Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Mound Park Elementary School

Public | K-5 & ungraded | 351 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars


Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 9, 2010

I think Mound park is a great school. My 2 kids are attending M. Park . Thanks for the teachers and for Mr. Desarbo for doing a great job...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 28, 2009

I attended Mound Park when I was a child, and I was very proud to have my child attend there also. However, there is a terrible bullying situation happening that NO ONE, including the Board of Education, principal or teachers handles. Some children are allowed to bully others to the point that it impacts their education. My child will no longer be attending Mound Park.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 14, 2009

I rate Mound Park as the absolute best!!! I have never been to another school where the staff goes 'above and beyond'--always. The teachers and principals keep a safe, caring & clean environment for the students! I would never allow my children to go to any other school!! Great job Mr DeSarbo & every single teacher--we are lucky to have all of you in our childrens lives.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 6, 2008

I have 3 kids at mound park ,i could ask for better,they have gret teachers ,like mrs.mueller , and a principal that do hes best.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 3, 2007

I've had my 1st child at mound park over 17years ago, and now I have my twins there, the school has improved greatly, clean, very friendly atmosphere, the principal is one of the best! he is very easy to talk to, and eager to help in any situation. The teachers are all top notch. Great place for learning
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 13, 2006

After moving from Warren Consolidated to Fitzgerald school, I've found that Mound Park offered more stability, encouragement and effort to and for my son who was already diagnosed with AD/HD. All of the teachers (one of them is principal now) were absolutely wonderful. My son will always remember two people, especially, who made a positive difference in his attitude about school. The principal is everyone's 'pal' at Mound Park!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 31, 2006

We recently moved from another district. I am completely impressed with what I have found here at Mound Park. The principal is very visible and clearly cares about his students. The teachers are very good. The students are very well behaved.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 12, 2005

Some of the teachers are great some of them aren't worth the paper their degree is printed on. The principal tries to do a good job. He has improved the school since the last principal left. There are not enough programs for the children that excel. They cater to the child that is below average. Unfortunately I think they are average for Public School. Which doesn't say much for our public school system.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 1, 2005

Overall Mound Park is a decent school, though students fall through the cracks, unnoticed by a few teachers. The new principal is doing a great job, and the facilities are in good condition.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 15, 2005

A great school!!! Teachers go above and beyond. The principal is supportive and is loved by all.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 1, 2004

Poor school leadership. Parents may be involved with the school, but the lack of disipline in and out of school are a big concern. Serious behavioral problems in the school are repeatedly over-looked, thus leading to students believing they can get away with 'bad behavior.' I do love the teaching staff. They are a great bunch of men and women. With a stronger authority figure in charge I think Mound Park is capable of being one of the 'better' schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 9, 2004

You will not find a better school! There is something for every student to get involved in. You will not find more parental involvement anywhere! From activity nights, to sports, to helping in the classrooms-parents are everywhere-it is great.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2014.

57 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
26%

2013

 
 
28%

2012

 
 
16%

2011

 
 
16%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

57 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
46%

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
40%

2011

 
 
40%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

50 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
30%

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
21%

2011

 
 
21%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2014.

48 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
46%

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
49%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2014.

48 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
44%

2013

 
 
25%

2011

 
 
28%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

51 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
43%

2013

 
 
31%

2012

 
 
38%

2011

 
 
38%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2014.

50 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
70%

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
50%
Science

The state average for Science was 17% in 2014.

57 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
9%

2013

 
 
0%

2011

 
 
10%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

19%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Michigan. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 net growth (significant improvement/improvement - significant decrease/decrease) according to Performance Level Changes from the state of Michigan.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
African-American 38% 18%
White 37% 69%
Asian 17% 3%
Multiracial 5% 2%
Hispanic 3% 6%
American Indian N/A 1%
Native Hawaiian N/A 0%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 86%N/A48%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Special education
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Hearing impairments
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Ms. Denye Griessel
Fax number
  • (586) 620-6085

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special education
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Hearing impairments
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5356 Toepfer Rd
Warren, MI 48091
Phone: (586) 757-7590

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT