Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Lincoln High School

Public | 9-12 | 806 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

29 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 13, 2014

Lincoln High continues to improve. They provide a wonderful selection of AP classes for their students. I was delightfully surprised because we moved from Saline to Lincoln and I had heard negative comments from a Saline parent. I'm thrilled that parent was wrong. My daughter loves the school and appreciates the diversity. The communication with the teachers is also very good.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 16, 2014

lincoln is a great school and has excellent staff members that are willing to help you but a lot of kids come from detroit to get an education and i love going to school at lincoln. we have awesome band programs and we have marching and all kinds of sports. we even have free lunchs for everyone including those who cant pay which is great.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 22, 2013

Lincoln High School has seen some amazing growth and changes. The principal is incredibly dedicated to the student's growth, learning and promotion of a safe atmosphere. I highly reccomend this school


Posted July 25, 2011

The School District and community has been going through a great amount of change and it has been hard for the community to adjust to the change. Their priority has always been on activities, clubs and vocational classes. It really is not the school they remember - but it is far better because it is preparing our kids for the future that they really face! The district is doing anything they can to include parents and community is it's goal to make their district a place where EVERY student learns. My son has been helped more than any other school he has ever attended and went from being a possible drop-out to being in all college bound classes. The teachers and the administrators work very hard for every student to be successful and they are always looking for parents to help out wherever they can.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 14, 2011

None of the information indicated under the extracurricular classes, languages, or other information is correct. My oldest daughter graduated in 2010, and I have a step-son in 9th grade special ed., and my middle daughter was supposed to go in as a freshman next year, but we are moving away from here. I refuse to let my kids go to these schools anymore. No kid left behind means no kid gets a good education either. These kids do not know spelling and/or punctuation, math, or essentially anything else necessary to function in society. Most parents don't care about their kids education or anything else about their kids here. They treat the school as if it was a babysitting service so they don't have to take care of their kids or teach them anything.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 6, 2010

Lincoln High School has some of the greatest, underfunded staff, that you could hope to find in the increasingly impoverishing neighborhood of south Warren. However, the majority of the students at LHS lack discipline and motivation, which needs to be corrected not only where they attend school, but by the parents themselves. Therefore, the real importance lies with the parents motivating their children to succeed and not to rely on sending them to a better school system to correct it. (i.e making sure your children are reinforced with the knowledge of the importance of getting an education, and staying away from any detours, such as drugs)
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 20, 2009

lincoln has such supporting teachers. they really make you feel welcomed and they make sure you understand everything. if all the students work as hard as the teachers Lincoln would be the first if rated out of ten.


Posted May 12, 2009

i think that Lincolns rate should be a 10 because all the teachers are great and all of the students there are really nice and they are one big family. everyone gets along with everyone from the goths to the jocks.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 7, 2009

I graduated from Lincoln in 2006. Because of this school and most of the teachers, I have become who I am today. The attendance policy was great. It was strict, but there are far worse policies and schools. Lincoln's downfall is that the students just dont care. I went back to visit the school, in the spring of 08, and I will say that Lincoln has stepped up the security since I graduated. They now have cameras and things like that. Yeah we had the occasional fight or things like that, but there was never any carving of anything like nazi symbols and such. When a child acts out in school, they are just looking for attention because they do not get it at home. So parents before you criticize the school, look at how much attention you show them and try to help them like most of the teachers do.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 11, 2008

Lincoln is a good school it just need some finishing touches and need more teachers and more parents attending conferences and supporting the school's choices...
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 21, 2008

This school really needs help as far as teacher and student relationship. Drugs, skipping and numerous problems with the office staff that have poor people skills. I could write alot more but ? I belive in praying in stead of saying. But one thing is for sure my child will not attend next year or anyone that I come in contact with that ask me, my opinion about Lincoln High School. They are creating a mess for Warren M.I.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 6, 2008

This school is awful. At Lincolh HS and middle school, you're going to school with the children of unstable, poor adults. Many of the students are unmotivated. The culture of apathy destroys the ambitions of most students. Not only that, but Lincoln HS and middle school are dangerous. There's a general climate of hostility at this school. Bullying is epidemic. When I was at this school, the faculty and administration weren't stopping it. With the culture of apathy and hostility, most serious, bright students don't stand a chance here. The school unfortunately doesn't know how to deal with the often neglected, and sometimes abused children of unstable, poor adults. I encourage you to stay out of this district at all costs.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 4, 2007

I gratuated in 2004. Vandyke publice schools are and have been for quite some time, in a bad condition. No educational value to students. No concern for the welfare students. Much racial tension as well. Big drug and violence problem. Not enough books for students, but plenty of athletic funding.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 4, 2007

LHS attendance policy that is way to strict on the child . Teachers who quality of teaching and attitudes towards children is under rated.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 18, 2007

I graduated from Lincoln in 06. It wasn't the best school, but It was most definitely not as bad as most of you are making it out to be. I loved most of my teachers. My only problem was the art program. There isn't nearly enough variety. All of the classes were the same. The attendance polocy is good. It teaches kids how it's going to be in the real world. I almost always felt safe, too.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted January 3, 2007

Overall I think Lincoln is an ok school. Yeah Lincoln has its ups and downs but I think its the students who give it all the downs. The teachers try but they can only take so much, they cant force a child to learn if their not willing in any way. The teachers cant be punished for the students ignorance or even the ignorance of their parents. I myself was fed up with a lot of the students and I happen to notice a lot of those students parents didn't care much either. I think that if some students would show a little bit of respect and weren't so immature Lincoln would be a better school!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted November 29, 2006

I graduated from LHS in the early 90's. My step-children go there now. The attendance policy is terrible as described by other parents, it doesn't matter if you have a doctors note or not you get a form letter stating your child has unexcused absences. Some of the classes are out of control the teachers even agree. My step-daughter ask's to go to the library so she can concentrate and work.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2006

People have no idea what they are talking about. Lincoln High School is a great school. The teachers here are the most caring and helping teachers you could ever think of. Not every high school is perfect. -Stephanie
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 11, 2006

This school district is the worst. It's not only lack of parent involvement it's lack of teacher involvement. If your child is not honor roll or athletic they don't have a chance. No one here will go out on a limb for a child who has problems, or just needs a little encouragement.They would rather expel a child than help one!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 27, 2006

Lincoln High School is what it is. My sister and I graduated the same year. She finished in the top 5% of our class I finished in the bottom 5%. She took school seriously I did not. We have the same parents so my point is 'If the kid doesnt want an education nobody can force him to get one. I would like to thank Mr. Yanolaki a math teacher who taught basic math classes to the 'non honor roll' students. His classes were taught in away that was funny and he managed to keep most of our attention. Because of him and a little disciple I picked up in the USMC, I have not earned less than 100k in the last six years. Thanks again Mr. Yanolaki.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 26% in 2014.

157 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
7%

2013

 
 
14%

2011

 
 
8%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 29% in 2014.

168 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
10%

2013

 
 
5%

2012

 
 
9%

2011

 
 
2%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 59% in 2014.

168 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
35%

2013

 
 
28%

2012

 
 
31%

2011

 
 
15%
Science

The state average for Science was 28% in 2014.

169 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
7%

2013

 
 
5%

2012

 
 
8%

2011

 
 
2%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 44% in 2014.

168 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
14%

2013

 
 
9%

2012

 
 
17%

2011

 
 
10%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2014.

170 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
24%

2013

 
 
21%

2012

 
 
27%

2011

 
 
13%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Merit Examination (MME) to assess students in grade 11 in reading, writing, math, science and social studies. The MME is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MME test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

All Students10%
Female8%
Male12%
African American1%
Asian40%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracial0%
Native Americann/a
White18%
Economically disadvantaged7%
Students with disabilities0%
Students without disabilities12%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Homelessn/a

Reading

All Students35%
Female41%
Male29%
African American21%
Asian50%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracial47%
Native Americann/a
White45%
Economically disadvantaged32%
Students with disabilities7%
Students without disabilities41%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Homelessn/a

Science

All Students7%
Female3%
Male10%
African American3%
Asian30%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracial0%
Native Americann/a
White10%
Economically disadvantaged5%
Students with disabilities0%
Students without disabilities8%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Homelessn/a

Social Studies

All Students14%
Female11%
Male17%
African American3%
Asian50%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracial13%
Native Americann/a
White25%
Economically disadvantaged10%
Students with disabilities0%
Students without disabilities18%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Homelessn/a

Writing

All Students24%
Female29%
Male19%
African American12%
Asian40%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracial27%
Native Americann/a
White31%
Economically disadvantaged20%
Students with disabilities3%
Students without disabilities28%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Homelessn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Merit Examination (MME) to assess students in grade 11 in reading, writing, math, science and social studies. The MME is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MME test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Below average

Test score rating
College readiness rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

19%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Michigan. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

College readiness rating 20132What's this?

College readiness rating combines this high school's graduation rates with data about college entrance exams, both of which are indicators of how well schools are preparing students for success in college and beyond.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

ACT participation

88%

Average ACT score

16

Graduation rate

74%


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

2 This rating is based on composite ACT scores from 2012-13 and four-year adjusted graduation rates from 2011-12. ACT participation represents the percentage of 11th graders taking the ACT. Because the ACT is mandated in Michigan high schools, ACT participation is NOT included in the GreatSchools rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
African-American 50% 18%
White 34% 69%
Asian 7% 3%
Multiracial 7% 2%
Hispanic 2% 6%
American Indian 0% 1%
Native Hawaiian 0% 0%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 64%N/A48%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr. Thomas Hill
Fax number
  • (586) 758-8304

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

22900 Federal Ave
Warren, MI 48089
Website: Click here
Phone: (586) 758-8306

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Rising Stars Academy
Center Line, MI


Center Line High School
Center Line, MI


Academy 21
Center Line, MI





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT