Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-5
Public
Warren, MI
Students enrolled: 540

4 stars
Based on 7 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


8 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Lean Elementary School 4

Posted June 14, 2014
- a parent
Our daughter attended Kindergarten through Second grade so far at Pearl Lean. Now that school dismissed for the summer I was disappointed to learn our district decided to send the children in our neighborhood to another school. The teachers in each year were excellent, especially the attention to each child's needs. They were caring in each year and truly excellent teachers. Unfortunately, in this district you have a lot of parents who are not as involved with their students scholastic development as you find in some of the wealthier districts. This detracts and hurts the whole. We met with the principle to discuss items twice, obtaining RAZ kids for our class and the following years class and both times he was extremely professional, accommodating and balanced and went out of his way to assist. There is a problem with overcrowding and thus the need to move our neighborhood's kids to a new school. We are willing to drive our daughter to Lean (no bus offered in this situation) just to keep her in a superior school.

Lean Elementary School 1

Posted May 20, 2014
- a parent
The principal of this school is extremely dismissive and unhelpful if there is a problem with the staff. The staff divulges private information about students to other parents. The principal does not take concerns seriously and does not do his best to protect the best interests of the students. Classes are too large. When there is a problem in class, routine response from teachers is that they can't possibly watch all of the kids all of the time. Constantly watching videos in art, in class, in music, etc. Office staff is rude to children and adults.


Lean Elementary School 3

Posted April 25, 2013
- a parent
This school is good, however the class sizes are too big. The student/ teacher ratio is on average 26 students per class. It seems like the teachers are never in their classrooms teaching. They are always getting subs to go to meetings and/or being taught by student teachers.

Lean Elementary School 3

Posted August 28, 2012
- a parent
I would have given this school at higher rating but we have run into a few problems this past year with the principal that I just can't bring myself to a higher rating. He stands behind the teachers, which is a good thing...but when they're wrong, should make his own decisions. The teachers have always been friendly as well as office staff. They have a lot of students who need additional help and because of that, feel like they don't spend time challenging the brighter children. Lots of parent involvement and contests/asseblies which we liked. Too much fundraising... A nice little school if you want a safe environment with just OK academic options.

Lean Elementary School 5

Posted June 21, 2010
- a community member
It's a Great School, with a strong principal and council, and good academics, it should have a better rating.


Lean Elementary School 5

Posted January 27, 2010
- a parent
This is an awesome school very good teachers!

Lean Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted March 25, 2009
- a parent
My daughter goes to lean , she likes it , i believe she is learning good at lean elementary , the principle is nice , teachers are great ,my daughter is learning good things and we can see that , she reads and writes good , in math is is learning fast ,,, we never complained about the school so it is good , hope they keep up the good work .

Lean Elementary School 5

Posted February 11, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Lean Elementary School
2825 Girard Drive, Warren, MI  48092
(586) 574-3230
Last modified Lean Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Lean Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 8 reviews. Top