI


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT