Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Wattles Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 471 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 3, 2013

My 2 boys and I love Wattles. The teachers are wonderful and the families are all so nice! We haven't had a single bad experience in over 5 years!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 18, 2013

We have 2 boy a grade apart and they are night and day. One excells in math and the other in reading. The teachers are great. The boys are each in title one and get the extra help they need.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 12, 2013

The Title-One Summer Program is excellent! My 4th grader has attended the program every year to prep him for his up coming grade and it has always given him a great jump start to the new year!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 2, 2013

We are very happy with Wattles. Love the cultural diversity at the school and love how it is celebrated. My children have had wonderful teachers for every grade. Wattles has a great principal who takes the time to really know each student and their family. There are opportunities for parents to be an active part of the school if desired. Communication has always been wonderful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 8, 2012

Wattles is a community of teachers and families who care deeply about each individual student and work hard to provide a safe, fun learning environment.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 9, 2009

When I first came to this school, I thought is was good, but after being here I have noticed that many individuals are not genuine in their actions. I see persons going out of their way to do things but only to benefit themselves. Students seem to be pushed to hard at times. I'm not saying that they shouldn't, but not to the extent of fear. I'm not sure how an atmosphere like the one at Wattles can benefit my student.


Posted September 16, 2009

They are a community that cares for each and every child that attends!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 20, 2007

My daughter graduated from Wattles , she attended K-5th and had a great experience . The teachers are supportive and the principal is great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 2, 2007

My son has been at Wattles for three years now and I couldn't be happier. Each year has been such a positive experience for him and I. Since the first day of kindergarten the principal has remembered every parent and child's name (I really don't know how she manages that, but shes an amazing woman). Wattles is extremely diverse. There are many Indian, Asian and African American families here. Which make for an excellent environment for all the students to learn from one another. From the classroom work to his emotional growth Wattles has taught him so much. I am so thankful that we have found a school that fosters growth in so many areas.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 28, 2005

Wattles is head and shoulders above the rest! When my son was in Kindergarten and first grade at Wattles he was really struggling. His teacher and I talked and she immedeiately implemented a few things to help him. When she had exhausted ALL efforts the school tested my son and found that he had a significant learning disability. He was immediately put in special ed during reading and math time while remaining in his general ed class for everything else. He receives true one on one extensive education every day in special ed AND in general ed. My son is now in the fourth grade and has improved greatly. He is still in special ed and all of his teachers give 100% to see that he succeeds! Sam is getting the best education in the state!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2003

I have been impressed for the past two years. I was welcomed with open arms and feel that the quality of schooling is outstanding!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2014.

81 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
70%

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
84%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

78 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
78%

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
81%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

67 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
84%

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
81%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2014.

66 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
92%

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
94%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2014.

66 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
82%

2013

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
77%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

85 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
91%

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
91%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2014.

82 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
92%

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
88%
Science

The state average for Science was 17% in 2014.

86 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
44%

2013

 
 
27%

2011

 
 
31%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Above average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

19%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Michigan. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Above average

Reading growth at this school

Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 net growth (significant improvement/improvement - significant decrease/decrease) according to Performance Level Changes from the state of Michigan.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 55% 69%
Asian 32% 3%
African-American 5% 18%
Multiracial 5% 2%
Hispanic 2% 6%
American Indian 0% 1%
Native Hawaiian N/A 0%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 20%N/A48%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Reading specialist(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Special education

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Music
  • Band
  • Orchestra

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Joyce Brasington
Fax number
  • (248) 823-3413

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special education
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Music room
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Orchestra
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3555 Ellenboro Drive
Troy, MI 48083
Website: Click here
Phone: (248) 823-3400

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT