Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

K-8|Private
198 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
19 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (1 response)
characters left.
There are 33 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


St. Matthew Lutheran School
Grateful to: School leader

Posted May 21, 2016
- a parent
Mrs. Palka is the backbone of St. Matthew. She is one that leads with such compassion the academic and spiritual growth of each child.

St. Matthew Lutheran School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted May 21, 2016
- a parent
The teachers participate in yearly professional development to keep up with the latest research in education.


St. Matthew Lutheran School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted May 21, 2016
- a parent
Students all always participating in outreach events such as Kids Against Hunger or raising money for a family in need of support.

St. Matthew Lutheran School 5

Posted May 21, 2016
- a parent
St Matts provides such a loving, caring and supportive environment. The spiritual and academic curriculum surpasses all expectations. The staff is kind and and there are a multitude of extracurricular activities available from sports to theater to Destination Imagination. I am so blessed to have my children attend this school.

St. Matthew Lutheran School 5

Posted September 09, 2015
- a parent
Excellent education both academically and spiritually! Both of my boys have attended since first grade and we are very pleased.


St. Matthew Lutheran School 5

Posted June 06, 2014
- a community member
I love my school! I am graduating this year, and am so sad to be leaving. I only came in 7th grade, but I feel like I have known my class forever. My teachers are amazing, and it's such a huge difference from the private school I attended before this. I recommend this school to anyone and everyone, and will even be coming back when I am in high school.

St. Matthew Lutheran School 5

Posted May 06, 2014
- a parent
I only wish I could have attended this school as a child. My two girls have been in this school for 4 and 2 years, respectively, and I can't say enough positive things about the school, the staff, and the family atmosphere that exists. We toured several other Christian schools and felt "at home" right away during our tour of the facilities. Compared to other local Christian schools, St Matthew is surprisingly affordable. As parents, we feel we aren't missing anything that our children would get in a public school. There is a strong focus on academics as evidenced by very good test scores. Our children are being exposed to technology at a very young age with the school's iPad lab. The teachers are phenomenal and go the extra mile when needed to help our kids succeed academically, socially, and spiritually. This school is open to all - you don't need to be a member of the host church to enroll in the school.

St. Matthew Lutheran School 5

Posted April 28, 2014
- a parent
The small class sizes and well-qualified teachers have provided an excellent education for our children. Our son is graduating this year and has consistently scored above 90% NPR on the IOWA test assessments. He recently took the High School Placement Test and scored in top 2% in the country and received a sizeable scholarship to a local college prep school. He is not gifted, but has benefitted from the small class sizes and strong curriculum at St. Matthew. Our fourth grade daughter has to work a little harder for her good grades. Her teacher has identified her weaknesses in math and has worked with with her and other students during lunch and after school. The teachers truly care how about their students and their performance.


St. Matthew Lutheran School 5

Posted April 25, 2014
- a parent
Only wish we would have started our children sooner, however we transferred in from a decent public school in Walled Lake. Both our kids were quickly received in their classrooms and as part of the St-Matthew family. Our first year was especially fun as we discovered all the unexpected surprises; Many sports (volley ball, basket ball, track, baseball, soccer, cheer, even equestrian!) most starting in the 5th grade. Our daughter learned valuable creative problem solving skills through Destination Imagination (DI). We also enjoyed the Musical and Choir, and the list goes on. The curriculum is challenging and well supported allowing kids with advanced abilities to grow but supporting those who need extra help. The best of all is the teaching staff and principal! The staff is committed to God, they love the children and it shows every day through their passion and dedication. We always felt as though our children were safe, loved and thriving. We highly recommend this school!

St. Matthew Lutheran School 5

Posted April 14, 2014
- a parent
St.Matthew in Walled Lake has been an amazing experience thus far for our family! I cannot say enough about the staff and their dedication to our kids both spiritually and academically. We spent a few years in the WLCS system and decided that it was not for our family. Now that we have transitioned into St.matthew I can honestly say it was the best decision we have made as parents.

Nearby schools

St. Matthew Lutheran School
2040 South Commerce Rd, Walled Lake, MI  48390
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 33 reviews. (248) 624-7677
Last modified St. Matthew Lutheran School is a Private school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top