Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
19 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (1 response)
characters left.
There are 32 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Boulan Park Middle School
Grateful to: School leader

Posted January 14, 2016
- a parent
Dr. Jo Kwasny is perhaps the best administrator in the Troy School District. She supports the staff, Counsels parents and students to achieve the best outcome and is available for dozens of after school events.

Boulan Park Middle School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted January 14, 2016
- a parent
This is a particularly challenging school with plenty of advance placement opportunities. They had plenty of tutoring opportunities that developed persistence skills with my children. They encouraged students to set measurable goals and checked for attainment.


Boulan Park Middle School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted January 14, 2016
- a parent
Boulan's staff develops respect in students by modeling the behavior they hope to instill. I honestly felt everyone was treated with respect - students, parents, bus drivers, lunch room workers, information technology people, volunteers and community members.

Boulan Park Middle School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted January 14, 2016
- a parent
When I was a parent volunteer, I witnessed dozens of examples of compassion and empathy. One that I remember well was when a student accidentally severely dented a band instrument, the band instructor assured the teen that it would be ok and that it was just an accident. They listen to parents as well as student. They also care dearly about academic integrity, developing compassionate and honest individuals.

Boulan Park Middle School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted January 14, 2016
- a parent
The school encourages integrity, honesty and fairness through modeling the behaviors by the teaching staff, administrative staff and leadership. Nothing speaks louder than learning by example!


Boulan Park Middle School 5

Posted January 14, 2016
- a parent
My children when through Schroder, Boulan and Troy High. Fantastic education. Boulan has excellent leadership, Dr. Kwasny, fantastic advance placement classes, outstanding music and after school programs that got my children scholarships to college. It was a perfect environment, in my eyes, for a developmental opportunity that can make or break student focus. Academically challenging.

Boulan Park Middle School 4

Posted September 28, 2015
- a parent
I agree with other users who say the GS rating is low. Academically, this school is a 10. And the principal really goes out of her way to instill good character and a sense of school pride and community in her students. It's a wonderful school! My beef is with the district. As a mathematician and math instructor, I have strong opinions on math curricula. Their current textbook choice for middle school (Big Ideas) is subpar. They would have been better off using Holt McDougal Math (same publisher, better books). The kids at Boulan are usually on a highly academic track, with lots of parental support, many with aspirations of attending Ivy League colleges or other highly competitive universities. They will weather the choice of a rotten math curriculum just fine. But they really shouldn't have to. By choosing this math series, TSD unnecessarily generates more work for the parents to explain things at home that the student could have learned independently with a better book. But if you're looking for a safe, positive school with lots of caring teachers and a caring principle, you really can't beat Boulan. Go Broncos!

Boulan Park Middle School 5

Posted July 14, 2015
- a parent
This is one of the top rated schools in the state. I was very surprised on why the overall rating of such a great school dropped from 10 to 7 in the past year. Well I went in a dug into the ratings. I was shocked to find out the 50% of the rating was based on student growth. What they mean is that they need to see an improvement in test scores from year to year. Well this is a major flaw in the rating system, since Boulan has one of the highest scores in the state if not the highest. Where do you go from there? I will totally ignore this rating. This school is one of the best if not the best in the state. My only advise to GreatSchools is to rethink their methodology to make their scores more accurate and credible.


Boulan Park Middle School 4

Posted March 04, 2014
- a community member
This school is excellent. It has a friendly, warm, welcoming atmosphere. I myself am a student currently in 7th grade, and I must say this school is perhaps the best middle school in the district. The academics are spectacular, BPMS has solid math/science teams along with astounding music groups, skilled sports teams, and overall a very balanced level of extracurriculars to fill all student's interests. The teachers expect you to do your best, but also treat you like humans and have amazing senses of humor. Mr. DeNeen and Mr. Lalko are the best. It can get a bit cliquey, yes, but a new student is warmly welcomed by the students and, in a few days, feels very comfortable. To whomever mentioned bullying, it's not true at all. The very few bullies that do harass people in the school (by harass, I mean saying things like "idiot" and not actual harassment) are usually dealt with.

Boulan Park Middle School 5

Posted May 03, 2012
- a community member
I am a student attending the 6th grade here at BPMS, and I think it is one of the best middle schools you can go to. Ms. Gilbert is definitely the best teacher, as she makes classes fun as well as a learning experience; however almost all of the teachers are very great. The academic programs here are rather interesting. I am in Algebra, which is actually rather quite a simple class as long as you prepare. The instruement teachers are great; I believe that Mrs. Griffith is the best orchestra teacher there is, and Mr. Havrilla is ok; just he gets a bit angry sometimes. All in all, this is an excellent school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Boulan Park Middle School
3570 Northfield Parkway, Troy, MI  48084
(248) 823-4900
Last modified Boulan Park Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Boulan Park Middle School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 32 reviews. Top