Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

4 stars
Based on 10 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


10 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Barnard Elementary School 4

Posted May 08, 2012
- a community member
Barnard elementary was a great school, I am a former student and the time while I was there was amazing. The teachers are so friendly and comfortable to talk to if you have a problem (Schoolwork, Home, etc. Issues). The school had great learning programs also. They had great experiences such as the annual Culture fest, A-Z healthy eating, Cultural food, Big top fair, Book fair, etc. The opportunities the school provided were amazing, all I wish is I could go back and use them. Even If you have a problem there's always a teacher to help you when you need it. *PTO Boards were excellent actually*

Barnard Elementary School 5

Posted September 26, 2011
- a parent
Barnard is an excellent choice for an elementary school; we have been so pleased with many things about this school. The academic program is great, students are taught to be responsible citizens through their actions, they are given an opportunity to learn about many cultures and traditions, the parents have turned into great friends and the partnership you develop with the staff for the educational goals of the kids is wonderful. The principal is committed to students learning in a healthy environment and having the staff contribute to a first class experience for the students - couldn't be happier with this school!


Barnard Elementary School 5

Posted September 16, 2009
- a parent
I love Barnard because it is a family and everyone takes care of each other!!

Barnard Elementary School 4

Posted February 23, 2009
- a parent
As a Barnard parent, I have found that the inconsistant leadership has caused an overall decline in the dedication and involvement of the teachers. The new principal seems to be trying to correct that. PTO contributions and leadership have also been lacking in recent years.

Barnard Elementary School 3

Posted October 23, 2007
- a parent
Most teachers are excellent, others seem to stress conformity. Kindergarten focuses on socialization and busywork at the expense of learning. Mrs. Scopel was an excellent principal, but has been out due to illness. Her replacements have been uneven in quality. Discipline is not administered evenly.


Barnard Elementary School 4

Posted June 28, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Barnard Elementary School 3

Posted May 20, 2007
- a teacher
Barnard elementary has a diversity of teaching styles--some are up to date and based in best teaching practices. Other styles are out-dated and ditto heavy. The quality of education your child get when they attend this school really varies from teacher to teacher.

Barnard Elementary School 5

Posted April 19, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Barnard Elementary School 4

Posted January 31, 2005
- a parent
The quality of academic programs are fine and varies based on teachers, but overall, I think they are doing a good job. I have two kids with one year apart and we are able to tell teh difference between the teachers my son got vs. the teachers my daughter got. There is a good aount of music,arts and sports involved in thier activities. Parents can be involved if they have enough free time, the school supports that.

Barnard Elementary School 3

Posted October 19, 2004
- a parent
This school has been a big disappointment. It is probably fine for most kids, but my first grader needs accelerated learning opportunities which have not been available.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Barnard Elementary School
3601 Forge Dr, Troy, MI  48083
(248) 823-4300
Last modified Barnard Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Barnard Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 10 reviews. Top