Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St. William Catholic School

Private | 1-9 | 180 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Walled Lake

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $83,800. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $960.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 8 ratings
2012:
Based on 7 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

20 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 6, 2014

How I wish I could rate no stars. I hated this school! I attended it only for two years. The staff gives up easily and has no control over the kids, therefore you never get to learn anything. The principal seems like she's involved, but she isn't. She only came in to yell at us. This is a great school for the special needs kids, as that is all they focus on. The kids are forced to spend their lunches with the special needs kids because the school won't hire someone to do the job. Religion was just thrown out the window.


Posted August 30, 2013

I would not recommend this. The teachers gave up too easily on the students. The teachers need to control the students better or they won't learn anything.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 15, 2013

Yes, the building may not be huge or fancy... but what really matters is what's inside. St. Williams provides children with a solid foundation. Academically, socially, emotionally and most of all spiritually, the staff works to achieve this solid foundation for all God's children. The family-like bond is unique and there are many opportunities for parents to get involved. The caring staff is dedicated and is lead by an outstanding principal. Together we work to keep up with the ever changing demands of education to help our children strive to be independent, self-motivated learners. No school is perfect. There are issues everywhere you go, but St. William has helped our children grow in all areas.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 10, 2013

St William school allows parents to have a voice in your child education process. My three children all attend SWS and are excelling in high-school. The resource room is a life saver for any student who needs help but still needs to be socially included. It's truly a family atmosphere where we all care for one another and practice Gods teachings
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 8, 2013

my sons go to St William, the small class size, the staff knows all the children which gives the school great resources to educate and enrich my boys school experience - i high recommend this school -
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 8, 2013

St. William gets an A for attitude and approach. The faculty truly believes in helping every child succeed and makes herculean efforts to tailor their approach to meet the learning needs of every child. The school is very responsive to parent questions and concerns. Communication and follow-through is excellent. Our son is very comfortable at St. William School, and has become a more confident, caring individual through his experience there. I would recommend this school to anyone seeking a top-notch school environment, regardless of their religious affiliation.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 8, 2013

St. William cares about the kids. There is a true sense of community and the teachers are able to adjust to the individual needs of the students. We have watched our kids grow and learn each year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 10, 2013

This school was alright. I was a student there and thought it was the best school ever. But that was because it was the only one i've been at. FOR 9 YEARS. I've been out for a while now and I now go to a much better school. I'll say there were some great memories. By the way, they have an excellent math program. There are 8th graders doing geometry. Although the books are 20 years old, it is still a great math experience. One thing I didn't like was how some classes weren't even in classrooms. They taught music in the old gym and art outside of a kitchen. The sports at St. William are pretty good. The basketball teams usually do well. Both baseball teams won their division. The football team is amazing. They made the playoffs 8 years in a row. They won it in 2010, runner up in 2009, and made it to the semi-finals in 2011 and 2012. However, their coach retired this year, likely ending the playoff run but you never know. Nobody expected the 2012 team to even have a winning record. Including myself. But instead, they went undefeated in their division, won a playoff game, and made the semi-finals. I'll say one thing about my 9 years at St. William. It was full of surprises.


Posted February 6, 2013

We spent a lot of time researching the local public schools and the local religious based schools. In the end we decided on St. William. I cannot say enough wonderful things about this school. Our daughter is in Kindergarten. We have been made to feel so welcome by everyone- teachers, parents, staff, students. The principal (Mrs Jackson) is amazing. The older students look out for the younger students and truly enjoy spending time with them. The Kindergarten teacher Mrs Riehl is incredible- truly incredible. I cannot imagine sending our daughter to a different school. We look forward to sending our younger children there when they are in school. There is a lot of parent involvement, and a lot of ways to get involved.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2012

St. William is an excellent school and we are so happy we choose it!! My daughter excels in this small and caring environment. The older students are so caring and protective of the younger children. It truely is a family atmosphere. I would highly recommend and encourage any parent who wants their child to have an excellent catholic education in a well rounded and encouraging atmosphere to look at St. Williams.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2012

This school is a perfect fit for my child. We are new to the school but have been with the Parish for eight years. The principal and support staff are wonderful and the parents really care about helping. I wish we started here earlier.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2012

We are so proud to be Crusaders. This school is awesome! Religion, academic and sport are well balanced. Teachers are dedicated and always helping us.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 7, 2012

The school is good for kids without disability. The lead teacher for the resource room is much too lax.


Posted February 22, 2013

it's just like home school..... i have 2 kids in this school and we are enjoying everyday
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 27, 2012

They USED to have TOPNOTCH Resource Room. Unfortunately, that awesome teacher quit and a new teacher took over and hasn't been the same. The principal is OUTSTANDING !!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 7, 2012

This school is AMAZING!!!!! I am currently in sixth grade and have attended here since Kindergarten and I have loved every second of it! The teaching staff is absolutely wonderful and sooooooo patient and skillful. The principal is way above average with her leadership and dedication for the school. The wonderfully beautiful secretaries are so kind and happy! They really put the school way above average! On top of all of this, we have an excellent sports program that teaches sportsmanship as well as skill. The coaches are WONDERFUL!!!!!!! This school is amazing and I would reccomend it to anyone looking for a five- star school!


Posted March 8, 2010

excellent school where the principal,teachers and staff excel to educate your child to their utmost ability. Top notch resource room and inclusive classrooms.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 4, 2009

Great atmosphere, caring staff and well prepared educators. Perfect!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 12, 2009

St. William is a great school. The principal is top notch, as are the teachers. The parents are extremely involved. I would recommend this school to anyone who wants a great education coupled with strong Catholic values.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 28, 2006

This school is a wonderful school for any family who wishes for their children to have a quality, Catholic education. The principal and staff members are all excellent, as is the curriculum and availability of extracurricular activities, which include sports, choir, etc. St. William sticks to the true spirit of a Catholic school; to teach and nurture students eager to learn and be a part of God's family. It's certainly not one of the parochial schools that have become nooty, mediocre schools with students whom express poor behavior. Without a doubt, St. William definitely receives an A+!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
African-American 98% 19%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 3%
White 1% 69%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Hispanic 0% 6%
Multiracial 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 7:50 am
School end time
  • 2:45 pm
School Leader's name
  • Mrs. Linda Jackson
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Fax number
  • (248) 669-2245

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of Detroit
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

135 O Flaherty Street
Walled Lake, MI 48390
Website: Click here
Phone: (248) 669-4440

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT