Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Warren Mott High School

Public | 9-12 | 1825 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

24 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 13, 2014

Unfortunately, I was forced to designate at least one star in order to post my comment. I say that because in reading the posts in this forum, I could not help but notice the abysmal grammar and "unusual" syntax of many of the students, and sadly, that of their parents as well. If these students are reflective of this school's academic output, I wouldn't send my child there. It was interesting to note how many commented positively about the extracurricular activities, but how very few, if any, mentioned the academic program. We are supposed to be sending our children to high school to prepare them for higher education, not to participate in band or other social clubs. Get your acts together, people! If the school's administration bothered to read these comments, perhaps they might implement the obvious changes that need to be made. I'm afraid I have a better chance at winning the lottery than seeing that come about.


Posted March 31, 2014

As I look over the grammar from students that attend this school, along with the grammar from THEIR (that's how you spell it) parents, I can say with great confidence that I'm glad I'm moving to an area with a better school district later this month. Hopefully they teach English at Anchor Bay schools.


Posted July 17, 2013

My daughter is class of 2014 and has been there since 9th grade. Mott is pretty good but some of the teachers are horrible! If your student has any problems in there class they could be in trouble! They don't care about the children at all and try to make them feel bad about needing help. Most of them are pretty good though. There band is about the best in the state. Not a bad school overall.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 23, 2012

I attended Warren Mott for the entire duration of my high school experience (graduating in '09). While of course it was not perfect, and there were teachers that were frustrating for me at time times, there were plenty of wonderful staff members (that I am still in contact with this day) and other wonderful programs. While I was there, the school had plenty of after school activities to get involved in, such as clubs (like the writing club, book club, French club, etc.), an amazinggg band program, and various sports. I was also involved in Link Crew and NHS. I grew so much from the school and had plenty of support from the various staff members there that taught me. I agree with another comment above - there were groups of friends, but there were not "cliques" in the sense that you were ONLY allowed to hang out with preps, or goths, or something. People talked to whomever they wanted to talk to. It was a nice, welcoming place.


Posted December 11, 2010

i am a student at warren mott high school and i must say that the school is ok. they are really strict when it comes to grades and attendance. they make u wear certain color id depends on the grade u r in. GREEN-FRESHMEN BLUE-SOPHMORE -YELLOW-JUINIOR AND BURGANY-SENIOR. its very complicated to learn your way around the school if u r a new student though. there is no 2nd floor everything is in seperate departments. there is a south house,west house,and north house. the school has alot of programs like an oppotunity fotr students to participate in the morning announcements. i am a student and i am in drama class. they dnt have any stage or anytthing its just a regular class. and i'd personally rate the school a 4. it's ok im alright with it. it has alot of african americans. tons of caldeans and of course mostly whites. NO SEGREGATION IN ANY RACIST WAY. OR SEGREGATION LIKE EMOS POPULAR CROWD, OUTCAST OR EVEN LAMES. EVERYONE TALKS TO EVERYONE SO I GUESS THATS GOOD. but yea anyways the school isnt all that. so if u wana come to warren mott high school you are more than welcome too.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 28, 2010

Great school! Well organized, great sports programs and great teachers. I'm happy to have my kids attend Mott.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 9, 2010

I love the school , its a very fun school , I Love it! best School in WCS.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 20, 2009

Warren Mott has a great variety of programs and offerings for students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

The staff is not good at all. They seem to have a negative attitude to every body, its very alerting to me that my 15 year old daughter goes there, I do not think she is recieving the correct education. The teachers are absolutely impossible to work with..
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

The school is probaley the best in warren district. Great school. Needs more police. Needs to be more interesting.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 31, 2009

Great great school!!! staff is always willing to help. And it would and always have been my favoite school of choise in warren
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 3, 2008

Band program is fantastic won't find a better one in this state. On the other hand if you have a struggling student not exactly the greatest place for them, some teachers have an attitude you get it or you don't my student is in 11th grade and has a teacher this semester that says one thing and does whatever they want , it's a shame that teachers aren't held accountable as the students are.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 2, 2008

Agendas arent given anymore and the teachers are not that great. My son has a hard time grasping some concepts and my husand is the one teaching him his math
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 28, 2008

Spent all four years of high school at Mott. I lived in sterling heights and was supposed to attend Sterling Heights high school, but choose to go to Mott because I felt i received a better education there.


Posted June 8, 2008

I'm a Freshman at Mott, and I wouldn't want to go to school any where else. Mott has a safe environment, and teachers that DO care about how we as students are doing. Are Bands, are Athletics and are after school activies are amazing. Your kid will have fun here, and go to a great school to get a good education.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 9, 2007

My Family has been at Warren Mott for the past eight years. My oldest is now a Junior in College and I have a current Senior there. I love everything about Warren Mott. The staff encourages the students with a wide variety of extra curricular activities even if they are not involved in sports or band. My entire family will miss the school for a few years until our youngest(currently a sixth grader) is enrolled. Keep up the great work Warren Mott Staff!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 29, 2006

I am currently enrolled at Warren Mott High School as a senior. I have gone there for my entire high school career. There are many different subject areas to be enrolled in. The staff is not only friendly but they work with you to help and make you achieve. This school year (2006-2007) some new changes have been made to ensure the safety of students, all persons in the building are required to wear ID badges to help protect the students. No one is allowed in the school without one. The security staff is friendly and truly care about the safety of the students, if there is anything that needs to be taken care they take care of it ASAP. The counselors work with every student individually to make sure they will graduate on time and have all their required credits. The school is also a Blue Ribbon School.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 19, 2006

After my daughter attended another school, and then became homeschooled, I found Warren Mott! This is a wonderful high school, offering both excellent academics and extracurricular activities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 21, 2006

'Warren Mott is one of the best school's I have been to. The teachers are great at helping students out with there work. There is a wide variety of classes to take. There are many activities that go on after school such as softball, baseball, basketball, football, soccer and many more. I always see parents at the school helping out for different things. The secruity of the school is also top notch to protect the students with a police officer always on duty. Warren Mott is truly a great school'
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 19, 2005

This is one of the worst schools I have ever been to. I went to this school for 1 year and hated it. The security is lacking. the teachers are not very good. MEAP scores are incredibly low. This school is just not what it should be, and I will make sure my 2 year old daughter never goes here.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 26% in 2014.

462 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
18%

2013

 
 
16%

2011

 
 
21%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 29% in 2014.

441 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
18%

2013

 
 
22%

2012

 
 
24%

2011

 
 
22%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 59% in 2014.

443 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
51%

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
43%
Science

The state average for Science was 28% in 2014.

444 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
15%

2013

 
 
17%

2012

 
 
15%

2011

 
 
18%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 44% in 2014.

442 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
34%

2013

 
 
30%

2012

 
 
33%

2011

 
 
34%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2014.

432 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
49%

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
42%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Merit Examination (MME) to assess students in grade 11 in reading, writing, math, science and social studies. The MME is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MME test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

All Students18%
Female17%
Male19%
African American11%
Asian18%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White20%
Economically disadvantaged10%
Students with disabilities2%
Students without disabilities20%
English language learners1%
Migrantn/a
Homelessn/a

Reading

All Students51%
Female58%
Male46%
African American42%
Asian59%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White52%
Economically disadvantaged41%
Students with disabilities22%
Students without disabilities55%
English language learners12%
Migrantn/a
Homelessn/a

Science

All Students15%
Female11%
Male18%
African American6%
Asian12%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White18%
Economically disadvantaged8%
Students with disabilities2%
Students without disabilities17%
English language learners0%
Migrantn/a
Homelessn/a

Social Studies

All Students34%
Female32%
Male36%
African American22%
Asian28%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White38%
Economically disadvantaged24%
Students with disabilities9%
Students without disabilities38%
English language learners6%
Migrantn/a
Homelessn/a

Writing

All Students49%
Female56%
Male43%
African American22%
Asian55%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White55%
Economically disadvantaged38%
Students with disabilities11%
Students without disabilities54%
English language learners10%
Migrantn/a
Homelessn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Merit Examination (MME) to assess students in grade 11 in reading, writing, math, science and social studies. The MME is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MME test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
College readiness rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

19%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Michigan. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

College readiness rating 20132What's this?

College readiness rating combines this high school's graduation rates with data about college entrance exams, both of which are indicators of how well schools are preparing students for success in college and beyond.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

ACT participation

92%

Average ACT score

19

Graduation rate

83%


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

2 This rating is based on composite ACT scores from 2012-13 and four-year adjusted graduation rates from 2011-12. ACT participation represents the percentage of 11th graders taking the ACT. Because the ACT is mandated in Michigan high schools, ACT participation is NOT included in the GreatSchools rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 71% 69%
African-American 14% 18%
Asian 12% 3%
Multiracial 2% 2%
American Indian 1% 1%
Hispanic 1% 6%
Native Hawaiian 0% 0%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 63%N/A48%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3131 East 12 Mile Road
Warren, MI 48092
Website: Click here
Phone: (586) 574-3250

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Temple Christian Academy
Madison Heights, MI






Lamphere Center
Madison Heights, MI


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT