Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Green Acres Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 501 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 25, 2013

This is a GREAT school. The teachers and staff are very approachable and always available. My children attend Green Acres and love it! The workload for the students is a lot and teacher expectations are high...that is, to say, they expect the students to work hard and try their best...but the assignments are always fresh to keep the students engaged and interested.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 5, 2012

GREEN ACRES ELEMENTRY SCHOOL, IT IS A GREAT SCHOOL!!! Few problems that I can tell you that happened to my son, one incident happened when my son a attended KG, he was bullied by a 5th grader which happened during recess time. The fifth grader was putting my son on the ground and sitting on him, that really upset and scared me, I sometime worry about that but the problem was resolved after I notified the principle,the reason i was upset because the incident happened for 3 days and nobody noticed. Another incident that happened was my son classmate pushed him of the swing and only punishment his classmate received was time out from recess. The last one was the lunch mom who was serving lunch did not give my son the lunch that he wanted but again the issue was resolved next my the principle. Thank you for reading
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 26, 2012

My daughter is entering her 3rd year at Green Acres and I love the school. She is going into the 2nd grade and she is very smart! She reads very well for her age and also likes to help other children with their reading. I love Mrs. McHaney, she was the best teacher and she always responded to any concerns I had. My daughter had a few problems with other children picking on her, but the problem was address and resolved very quickly. I use their latchkey program also and I love that too! This is a great school and I don't want to go anywhere else.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 5, 2010

I used the School of Choice option to send my child to this lovely little school, starting with kindergarten. The building and grounds are kept clean and in good repair. The media center is a nice size for the size of the school. I really like that the classrooms have emergency exit doors. There are 3-4 'safeties' in the parking lot every day to control traffic. More often than not, parents of the younger children stand with them until the bell rings, and then return to take them from the school door to the car. We've gone through a couple different principals in the last couple of years, but I haven't seen any real issues. Parent involvement is excellent and the teachers are dedicated. Mrs. Bajis and Mrs. McHaney are particularly wonderful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 3, 2009

my grandson really enjoys going to green acres.He likes and respects his teacher,I am very pleased with his proformance .


Posted October 30, 2008

My kids and I love this school. The teachers, principal and the staff are amazing. The PTO is great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 20, 2006

Green Acres is a great school, they do not make our children clean with dirty sponges or anything of the sort. The PTO is great, the problem is the lack of parents that participate in it! Teachers are great as well. Over all, this is a wonderful school, why else would we have been voted National Blue Ribbon, not just a Michigan Blue Ribbon school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 26, 2005

I'm suddenly disappointed with the school, the PTO and the principal. The only thing good about it is the teachers and some of the parents who really care about the school. The school is making changes without discussing it with the parents and trying to hide it. No child should be responsible to clean a lunch room table with a cleaner and sponge. And, this is not being done as a punishment. This is going to be the new standard. Along with ettiquette classes and an older student correcting the younger students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 8, 2005

We switched our children to Green Acres from a parochial school that we were very unhappy with. We've been here for three years now and have been impressed with the high quality of both the academics and the extra curricular activities. The teachers we have had so far have been exceptional. We also like the classroom choices that are offered here (looping, multi-age, traditional). Our experience is that the level of communication between the parents and the teachers has been good: classroom newsletters, e-mails, phone-calls with concerns. As for the principle, I do agree she does not seem very approachable. But, she was very helpful to us when we were switching schools and took the time to answer all of our questions.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 4, 2005

I also agree that the principal lacks leadership abilities. The main thing that bothers me about this principal is the lack of communication between her and parents. I've called and left messages for her with no response at all! The other thing that bothers me is that at assemblies and ceremonies, she yells at the children for clapping and cheering. They are kids! At the D.A.R.E. graduation she boomed into the microphone that there is to be no applause when each child received their certificate. There are many other issues I have with this school, but will remain silent and be happy that my family is moving out of this school district. The only plus is Mrs. McHaney (1st grade teacher). She is wonderful!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2014.

92 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
32%

2013

 
 
33%

2012

 
 
35%

2011

 
 
35%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

91 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
51%

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
57%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

75 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
36%

2013

 
 
36%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
45%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2014.

74 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
64%

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
70%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2014.

74 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
46%

2013

 
 
40%

2011

 
 
47%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

79 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
34%

2013

 
 
30%

2012

 
 
33%

2011

 
 
33%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2014.

78 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
73%

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
64%
Science

The state average for Science was 17% in 2014.

84 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
8%

2013

 
 
15%

2011

 
 
14%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

19%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Michigan. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Above average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 net growth (significant improvement/improvement - significant decrease/decrease) according to Performance Level Changes from the state of Michigan.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 78% 69%
Asian 9% 3%
African-American 8% 18%
Multiracial 3% 2%
Hispanic 2% 6%
American Indian 0% 1%
Native Hawaiian N/A 0%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 59%N/A48%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Ms. Stacey Byle
Fax number
  • (586) 698-4341

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4655 Holmes Dr
Warren, MI 48092
Website: Click here
Phone: (586) 825-2890

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Harwood Elementary School
Sterling Heights, MI


Angus Elementary School
Sterling Heights, MI




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT