Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Boulan Park Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 706 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 4, 2014

This school is excellent. It has a friendly, warm, welcoming atmosphere. I myself am a student currently in 7th grade, and I must say this school is perhaps the best middle school in the district. The academics are spectacular, BPMS has solid math/science teams along with astounding music groups, skilled sports teams, and overall a very balanced level of extracurriculars to fill all student's interests. The teachers expect you to do your best, but also treat you like humans and have amazing senses of humor. Mr. DeNeen and Mr. Lalko are the best. It can get a bit cliquey, yes, but a new student is warmly welcomed by the students and, in a few days, feels very comfortable. To whomever mentioned bullying, it's not true at all. The very few bullies that do harass people in the school (by harass, I mean saying things like "idiot" and not actual harassment) are usually dealt with.


Posted May 3, 2012

I am a student attending the 6th grade here at BPMS, and I think it is one of the best middle schools you can go to. Ms. Gilbert is definitely the best teacher, as she makes classes fun as well as a learning experience; however almost all of the teachers are very great. The academic programs here are rather interesting. I am in Algebra, which is actually rather quite a simple class as long as you prepare. The instruement teachers are great; I believe that Mrs. Griffith is the best orchestra teacher there is, and Mr. Havrilla is ok; just he gets a bit angry sometimes. All in all, this is an excellent school.


Posted October 23, 2011

Boulan is awesome, most of the teachers are humorous yet serious, If you have a problem, they will commit to it, not just leave it to you. I also noticed that many students switched from Baker and Larson to come to Boulan. The academics are great! They have many choices to what you want to do when it comes to Physical Education and after school clubs!.


Posted January 19, 2010

I love this school. It has taught me alot Ms. Griffith is the best orchestra teacher ever! Ms. Gilbert is the best science teacher ever! Mr. Heist is the best gym teacher ever!
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 21, 2008

This is a really great school the teachers are very smart, students most of the time nice enogh. And there are many after school activtys that are really fun! Only thing is school is very cliquey
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 15, 2007

Boulan Park is awesome! All the teachers are nice. I was first scared of middle school, but because of this great school, I had no reason to be afraid. I am in advanced math and I thought it was going to be extremely hard, but surprisingly, it was really easy to understand. They also have excellent teachers.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 4, 2007

This school has an excellent academic program. Kids are excited to get up everyday to go. They have a great extracurricular activities. This school has many cliques but, they all welcome new students and they will have friends within days.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 15, 2007

hola okay I go to this school know and let me tell you its amazing. I wouldn't change anything for the world. the teachers are all pretty nice and everyone is very friendly. we are very groupish. but that doesn't make us bad people. and the principle would take things like that seriously if you came and asked for help. Ashley
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 21, 2005

Boulan Park Middle School is the worst school experience I have ever had. During my three years there, I was bullyed incessantly. Whenever I expressed these concerns to the principal, I was either ignored or my complaints were dismissed as 'my fault'. Everyday, literally hundreds of students ganged up on me. The only place this school excels in is propaganda, giving parents the erroneous message that this is an excellent school. It's not.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted October 26, 2004

everyone thinks this school great but i went to school i am goin to kids in this school at troy high right now and a lot of things are going on that the parents dont know many of the kids that do drug in troy high is all from boulan park middle school not the best place to have your kids hanging around with.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted May 14, 2004

Excellent academic program. Most teachers in our experience are excellent, and inspire and challenge the students. Good leadership in regards to safety, but out of touch with current teenage social issues. Great extra-curriculars. Your child should thrive unless intimidated by cliques. Very safe environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 6, 2004

Boulan Perk has the right, creative environment for the kids to excel in both academics and extra curricular activitie. The teachers are simply excellent and very accesible.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 42% in 2014.

223 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
90%

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
80%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2014.

218 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
93%

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
88%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 27% in 2014.

226 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
63%

2013

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
59%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 39% in 2014.

251 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
85%

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
80%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

249 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
88%

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
89%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

248 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
78%

2013

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
79%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 35% in 2014.

251 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
78%

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
78%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2014.

247 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
90%

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
89%
Science

The state average for Science was 20% in 2014.

256 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
41%

2013

 
 
38%

2011

 
 
46%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Above average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

19%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Michigan. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 net growth (significant improvement/improvement - significant decrease/decrease) according to Performance Level Changes from the state of Michigan.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 49% 69%
Asian 44% 3%
African-American 3% 18%
Hispanic 2% 6%
Multiracial 2% 2%
American Indian 0% 1%
Native Hawaiian N/A 0%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 6%N/A48%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mrs. L. Jo Kwasny
Fax number
  • (248) 823-4913

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special education
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3570 Northfield Pkwy
Troy, MI 48084
Website: Click here
Phone: (248) 823-4900

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Derby Middle School
Birmingham, MI




Academy of Sacred Heart
Bloomfield Hills, MI



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT