Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Oakland Childrens Academy

Private | PK-4 | 75 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Troy

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $120,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $860.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars


Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 6, 2009

This school is excellent, my daughter is studng here from past 3 yrs .now she is in elementary class , its really wonderful. Very caring teachers . Excellent principle.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 18, 2008

may good staff but lack of program, teacher-parents communicatios, followup, and creativity.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2008

I think this school is awesome. You get individual attention and the teachers are very kind and understanding!
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 18, 2007

I think this school is awesome and the teachers listento and understand the children.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 23, 2007

Wonderful school. Great value. Diverse families. Individual attention.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2006

One of the most important things I forgot to mention are the teachers. They are very responsible and well educated. The teachers actually help the children learn instead of giving them a toy or paper and telling them to go do something. At some point during the day, each child receives one-on-one with a teacher. Some children go to the other classes to get a chance to help the other children. Again, I would not even consider moving my daughter to another school. There is no reason to do so since she is receiving the best education she could possibly receive the age of 4.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2006

Children's Academy is a great school for children to learn. My daughter loves going to school everyday and she learns from all the children that attend the school. Almost every country is represented at this school and it is such a learning environment for the children to learn in. They get to learn what other kids do in other countries and help eachother understand in many ways. I wouldn't even think of pulling my daughter out of this school. She's learning more at Children's Academy that I would never be able to teach her on my own. I highly recommend this school to anyone who wants their child to receive the best primary education out there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 31, 2004

This is the best school for the kids. Specially when the kid has been with u untill 2-3 yrs and have not attended any day care. Teachers give their full attention and the children even feel that they are at home. Teachers are very caring. With the homely environment at school they learn to share and do reading and math. I guess people looking at big classroom or a separate building for a school may find it little inconvenient as the school is in a church. But I am sure that the principal is looking into this matter.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 95% 3%
African-American 2% 19%
White 2% 69%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Hispanic 0% 6%
Multiracial 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mrs. Sherin Thomas
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Fax number
  • (248) 589-3590

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Montessori
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2160 East Maple Road
Troy, MI 48083
Phone: (248) 589-3590

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Noor International Academy
Sterling Heights, MI


Angus Elementary School
Sterling Heights, MI




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT