Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

3 stars
Based on 16 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


17 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Larson Middle School 5

Posted August 21, 2013
- a community member
I think my school is amazing, the teachers are always encouraging you to do your best and free to help with any bulling, sometimes they do more than just console you, they solve the problem. I can't see students getting in trouble for no good reasons, if it's for something as small as talking and being disrespectful punishment is only something small like a "lunch detention" (eating lunch in classroom) , I suppose one way my school could improve on is "bonding" activities, forcing us to sit at lunch with people out of our comfort zone does not help us make new friends unfortunately. Other than that, I don't see anything wrong with Larson or its activities. 5 stars from me.

Larson Middle School 5

Posted November 17, 2012
- a community member
This is a safe school i would and will send my kids here when they are that old. This school is a good example of a safe learning environment and the teachers reach out to the students. On every door it says "I'm a teacher who wants to know about bullying come talk to me or a trusted adult and tell us what's going on and we will stop the bullying" I trust this school the grades are good, the staff if trust worthy. They treat you with respect.


Larson Middle School 1

Posted January 18, 2012
- a teacher
this is a school where you will get in trouble for talk and we are treated like trash as students if your kid that has all A+ if they are sent to the office they wont get in trouble but the c and d student will get suspended cant stand this school dont send your kids here if you do they will hate it

Larson Middle School 1

Posted January 18, 2012
- a community member
i dont understand the point of treating kids so unfairly and punishing them for no apparent reason.

Larson Middle School 1

Posted August 28, 2011
- a parent
Some of the teachers in the school gave out grades for a student not even in the school. They even gave the child not registered in the school excellent notations in effort and attitude/behavior in class. When this was brought to the principal and the superintendent's attention, the student not enrolled in the school received grades 2 additional times. There are inconsistencies in the way that attendance records are kept. For example, a student who was sick or at the doctor was called an unexcused absence and a child on a hunting trip was called an excused absence. The assistant principal picked the child going to the doctor as an unexcused absence and wasted tax payer dollars to have the child sent to the truancy people. The truancy people only wanted to cooperate and inform one of the child's parents. Parents have not been able get their children tested when diagnostic codes indicating need for educational help was supplied to the Troy Schools. I would not live in that area of Troy and many people have already moved out of the area.


Larson Middle School 5

Posted January 16, 2010
- a parent
I chose to enroll my child in Larson through open enrollment (outside of his zoned school). Of all the middle schools in the Troy School District, I agree Larson is clearly the 5-star winner. When my child has encountered difficulties, I've found that for the most part, the teachers are responsive and willing to work with him and with us (his parents) to come up with a plan for resolution. The principal is VERY responsive, and does not hesitate to be fully accountable to the parents. There are some amazing educators here, and a strong bullying awareness and prevention program in place. I'm not easily impressed with public education standards in general, but in this case, I am very pleased.

Larson Middle School 0
no rating

Posted September 16, 2009
- a parent
Great teachers, great staff. There are lots of opportunities for the kids to get involved.

Larson Middle School 5

Posted May 27, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Larson Middle School 1

Posted October 11, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Larson Middle School 5

Posted October 04, 2008
- a parent
Great school nice teachers

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Larson Middle School
2222 East Long Lake Road, Troy, MI  48085
(248) 823-4800
Last modified Larson Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Larson Middle School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 17 reviews. Top