Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Schoolhouse Montessori Academy - Troy

Private | PK-3 | 147 students

Our schools are best known for the amazing individualized curriculum.

 
 

Living in Troy

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $150,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,080.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 2, 2014

My kids have attended Schoolhouse for the past 2 years. My son started in the toddler program and was potty trained by age 2. There is a high degree of diversity and I love the fact that many of my children's first friendships have been with kids of a different race or ethnicity. Most of the teachers are outstanding - engaged, passionate and dedicated to their students' learning and development. There has been some turnover, especially with the Assistant Teachers. Unlike traditional day care centers, they strictly follow the public school schedule, which has meant many vacation days spent home watching the kids (2 weeks Xmas break, 2 weeks in the summer, numerous random days throughout the year). Overall, I have been very pleased with the education, socialization and care provided at Schoolhouse.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 4, 2013

The staff here do a excellent job in grooming young kids to be independent thinkers and achievers. The children achieve more when the parents are also show active participation if the parents aren't active or don't share the same montessori vision then the relationship doesn't work well. The school could improve by providing more permanent supplemental staff for music, spanish etc
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 19, 2012

The director is unorganized, selfish and very hard to get a hold of. She stumbles over her words and is not in touch with the families. My heart goes out to the staff that works with her everyday. I do appreciate the hard work and effort the staff at the front desk gives families each and everyday. They are very open, friendly and easy to talk with. They are quick to respond and answer all my questions. My child goes here and I'm very pleased with the education she is receiving as the teachers are great and well qualified. To see the progress of my daughter year to year is priceless. I just wish management would see the poor choice of hiring the new director as she will destroy the happy environment that I've come to love over the years.


Posted March 18, 2012

New leadership has completely ruined this school. Staff members are constantly leaving with new, (& under qualified) staff members coming in. While there have been some good teachers over the years, many have already left. Who knows how long the rest will choose to stay & deal with the unorganized & inept director. The place is being run right into the ground. They've cancelled the upper elementary portion of the school. It will essentially become a glorified & overpriced preschool. Be warned that extra help in math is a must if you enroll your children here!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 15, 2011

Love, love this school. Compared to Brookfield where I used to take my kids,my kids are know more balanced: socially, and academically. It 's like a warm family. My kids loves it and are just... happier. Academically they program has nothing to envy to any school. Kids are challenged without the pressure of showing off to their parents, therefore they do better and can't wait to get to school and learn more. I just love this school. The director is a doll...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 24, 2010

We are extrmemely pleased with the time that our son has spent at Schoolhouse. The teachers are very involved and truly seem to care about the welfare of the kids. Our son is in the elementary program and loves his teacher and the learning environment he is in.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 8, 2009

It was hard to get in touch with the administrator. School is only interested in money!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 21, 2009

Very pleased with program. Teachers are extremely engaged & genuinely interested in the development of the students. Highly recommended.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students None
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Arts & music

Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:30 am
School end time
  • 3:15 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:00 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Ms. C. T. Wells
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • Infant
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Unaffiliated - Secular
Fax number
  • (248) 649-6130

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Montessori
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • None
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • None
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Independent Learning
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Internet access
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Judo / Other Martial Arts
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Judo / Other Martial Arts
  • Soccer

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • None
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • None
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Vouchers accepted
No

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Cranbrook
Detroit Country Day
The Roeper School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3305 Crooks Rd
Troy, MI 48084
Website: Click here
Phone: (248) 649-6149

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT