Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Carter Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 836 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 8, 2014

do eggs punch over eggs?? Do chickens quack??? Do dogs burp?? Dont give mouse a cookie.


Posted October 30, 2013

I am relieved that this is the last year I have to deal with school! There is such a huge problem with bullying because the teachers themselves are bullies. They belittle, degrade, and talk down to their students. One teacher for example, tells her students to " shut up", " shut your mouth", " what, are you going to cry". I could go on and on. This isn't coming from a parent who has children with behavioral issues, I am shocked at what my kids come home and tell me what the teachers said to other students or the whole class. One teacher in particular will not give any extra help or put forth any effort to explain anything more than once. I have asked for a phone call, meetings... She refuses. She belittled me to my son over a letter he handed to her asking for a phone call. Her response, " laughed, and said, oh, I've dealt with your mother before". No phone call back. Only good thing about this school, is the principle. Ms. Hendri has been awesome!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 14, 2013

I have an 8th grader at Carter Middle School. We are both counting down the days to be leaving this school for good. To many bullies and rude kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2012

Carter Middle School is okay. They just got new technology to help kids learn better this year and they don't have digital clocks in the classrooms so kids have to read the "real clock". There are a few cool teachers that like to help kids with work, but most of the teachers are lazy and expect you to know everything. A LOT of the kids here are bullies and very rude. I have been effected by them and I am trying to go to a different school. Kids swear right in front of the teachers and the teachers don't care. Seriously, no joke. It happens so much it's ridiculous. There is a high amount of fights here and even though the bullies get suspended, they get to come back to the school after 2 weeks and the same routine happens. Teachers literally give "goods" and "outstanding" to some of the worst kids. Band and art is lessing over the years and it seems like gym is taking over. The electives in this school are very boring and not helpful or fun at all. However, the school tries to do funding and they do a few fun things occasionally. But there are usually no field trips. I am in 8th grade and for 3 years now I have been VERY unimpressed with this school. I do not recommend CMS. :(


Posted September 3, 2012

I will not be sending my child back to Carter. My child started out on the honor roll but dropped off the following card markings. There are a few lazy teachers (Smith) who spend their time on the internet and tell the students to go sit back down instead of helping them. The teachers have white boards that are never used. The classrooms sizes are too large and there is a lack of individual attention. There are fights that break out regularly, including trash cans being thrown at teachers. In the lunch room there is a lack of supervision and things going on that shouldn't. I have reached out to the principal and never heard back since my child was not technically "failing", and the school counselor took 3 months to call me back and never spoke to my child to help with the adjustment issues we were having. They have less kids being accepted to Butcher for academic excellence each year, and many parents unaware of whats really going on there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 29, 2012

I have 2 kids there and they will not be going back! This school is a joke! The teachers don't ,can't control the students the assistant principle needs to be removed! My daughter has been a victim of severe bullying by the same child for 2 years, and NOTHING has been done. The assistant principle does a lot of threatening, but never follows thru! The counselor tells me that the bully and her friends have been a big problem for 3 yrs with A LOT of students, yet nothing is done. I contacted a attorney, and was told I was the FIFTH parents from carter to call them regarding the bullying laws and wanting to sue the school!! The sad thing, most of it takes place in the classroom!!!!! Wake up teachers!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2011

I have put two kids thru Carter. I am now on my third. Each year it has gotten worst. The teachers don't take the time to teach. If you are having troubles, instead of talking to you and helping you with it. They tell you too bad it's not complete you get a 0. My son is a honors student. Advanced classes. In 7th grade to Algebra 1. His teacher has talked down to him so much that he questions him self. He missed one problem on a work sheet and they gave him a 0, incomplete. I am now working on taking my child out of carter and placing him in another school. It's too bad....
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 25, 2011

Great School!! My son graduated last year and Carter has their stuff together. One year we had a problem with a "Lazy" teacher and my son and I requested he tranfer to another class and the staff handled our situation wonderfully. There are a few teachers that are better than great and I am pleased that there are still teachers who enjoy their job and made a diffrence in my child life and future.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2010

Carter Middle School is top-notch. The teachers are very highly educated, most with masters degrees. They truly care about the students' well-being, as well as their education. This is a great school - the kids are great, the teachers are fantastic, and the lunch isn't too bad either.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted November 24, 2009

this school is wonderful all the teachers care about all the kids
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

I work there. All the teachers and staff are dedicated to putting kids first. That's why we are a Blue Ribbon School. We all .,take pride in our work ,nutrition services, custodians, clerical, of course teachers and the principal and asst.rincipal.


Posted September 19, 2006

I was very excited for my child to move from St.Anne's to Carter. The counseling is superb & teachers work together. Carter has a lot to offer w/a variety of classes & extracurricular activities. They work very well with the students & the parents. I haven't had to worry about my child's safety. Overall, instructors are very well educated in their area. Having daily homework listed on line is especially helpful. Don't care for the late start on Mondays, but everything else is highly rated.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 42% in 2014.

260 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
22%

2013

 
 
26%

2012

 
 
27%

2011

 
 
27%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2014.

258 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
64%

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
63%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 27% in 2014.

266 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
19%

2013

 
 
22%

2011

 
 
29%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 39% in 2014.

271 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
26%

2013

 
 
25%

2012

 
 
37%

2011

 
 
37%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

269 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
54%

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
59%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

269 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
55%

2013

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
47%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 35% in 2014.

287 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
17%

2013

 
 
26%

2012

 
 
27%

2011

 
 
27%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2014.

286 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
62%

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
64%
Science

The state average for Science was 20% in 2014.

291 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
7%

2013

 
 
11%

2011

 
 
18%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

19%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Michigan. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Below Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 net growth (significant improvement/improvement - significant decrease/decrease) according to Performance Level Changes from the state of Michigan.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 81% 69%
African-American 11% 18%
Asian 4% 3%
Multiracial 3% 2%
Hispanic 1% 6%
American Indian 0% 1%
Native Hawaiian 0% 0%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 40%N/A48%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Honors track
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00
School end time
  • 3:00
School Leader's name
  • Amy Hendry
Fax number
  • (586) 698-4295

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Honors track

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Football
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Neither uniforms nor dress code
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

12000 Masonic Boulevard
Warren, MI 48093
Website: Click here
Phone: (586) 825-2620

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Rockwell School
Warren, MI






Fillmore Elementary School
Sterling Heights, MI


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT