Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Fitzgerald Senior High School

Public | 9-12 | 910 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

17 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 4, 2013

I love that the school has finally started to turn around over the past few years. My daughter loves the staff and the increase in higher level classes has caused our family to remain here at Fitz.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 18, 2012

My parents took my sister out because of the level and slow paced learning she was getting. The teachers seem nice and all but being in the lower income of Warren this school is what you expect. It is not dangerous or anything to attend but kind of trashy. I would say the same as Hazel park which is where I went to,


Posted June 8, 2011

Fitz is a great school especially in the tech department where there are courses such as auto tech, engineering and web designing. Those courses not found at Fitz are offered by Fitz in different programs such as MMSTC and consortium classes. I have so many opputunities here in the Fittz district than i had back in my old district.The staffs at Fitz are among the most supportive, understanding and hardworking. The staffs and students and the parent community at Fitz help students reach their goals and learn to the best of their ability.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 19, 2010

I think fitz is a great school that provides us a great and safe environment to learn. It has courses that will get us ready for the real life...
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 16, 2009

My son wil graduate in June 2009; he is attending the U. S. Coast Guard Academy and getting a free college education and a career along with it; perhaps the parent who does not like Fitz should encourage their child to be a better student. Mine seems to be doing OK. School is what you make of it
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 20, 2008

I am the mother of four kids. Two of my kids attended Fitz. If your child is college bound, Fitz will disappoint. Fitz does not offer a lot of higher level/ challenging classes, especially in math and science. My daughter a recent CMU graduate, struggled a bit because classes weren't offered that CMU thought should have been. My other child, a son, choose not to attend college and learn a trade. If your child want to learn a lifelong skill, Fitz is great! If your child has college goals, look elsewhere.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 7, 2007

The Fitzgerald district is one of the most proactive districts in the county. Despite the rumors, there are textbooks for students, there is a policy enforced that academic achievement (2.0 or higher) will take place prior to extracurriculars and athletics, and the minority students in the district either reside here or are tested and enter through one of the excellent academy opportunities. The only thing lacking in this district is parents who get involved rather than complain from the sidelines. It would also be helpful if people realized that the building improvements are paid for from a fund that can not be used to pay for education costs. To go along with the dedication of the staff, there is a proud tradition of the Fitz Family. Teachers, staff, involved parents and the board of education truly care about the whole child. You cannot place your student in a more caring environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 18, 2007

Fitzgeralkd High School is a top notch school in the Metro Detroit Area to send your child. Its situated right outside the Detroit/Warren border and has one of the most divese student populations I have ever seen. The school body has to contain at least 1200 students in which half are white, another half or probaly by now more than half) are black, with a great mix of Arab, Asian and Hispanic Americans. I enrolled them 2 miles up to Fitzgerald where they have a superb auto program, music program, brand new facility, excellent teacher staff, new books, and a proud athletic tradition. As the Detroit Public School system is going thru turmoil right now and youre looking to move your children somewhere: Move them to Fitz!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 8, 2006

I am a recent graduate from FHS. I am currently attending Macomb Academy. While I was attending FHS I was apart of the Symphony Band. I have to say that if you were going to this school and you have an ear for music I encourage you to take part in it. The band is like family.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted September 19, 2006

As a proud parent of 2 recent graduates of Fitz, most noticeable lacking was the blatant lack of counselor involvement, especially in college placement, assisting students in choosing both direction and applicable colleges. Whatever happened to 'College Prep' courses to ready the student for the next step? Also, students were not guided to avenues to obtain scholarships,grants, etc. open to them, one on one. Students just aren't being sufficiently readied for a future, one they must now decide without guidance, rather just to be graduated. Also, rarely is there an up-to-date 'textbook' available for every student, only printouts or copies. I know funding is tough, but no books? We did vote-in a millage, yes? Very disappointing as the students graduate very disillusioned about their individual future prospects. I originally Chose to live here Because of the schools, ......I thought wrong? No wonder other countries have leaped ahead of us
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 6, 2006

FItzgerald is a great school to get an education.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted May 3, 2006

I am a former student who graduated in the 1990 s; I feel FHS prepared me well for both college and life. The teachers and coaches actual took interest in their students and were not there just there to collect a pay check. They provided me with a good balance between academics and extra curricular activities, which I still hold dear to this day. With out this foundation I would have not been able to graduate with my MS in engineering and achieve the professional lifestyle I live today.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted March 22, 2006

I love Fitz I mean come on I used to go to this school and it was the best I liked it a lot because of the curricular program and the teachers were great they cared about everything that we needed to do to accomplish our goals so we can achieve in the world its self, this school isnt bad it actually is pretty good and the teachers take to exception to their students and are really great, they help us alot, and the counsalers are good too, and the principle is pretty cool too.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted November 4, 2005

This school is very style oriented, the funding seems to go to the comfort of the office staff, not student achievement. The special ed program is extremely bad, no support for students. My 2 kids have been removed from this school. When they transferred, the new school could not believe the sloppy curriculum they had recieved. I do no recommend this school to any one looking for a quality education for their child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2005

At fitzgerald athletics are NOT priority over acedemics. All coaches and teachers are informed and maintain the policy of students not playing in their events if their grade falls below average. Fitzgerald has many extracurricular activities including a forensics team, i great performing and fine arts acadamy, auto tech, computer tech, the greatest student and band council around, art club, SADD, Asian club, pretty much anything you can think of, Fitzgerald has. All students are encouraged and taken care of at all times. The principle, teachers, councilors, administrators and all other staff are great and show authority, education, and kindness. As a student, I am proud to go to Fitzgerald, and count myself lucky that Fitzgerald has so much to offer!
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 28, 2005

The academic programs of this school are very limited to engineering and music programs, offering very little for any other programs including science. The counselors are not helpful at all, It seems as if their top priority is to balance class size regardless of student interest. This year the school seems to be enforcing the policies, but it is hurting the students more than it is helping. Unless your child is planning on music or sports, I do not recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 1, 2005

At Fitzgerald athletics take priority over academics, and policies are not enforced. The couseling staff we experienced lacked knowledge in many areas. Communication was poor. If you want your child to get a good education, this school might not be the best choice.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 26% in 2014.

244 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
7%

2013

 
 
10%

2011

 
 
15%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 29% in 2014.

186 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
7%

2013

 
 
11%

2012

 
 
8%

2011

 
 
5%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 59% in 2014.

187 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
38%

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
36%

2011

 
 
34%
Science

The state average for Science was 28% in 2014.

186 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
8%

2013

 
 
11%

2012

 
 
9%

2011

 
 
9%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 44% in 2014.

186 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
23%

2013

 
 
24%

2012

 
 
23%

2011

 
 
23%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2014.

187 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
28%

2013

 
 
30%

2012

 
 
27%

2011

 
 
27%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Merit Examination (MME) to assess students in grade 11 in reading, writing, math, science and social studies. The MME is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MME test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

All Students7%
Female6%
Male8%
African American3%
Asian11%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White11%
Economically disadvantaged6%
Students with disabilities0%
Students without disabilities8%
English language learners0%
Migrantn/a
Homelessn/a

Reading

All Students38%
Female42%
Male34%
African American29%
Asian40%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White50%
Economically disadvantaged33%
Students with disabilities0%
Students without disabilities41%
English language learners23%
Migrantn/a
Homelessn/a

Science

All Students8%
Female4%
Male12%
African American2%
Asian11%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White15%
Economically disadvantaged6%
Students with disabilities7%
Students without disabilities8%
English language learners5%
Migrantn/a
Homelessn/a

Social Studies

All Students23%
Female18%
Male29%
African American13%
Asian26%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White35%
Economically disadvantaged19%
Students with disabilities0%
Students without disabilities25%
English language learners5%
Migrantn/a
Homelessn/a

Writing

All Students28%
Female32%
Male23%
African American16%
Asian37%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White37%
Economically disadvantaged26%
Students with disabilities0%
Students without disabilities30%
English language learners14%
Migrantn/a
Homelessn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Merit Examination (MME) to assess students in grade 11 in reading, writing, math, science and social studies. The MME is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MME test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
College readiness rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

19%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Michigan. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

College readiness rating 20132What's this?

College readiness rating combines this high school's graduation rates with data about college entrance exams, both of which are indicators of how well schools are preparing students for success in college and beyond.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

ACT participation

90%

Average ACT score

17

Graduation rate

90%


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

2 This rating is based on composite ACT scores from 2012-13 and four-year adjusted graduation rates from 2011-12. ACT participation represents the percentage of 11th graders taking the ACT. Because the ACT is mandated in Michigan high schools, ACT participation is NOT included in the GreatSchools rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
African-American 45% 18%
White 37% 69%
Asian 13% 3%
Hispanic 2% 6%
American Indian 1% 1%
Multiracial 1% 2%
Native Hawaiian N/A 0%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 81%N/A48%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Carl Shultz
Fax number
  • (586) 620-6372

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special education
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

23200 Ryan Road
Warren, MI 48091
Phone: (586) 757-7070

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Hazel Park High School
Hazel Park, MI



Rising Stars Academy
Center Line, MI



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT